Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
36
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2011
And about time too ! Stressed Eric is an absolutely classic animated series - I've just about worn out my old VHS copies of series 2 and have been hoping against hope that somebody would finally release it on DVD. Eric (voiced memorably by Mark Heap) battles life on all fronts : a daughter who is allergic to everything , a son who is none too bright and eats just about everything he sees , an au-pair who is constantly drunk, endless frustration on the work front not helped by Alison the none too helpful secretary and neighbours who seem to be tops at everything.. just about every story ends with Eric being throttled by his own pulsing vein as yet more stress kicks in. If you've seen this you know how brilliant it is!! if you havent seen it before buy and enjoy :-)
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
As soon as i realized this was available I just had to buy it. I remember watching it many years ago and laughing my head off. Needless to say its just as funny as I remember it. Essentially the story-line is based around Eric who has a beyond stressful life. The conundrums he gets himself into are hilarious and the writers are genius. He lives with an alcoholic, has two less than perfect children, one who is allergic to almost anything and another who is less than dim. Slap in an annoying ex wife, a mad crazy boss and neighbours called the perfects, Eric Feeble does have an incredibly funny life to watch.
The box-set is the size of a normal dvd case with a cardboard cover on top. 3 cd's in total. Series 1, 2 and special features. Good picture quality and although the special features could be slightly better it really is worth buying.
This adult humor hence the age restriction but its a must for your collection. Enjoyable every time you watch it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
Didn't know this was on DVD, until an idle moment surfing the site. had vague memories of it being funny, bit concerned that like some other "blast from the past" DVD series it would not live up to the rosy memories, but it did big time, this is as funny now as it was all those years ago, the situations, landscape, detail and technology still works and doesnt feel dated in any way. Poor Eric, for a cartoon character when things dont go his way you really feel for him, toe curling embarrassments, all that is thrown in his way. the characters all have a rounded personality, which is rare for a 2D medium. how i judge worth is does the cost of the item when viewed is less than the hourly rate of my income? yes it is by a long chalk, this is top rate value comedy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
So happy this is out, had about half of these on a ropey tape then transferred to a DVD. Now I can have them all on perfect DVD. So many highlights, Eric shows most of our anxieties in his personality, the world is against him, the selfish ex wife, sweet but vunerable daughter, au-pair from hell, having to compete with Mr Perfect at work, and the mad boss demanding 'arse burger' ideas for the company to triumph. Episodes work up to a climax and are well crafted and for me much funnier than the Simpsons. This is aimed at grown ups rather than children although I don't remember anything too controversial. Love it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
Eric Feeble is a 40-year-old divorced man who lives with his two children (a son who never speaks, just puts everything including the kitchen sink in his mouth and a daughter who is allergic to everything under the sun). Eric is constantly out-shined by the Perfect family next door, and is forever being troubled by his ex-wife, his alcoholic au pair and of course his boss (imagine a cross between 1984's Big Brother and the tsar from the stop-motion version of Kije). These people provide regular headaches for Eric, and he is constantly finding himself in hectic situations. Storylines involve a nativity play, preparing to meet a Japanese hygeine obsessive after having been flushed into the sewers, having the roof unexpectedly removed, going on a paint-balling contest and trying to console his son who has a crush on the quite repugnantly snooty girl next door.

This was a brilliant series. The characters are all well-defined, the storylines are well-written and there is just the right mix between social satire, cartoon slapstick and dark humour. How many shows can take an old cliche like the boss coming to dinner and turn it into half-an-hour of hilarious comedy? Added to that are some first-class vocals. This was a DVD set well worth waiting for.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
I have been trying to get hold of this for ages i remember watching it on telly about 10 years ago brilliantly funny and i will be pre ordering this as i cant wait to watch it again
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Forgot how awful it is but the dvd is good quality. Tis funny but I had no idea how extremely un-pc this show was omg the feminists will have a field day with this, literally every female is portrayed in such a negative way I really wonder what happened to the writer to cause such misery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
I've always loved Stressed Eric, and the magic never fades. This side-splitting series is never aired in New Zealand, where I now live, so I was thrilled to be able to purchase it at Amazon.
Outstanding value, and highly recommended to anyone who likes to laugh.
This is an excellent quality DVD, published by the BBC.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
This dvd series is arguably the greatest cartoon character dvd ever made. Every episode is fantastic. Each character has been carefully selected and well thought out. We can all relate to the stresses of juggling work and home life, and this dvd captures this so acurately giving it a very funny twist. Shame they didnn't write more episodes. Others have commented that this is a cult series....they are not wrong. Well ahead of it's time, I expect the following of this masterpiece to grow. My advice.......GET IT NOW.....you won't be sorry !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
I love this box set, was not sure how much I would enjoy it after being a big fan when it was first broadcast, however this DVD reminds me of how good this show really is.
Everyone can see something in their own lives in Stresed Eric
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)