Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


173 of 174 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A star is born!
Having read and enjoyed The Hanging Shed, I went back to read the author's earlier novels. This is the first Danny Macrae story and what a cracker it is. Gripping and compelling from the very first page..wonderfully drawn characters set against the background of immediate post war London and a plot that will keep you clicking the 'Next Page' button until the early...
Published on 29 Jan 2011 by D. Thomson

versus
59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story if you can ignore all the mistakes
The story is good - I won't repeat the "official" review and those from other readers. I largely agree with the other reviews, but it's clear that no-one does any proofreading at the publishers these days; instead, the authors rely totally on their "Microsoft Word" spellchecker or whatever. This book is full of capital letters in the middle of sentences and, at one...
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by Barry Lees


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

173 of 174 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A star is born!, 29 Jan 2011
By 
D. Thomson (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truth Dare Kill (Kindle Edition)
Having read and enjoyed The Hanging Shed, I went back to read the author's earlier novels. This is the first Danny Macrae story and what a cracker it is. Gripping and compelling from the very first page..wonderfully drawn characters set against the background of immediate post war London and a plot that will keep you clicking the 'Next Page' button until the early hours.
I'm now about to read the follow up, The Unquiet Heart, which will no doubt be equally enjoyable.
My only query is..where on earth has Gordon Ferris been hiding all these years? As a storyteller he is up there with the best and in Danny Macrae and Brodie (from The Hanging Shed) he has created two superb characters who can certainly live on through many more books.
Not to be missed and at the Kindle price, an absolute bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You won't be able to put it down, 27 Aug 2007
By 
P. J. Rice (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Do you enjoy reading thrillers? Can your bed time reading keep up with the twists and turns of a complex plot and simultaneously appreciate well-developed characters and attention to historical detail? Then maybe this novel is for you. Set in the gloom of post war London the damaged mind of Danny McRae struggles with demons from the war while trying to make sense of the complications of the peace. Will he succeed or is he doomed ..and can he really make a living as a private detective? Read the book and discover for yourself ... but save it for a quiet evening because you won't be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent mystery with a wonderful ambiance of the mysteries of the late 1940's., 19 Jun 2009
Danny McRae is a demobbed SO agent and now that the war is over has set himself up as a private investigator. All the world at that time was trying to get back to normality but for Dann, who has no memory of a year of his life what is normality? He knows that he was in France on a mission and he knows that he was captured by the Germans, but for the rest.....
His first case is very reminiscence of what we know of the Golden Age, as beautiful elegant, upper-class Kate Graveney hires Danny to investigate the death of her lover - she says she is not certain whether she killed him, or if it was the bomb that ravaged the flat in which they were both staying.
Danny set's out on this his first investigation, but Danny is still subject to black-outs that are a result of his head injury which account for his loss of a year's memory. As he sets off on a hunt through bomb-ravaged London, he meets Valerie who seems to be on his side, something he dearly needs - someone on his side. But Valerie is elusive giving no address and just turning up out of the blue and disappearing just as abruptly.
As Danny attempts to establish whether Tony, Kate's lover died in a bombing, his blackouts raise for him questions as he reads about a brutal killer stalking London's red light district, and he wonders of just what he could be capable of when out of it.
Gradually, he begins to piece together the events leading up to his arrest in France and as he does so he becomes a threat to someone, someone who cannot risk him recovering his memory. With his handicap of not knowing Danny is stabbing around in the dark and the fact that an Inspector Wilson has it in for him doesn't help.

This is an excellent mystery with a wonderful ambiance of the mysteries of the late 1940's. It has a truly wonderful ending . Highly Recommended.
------
Lizzie Hayes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1945 Period Novel Noir Written in Searing Colour!, 2 Sep 2007
By 
D. K. Henderson "David Henderson" (Wareham, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a gripping and intelligently written first novel. Ferris mixes a pacey intertwined plot with great characterisation and evocative descriptions of the grey, uncertain, haphazard London immediately after World War II. He changes pace very well, and applies some very sharp dialogue in his character development. The baddies are pretty bad, the goodies suffer a lot of fear, doubt and uncertainty before their goodness starts to shine through. Altogether, a very potent and addictive cocktail - I can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Truth Dare Kill, 29 Dec 2007
By 
R. Woolf - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very enjoyable thriller. Some wonderful twists as the various threads develop and the Author created a compelling picture of downtrodden seedy post-war London. I look forward to a follow-on story of similar genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Experience, 24 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truth Dare Kill (DANNY MCRAE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Having just purchased a kindle, "Truth Dare Kill" was the first book I read. I had never heard of Gordon Ferris but have now read all three books in short succession and enjoyed them all.

This particular book is a joy. It is well researched and takes the reader back to the 1940's. It was very easy to imagine being there and as educational as well.

Our hero in this book is easy to like and have an affinity too.
The book is well written and hard to put down.

Spotting the villain from about half way in the book wasnt difficult but there was enough intrigue to ignore that and still want to finish it as soon as possible to find out what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story if you can ignore all the mistakes, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Barry Lees (Greenock, Strathclyde Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truth Dare Kill (DANNY MCRAE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The story is good - I won't repeat the "official" review and those from other readers. I largely agree with the other reviews, but it's clear that no-one does any proofreading at the publishers these days; instead, the authors rely totally on their "Microsoft Word" spellchecker or whatever. This book is full of capital letters in the middle of sentences and, at one point, the author says that the car "broke" when he meant "braked". Good for you if you can ignore such things and still enjoy the story, but such primary school English errors just leap out of the page at me like listening to good music with a 'jump' in the disc.

At another point, the main character apparently takes the train to Millport - a good trick considering that this small town on Great Cumbrae island in the Firth of Clyde [and not Little Cumbrae as on Google maps] can only be reached by a short ferry crossing from Largs! I found myself wondering how a Scottish author got this sort of thing wrong.

One other point, the author was clearly trying to reach a word tally for the book, so he just filled the space by going on and on about the hero's smoking habit.

Still a promising author, but one who should employ a proofreader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Danny McRae - 5 star protagonist, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truth Dare Kill (DANNY MCRAE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
After reading through this book in record time, it's clear to see why Gordon Ferris is the "new kid on the block", so to speak. Born in Kilmarnock, Gordon's Scottish roots are portrayed to some extent through Danny McRae, although you'd never tell the author was a former accountant by trade! For those of us too young to have experienced any or the aftermath of WW2 (me included) this is a salient introduction to life in the immediate post war period. On his website, Gordon talks about storytelling being about "life, death, love, justice, revenge", well he covers all of these in this novel and all in under 300 pages. That's what differentiates this book from the plethora of the 21st century espionage genre titles on sale today, it manages to convey all those things in a strikingly short amount of space. Before you know it it's over and you just want to get on with the sequel.

Danny McRae is not your typical all out action super hero with bulging biceps and good looks. The opposite couldn't be more true. You could say he is damaged goods, badly savaged by the Gestapo after being caught on duty somewhere between the French and German borders. He is so badly beaten he loses all recollection of one year of his life - the problem is it's a pivotal year of his life that explains his implication in several murders. Gordon Ferris therefore does a great job of intertwining life in the immediate aftermath of the war with deceit, betrayal and the hunt for a serial killer all whilst delving into the deep psychological impact of an ex war participant.

A good book should always want you craving more, the fact I just downloaded the Danny McRae sequel "The Unquiet Heart" says it all. I hope it's as good as the first. Kudos to Amazon and the kindle for making this such a bargain, it makes you wonder why people even bother watching all the garbage on TV these days, the kindle really is the future.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as The Hanging Shed, 27 April 2011
By 
Roger Cave - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truth Dare Kill (DANNY MCRAE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read one of the authors other books (The Hanging Shed), and enjoyed that so much I downloaded this one.

Well it didn't disapoint. Again, it is set just after the war (WWII)and there are some parallels to the The Hanging Shed, but it's a very good book in its own right.

The hero of the day is a veteran who can't remember 12 months of his life due to a wound he suffered in the war. Now he works as a private detective and is hired by a beautiful woman who has "lost" her lover. But as you would expect all is not what it seems and is his past life coming back to haunt him?

I don't want to give too much away, so I'll finish by saying that Gordon Ferris can write, and is an excellent story teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Mar 2011
By 
A. Pearce (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truth Dare Kill (DANNY MCRAE SERIES Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic book. Like many of the other reviewers I read it via Kindle after reading The Hanging Shed - it is equally good if not better and what I want to know is why had I not heard of Gordon Ferris before now? Another book that's difficult to put down - I got off to slow start over a few days but on a rare afternoon off today finished the back half in one go, and there are very few books around that can tempt me to spend that much time on them at a sitting!

The central character is another damaged ex-Serviceman, ex-Policeman turned Private Investigator in post war London. The story works around his quest to fill in his wartime memory gaps and through a current wave of murders in Soho - the author works the scenes and characters superbly and keeps the reader guessing right to the very end whilst building suspense that keeps the pages turning effortlessly.

The quality of the writing and the utterly absorbing storyline make this book an absloute pleasure to read but on the Kindle version there is also quite a high incidence of typos and presentation issues such incorrect capitalisation and whole sections in inconsistent fonts and sizes; but whilst these can pique the pedant in you they don't really detract overall from the joy of reading it. Well done Gordon - I'm off to the Unquiet Heart now and hoping it will live up to the expectation reading this book and the Hanging Shed has raised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews