Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ever reliable, Ever brilliant!
Clutch never let you down. Pure Rock Fury topped the fan fave Elephant Riders in 2001 and this is better then Pure Rock Fury! They just get better and better!
With this album the production is top class, you can hear everything clear as day and Fallon's vocals are on top form! His lyrics are still fantasticly creative and form one of Clutch's trademark features...
Published on 18 Feb 2005 by Amplified Man

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shouldn't of rushed
I was in the Manchester HRC and Electric Worry came on. While on a nice beer buzz, just blew me away. So next day looked at the back catalog and choose this CD. I am glad there was a second CD with more blusey rock material which I more a less wanted.
Published 19 months ago by Fat Surveyor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ever reliable, Ever brilliant!, 18 Feb 2005
This review is from: Blast Tyrant (Audio CD)
Clutch never let you down. Pure Rock Fury topped the fan fave Elephant Riders in 2001 and this is better then Pure Rock Fury! They just get better and better!
With this album the production is top class, you can hear everything clear as day and Fallon's vocals are on top form! His lyrics are still fantasticly creative and form one of Clutch's trademark features.
Blast Tyrant is notably catchier than previous efforts, which surely can't be a bad thing, The Mob Goes Wild, Profits Of Doom and Cypress Grove are some of the best tunes they've written.
They've added some acoustic tracks on here as well, which they'ce not done before. Don't worry though; they aren't soppy or soft, they still rock. Theres just more of an intense eerie feel to them. It further proves that everything the do turns to gold!
Hands down my favourite album of 2004, beating the likes of the mighty Isis, Mastodon, Old Man Gloom, Tom Waits & Neurosis. Surely a testament in itself to how good this album is and how good Clutch are. Roll on the UK tour!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catchier But Still Clutch, 28 Mar 2004
This review is from: Blast Tyrant (Audio CD)
Clutch have managed to pen what I think are some of their catchiest riffs and grooves on this album while keeping their trademark weirdness. I can't wait to hear all this live.
Neil Fallon's vocals sound an octave or two lower, delivering, as usual, some of the best lyrical compositions around.The album production is definitely more polished from previous efforts, though whether that's a good thing is another matter.
As for the songs: Personal favourites are The Mob Goes Wild, Cypress Grove, The Regulator, Spleen Merchant, Ghost and La Curandera. I've heard Promoter live a year or two ago in a different guise, which I prefer to the new version ( I think it was called "The Beer, the Broads, the Broads, the Booze" back then )
Don't listen to anyone who tells you this is Stoner Rock. It's Rock, and Stoner fans may indeed like it, but at the end of the day,whatit is, is C-L-U-T-C-H.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good gamble, 30 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Blast Tyrant (Audio CD)
Being a big fan of Monster Magnet, I bought this CD on spec after reading a tip in "Classic Rock" mag. I was not disappointed - some good catchy riffs, cool vocals and excellent clarity in the production. Well worth a buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clutch's finest album?, 20 April 2007
By 
N. J. Mason (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blast Tyrant (Audio CD)
It is truly heartwarming to read other reviews posted here raving about Clutch, my favourite band. So often overlooked in rock circles, they are a truly original band that follow no fashions or trends. With Clutch its all about the music.

When talking about the greatest album opener in rock history, obvious choices might be Nevermind's 'Smells Like Teen Spirit' or Master of Puppets' 'Battery' etc, etc. Wrong! Its 'Mercury' from Blast Tyrant. The thundering arrangement of drums and riffs buzzes around my head on a daily basis. Its everything rock music should be, and encapsulates Blast Tyrant in its tight few minutes: crisp production, booming yet expressive drumming, groove-laden bass, tight riff orientated guitar, distinctive vocals and original lyrics. It slowly dies down to a lengthy buzz, until the bass line for 2nd track 'Profits of Doom' starts up and then the drums and guitar kick in. Then after Profits comes the catchy 'The Mob Goes Wild' and on and on. Every track is perfect; its perhaps one of the most consistant rock record ever made. There is also plenty of variety. From full on rockers like 'Worm Drink'and 'Promotor' to slower acoustic tinged southern rock such as 'Ghost' and 'The Regulator', there is never a dull moment.

My favourite aspect of Clutch however, is the lyrics. Singer Neil Fallon is a genius. Not only is he an amazing singer (and live, a charismatic frontman), he is by far the most interesting lyricist in rock. From the political to the nonsensical, topics can range from imaginary stories and situations to historical fact via metaphor, slang and intricate wordplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful album cover, superb album, 30 Mar 2004
This review is from: Blast Tyrant (Audio CD)
Don't be swayed by the previous reviewer who can't even spell Clutch; this is another magnificent effort from C! Granted you may already know a lot of the songs if you've followed the bands live output in recent years, but here they are in shiny studio form. Clutch's trademark bluesy hardcore swagger is displayed in abundance and the addition of some acoustic guitar sections offers some light and shade to proceedings. The whole package is topped off to great effect as ever by Neil Fallon's wondrous vocals and witty, quasi-mythological lyrics.
The cover stinks though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Rock!!!, 18 Jun 2004
By 
S E JONES (Bangor Nth.Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blast Tyrant (Audio CD)
I must admit that I was a big clutch fan before this album was released, but now I can't stop listening to the damn thing! It is unquestionably the best album this Year. Any clutch fan will love it and if you have never heard of them, imagine a stoner rock band who are funky,have a hint of the blues about them and rock hard! It's a must buy for any true rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clutch - Blast Tyrant, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blast Tyrant (Audio CD)
Clutch's sixth full length studio album `Blast Tyrant,' (or `Blast Tyrant's Atlas Of The Invisible World Including Illustrations of Strange Beasts And Phantoms' to give it the seldom used full title) was released in 2004 and has went on to become one of the public's favourite albums by the band.

The band are all present in the same line-up that they began their career with; Dan Maines, Tim Sult, J.P Gastor and frontman Neil Fallon. All gifted musicians and unique songwriters, their style of music is something of an oxymoron as the band find themselves making no-frills straight forward rock music in all sorts of round about ways. This, combined with absolutely remarkable lyrics and vocal performances make Clutch an astonishingly enjoyable band to listen to.

In terms of production, Blast Tyrant is perfect and the band have managed to capture the feel of the band's live power, without sounding too lo-fi, while adding all the studio flourishes without ever sounding overproduced.

Musically; Blast Tyrant is fairly centred on big rock songs especially in the beginning, however there is enough noodley jamming and occasional acoustic moments later on for variety resulting in an album which flows perfectly from beginning to end. Fans who only like the band's earliest albums may take many listens to acclimatize to it; but for 99% of people Blast Tyrant is an instant classic, that you won't be able to stop yourself from loving.

Stand out tracks include the absolutely storming `The Mob Goes Wild,' as well as the atmospheric acoustic `The Regulator,' and the very heavy and catchy `Promoter (of Earthbound Causes)'

Overall; Transnational Speedway League is probably now the go-to album for Clutch beginners, and if you are new to the band you should pick up a copy without hesitation. The album is instantly likeable; absolutely rock solid, with no weak moments and tonnes of brilliant moments that I highly recommend.

If you can, try and get the newer version of the album which comes with the bonus Basket Of Eggs EP, which features Clutch in a softer and more acoustic mood, featuring softer unreleased tracks and acoustic reworkings of old favourites like 'Tight Like That,' 'Basket Of Eggs,' and 'The Regulator,' as well as electric demos from the time. Overall, a fine addition to an already exceptional album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best yet (again!), 9 July 2004
This review is from: Blast Tyrant (Audio CD)
Every band has a right to lose the plot, go off the boil, make a less than stellar album. But Clutch don't seem interested in that. For me, their only album not to be classed as awesome was Elephant Riders and I think that was more to do with being in the clutches (no pun intended) of a major label. Every other one is a bonafide must have. Originality, creativity, weirdness, earthiness and just plain swagger make for some fabulous songs. Every new Clutch album brings something new to the proceedings and on this one I'd say it was mainly a new gravitas to Fallon's voice, best displayed on the two tracks that to me are the best: The Regulator and Ghost. They also make me think that an acoustic Clutch album might be quite brilliant. How about it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'THE STREETS ON FIRE,THE MOB GOES WILD,WILD,WILD', 16 Feb 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blast Tyrant (Audio CD)
clutchs 2004 opus blast tyrant is their best album and that is indeed stating something worth taking to heart as they never fail to create a sound that is just so infectious.

This album contains 15 tracks,one of which is an instrumental,it rocks by the way,two ballads,shivers race through my spine when i listen to them,and 12 foot stomping,riff tastic,groove n' roll anthems and with all that you have to admit that there isnt one weak track on here so neil fallon and the boys take a well deserved bow.

Clutch tinge their southern influences into their sound,that much is obvious but few bands could be deemed so vital and there is a real swing to their sound,you simply want to lose yourself in their sound,there is no way that you wont sing along with this and as you do you realise that neil fallon is a poet in a way,his lyrics make no sense yet they do.With every clutch review that i submit i always mention fallons voice and i will again,his voice is something special,its as if he is preaching the words to a congregation at times,its effortless to him.

The songs as i stated are all immense,trust me on that,key songs if i must state a few include 'mercury', 'spleen merchant' and of course the anthemic 'the mob goes wild',surely one of the most addictive sing along songs of all time.

Clutch are a band that just ooze groove,there is no way that you can listen to this and not have a smile slapped across your face at some point,i speak the truth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basket of Eggs, 9 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blast Tyrant (Audio CD)
Wow, Blast Tyrant is seven years old.

I'm just going to get this bit out of the way: Blast Tyrant is a classic. It's easily my favourite Clutch Album and a contender for my favourite album... by anyone... ever. Musically it retains the energy of 'Pure Rock Fury' but introduces a much more polished sound which they developed further on 'Robot Hive/ Exodus'. We're talking seriously HUGE riffage!

The vocal delivery is some of Neil Fallon's finest, his Captain Beefheart-esque growl and full throated bellow both on full display, along with some neat vocal multitracked harmonies. Again, HUGE. Lyrically, it flits effortlessly between whimsical political satire and grandiose mythic epicness. The whole album is a constant succession of grin-making vocal hooks. There's also this narative drive that strings all the lyrics together... seven years on, I still enjoy trying to unpick bits of meaning and follow the threads which reccur throughout the album.

My orignal copy is looking a bit 'well loved' these days, and is frankly long overdue for replacement so I was pleased to hear they would be reissuing it with a bonus cd.

The bonus disc, entitled "basket of eggs" is a collection of accoustic reworkings, unreleased songs and demo versions. On first listen it's got some very pleasing moments. For me the stand out is the accoustic take of 'Tight like that'- anyone who is familiar with the original verison will be wondering how on earth that can possibly work. Miraculously it not only works but manages to sound like a completely new song. Beautiful. The rest of the EP does a lot to display Clutch's recent leanings toward a much more classic rock sound and while the new material isn't exactly essential, it's certainly a pleasant treat for any fans who, like me, are hungry for new material.

Bottom line: If you don't already own Blast Tyrant, then you NEED this! If you do already own the album but are desperate for some new Clutch tunes, you should probably still buy this. It's a lovely package and incredibly good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blast Tyrant
Blast Tyrant by Clutch (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews