Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIVERTASTIC
With Silver, we welcome another author into the world where Dan Brown and James Rollins are seen to rule as Kings. They had better watch out, if they don't pick up their gamer they are about to be dethroned.

The story concerns the true story of Judas and what became of the 30 pieces of silver. Starting with the simultaneous death of 13 martyrs across the world...
Published on 1 April 2010 by Ginger Nuts of Horror

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silver star!
I really enjoyed this book apart from a few niggles, which I'll cover later, that have meant 3 instead of 5 stars.

Dan Browns name has been thrown around a lot in conjunction with this offering and initially that's the feeling one gets in the opening few chapters but read through them and you'll see that this is not a Brownesque tale in any way, thank...
Published on 22 May 2011 by Apollo


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIVERTASTIC, 1 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With Silver, we welcome another author into the world where Dan Brown and James Rollins are seen to rule as Kings. They had better watch out, if they don't pick up their gamer they are about to be dethroned.

The story concerns the true story of Judas and what became of the 30 pieces of silver. Starting with the simultaneous death of 13 martyrs across the world. The Ogmios team are thrown into a race to discover the truth behind these deaths. What follows is an extremely well paced, well written story, that manages to build a detailed world where all the main characters are well fleshed out. One main problems of this type of novel is the information dump. Sometimes you think enough already, not once did this feeling arise when reading Silver. The story and the conspiracy are revealed with deft hand, never once sacrificing the story telling for the sake of a reveal.

The story of a conspiracy to hide the truth as old as Christianity may seem like familiar ground. Yet Steven has produced a novel that is infinity more gratifying and well written than anything Mr Brown and Rollins have given us. There are no one dimensional characters, who can do no wrong. The heroes of this book make mistakes and have to live with the consequences. With other novels of this type you rarely get any feeling that any of the characters are in any danger at all, they sometimes seem more bullet proof than the A Team. Not here Savile has managed to portray the tension and sense of danger faced by the operatives, so much so that sometimes you think they are done for.

There is not much more that can be said about the story itself as it would give too much away, safe to say the ending will leave you shocked and hungry for the sequel. There are spies, secret meetings, action, gun play, mad crazy zealots, and almost every other staple of this genre, with every one of them handled so well they come across as a fresh new idea. Too many of these books have a strong American fell to them, even when written by a Brit. There is a strong sense of classic British espionage novels running throughout this novel, which is a credit to Savile's writing skills.

If you enjoy this type of novel, then you need to go and read this, it really is one of the best.Silver (An Ogmios Team Adventure)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silver star!, 22 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver (Ogmios Team Novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book apart from a few niggles, which I'll cover later, that have meant 3 instead of 5 stars.

Dan Browns name has been thrown around a lot in conjunction with this offering and initially that's the feeling one gets in the opening few chapters but read through them and you'll see that this is not a Brownesque tale in any way, thank goodness!

What we have here is a tightly written tale that weaves biblical history around a modern day plot to bring peace to the world via violent means. Sound contradictory? Well you're going to have to read the book to understand. We meet the characters of the Ogmios team for the 1st time and also get steeped in the world of clandestine black ops and shady, old school, knights of the realm working under deep cover for the government. Couple that with an interesting plot and some good chase scenes and a heap of violence and you get a good read. But.

There is always a but and in this case it is the premise of the Ogmios team themselves - the author has brought together a disparate bunch of specialists to work in the interests of the British Government (or as he annoyingly insists Her Majesty as if Lizzie actually knows anything about these things going on). They are run by one Sir Charles Wyndham who is the step between the Government and deniability. The thing is that there is no need for this convoluted plot mechanism as the book would have been just as readable and enjoyable if they had been legitimate operators for MI6. Savilles insistence on this course gave the whole crew a "League of Gentlemen" feel for me and it detracted from the opening few chapters.

My other gripe is centred around the inclusion of the plot device character. Regular readers of my reviews, of which I'm sure there are quite literally none, will be familiar with RHM or right hand man; well now I'm going to introduce you to ICG or indispensable computer geek. This character, to put it simply, is a genius. Using goodness only knows what power of computer, he can hack into anything, track anything, find out the personal life of anybody, find obscure addresses not to mention take control of various pieces of infrastructure hardware, such as street lamps for example. The introduction of this character means the author can make remarkable leaps in the plot and speed things up without having to come up with a believable way of completing time consuming tasks. Too many times did he resort to "so and so phoned Lethe and demanded ABC", Lethe being the ICG in question. This takes the tale into fantasy realms, just a little, and lessens it's impact as a serious tale about fighting against terrorism.

That said, I would reiterate that this is a fine read and although I can't see me joining the team in their next adventure (Gold) for the reasons outlined above, I'm happy to have been along for the ride in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 16 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are playing with conspiracies, secret agencies, spies, betrayal, mystery, terrorism and religious intrigue and yes it moves along at a fair pace, travels around the world and everyone has more secrets than is at first apparent. I am especially delighted by some of the scenes taking place in Newcastle wondering if I did know the locations or my memory was playing tricks again.

The cover quotes make reference to Dan Brown and yes it would seem that Steve used the same basic lego box as Dan Brown, Colin Forbes and Clive Cussler in writing Silver, but if you have ever played with lego you know, the art is in the construction not the bricks and Steve did one hell of a job on the construction.

It's complex and full of twists and tension, no way of knowing how it will end and Steve never delivers typical so I knew the ending would be a bit special. And then some. The characters are solid, there is not time in this book to explain them all but there is at least one more coming and I look forward to learning more about the team, in the mean time they were easy to buy into and I I have a girl crush on Orla.

I want to tell you all about it in detail, give you examples of the humour and horror of the book but it's impossible without giving away it's secrets. I can tell you I read with the book in one hand while I chewed the nails on the other out of existance and then swapped. A habit I thought i'd beaten years ago.

If you liked The Da Vinci Code this will blow your socks off, if you thought the Da Vinci Code was rubbish then this is the perfect antidote and yeah, it's probably blasphemy if you are of a remotely Catholic persuasion. Silver, to borrow from Koni, wakes you up at four am and drags you out of bed naked and screaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, exciting book, 12 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver (Ogmios Team Novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read this novel when it first came out last year and ever since have been waiting with baited breath on the follow up Gold. Silver is an Ogmios adventure about an assassination attempt on the Pope and various other violent shenanigans. Ogmios are a super team of agents of differing backgrounds with different skills who are available to foil such attempts. Think a team of James Bonds with attitude.

Written in a contemporary style wiht depth of character and vivid imagination, its possibly the novel that Da Vinvi Code may have been.

I really enjoyed it and the fact it is now on Kindle for a low price makes it a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well witten and researched., 16 April 2011
By 
Shaun Horrigan "Shaun" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver (Ogmios Team Novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Thirteen very public suicides in thirteen cities and thirteen messages promising forty days of terror.
A team of Deniable Ops agents codenamed Ogimos are on the trail of a gang of international terrorists calling themselves The Disciples of Judas who are plotting to assassinate the Pope.

This is a very well researched thriller revolving around a different interpretation of the story of Judas Iscariot and the infamous thirty pieces of silver.

One of the things I did like about this book was that it had a very British "James Bond" style feel to it, only without the gadgets and with a lot more grit and realism. My biggest criticism of the story was that it didn't feel like there was a real resolution to the book. This is quite clearly part of a series but I really would have liked a more satisfying conclusion to this chapter of the story.

This is a full length book at 432 pages and is very well presented on the Kindle, but be aware that the story actually finishes at 97% on the Kindle status bar. This caught me out as I thought I had a bit more left to read. The last 3% is given over to a very interesting little essay by the author explaining the background to his writing of the story. I always appreciate little insights like this into the author's thinking.

Overall: 4 stars - Very well written and researched and an enjoyable read but lacking a clear-cut ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SILVER IS EXCELLENT!!!, 10 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Silver (Ogmios Team Novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It'll make you think about your faith... and at the end, question it.

Silver tells the tale of thirty silver shekels, paid to Judas for his betrayal (sacrifice?) of Jesus. It also tells of Ogmios Team, an off-the-books arm of the British Secret Intelligence Service, who look to stop "Forty Days and Forty Nights of Terror" throughout Europe.

Locales such as London, Berlin, Rome, Jerusalem, and places in between dot the landscape of Silver, which will be followed up with Gold in 2011. Hold on to your Rosary beads...

(For the record, I purchased the hardcover edition.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silver, 11 May 2011
By 
W. TOMLINSON (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver (Ogmios Team Novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good book. Lots of decent research has gone into this novel. Similar concept as Dan Brown's Da Vinci Code, but gritty - especially the members of Omgios - quite a threatening bunch of characters, not your usual heros. This was my first Steven Savile novel, and have already downloaded another one onto my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !, 16 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver (Ogmios Team Novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a story! So many twists and turns, very realistic sleuthing and locales all over Europe. Eye-opening happenings on every other page. Heavens, I hope I don't get on the wrong side of his OGMIOS team! A cliff-hanger finale, too. My Kindle was red-hot with page-turning! I will be ordering other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book different perspective, 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver (Ogmios Team Novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book can't wait for the next Ogmios adventure. It goes straight into the time of the betrayal by Judas Iscariot, it is interesting and attention grabbing from the start. There are a group of operatives investigating terrorist attacks, the story unfolds and becomes compelling. If you enjoyed Dan Brown you will enjoy this, it's a great piece of fiction built upon possibilities. The author at the end explains the books ideas, which is interesting. It's not a lot of money to buy, and a good read. I can't wait to read the next Ogmios book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't leave me like this!, 30 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Silver (Ogmios Team Novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this but didn't have any idea it would end as it did!! Roll on Gold! I will certaily buy it.
I enjoyed all the spy stuff - even the unbelievable computer-geek stuff that Lethe gets into. There were some really nice moments as well quite a few scary bits.

A good read! It didn't get 5 because I wanted to go straight on to the next book and it's not available yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silver (Ogmios Team Novels Book 1)
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews