Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great and informative
A well written book. great for those with a passion for Science and historic events with a thorough report on each event. would thoroughly recommend this great read.
Published on 5 Jun. 2012 by Callum

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars average
writing style wasnt exactly to my liking but the concent was reasonable enough. Have read other book with similar themes which i found much more engaging and compeled to finish, this was a slight chore towards the end.
Published 22 months ago by Kev R


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great and informative, 5 Jun. 2012
This review is from: When Science Goes Wrong: Twelve Tales from the Dark Side of Discovery (Kindle Edition)
A well written book. great for those with a passion for Science and historic events with a thorough report on each event. would thoroughly recommend this great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sample only - One for the scientists out there, 23 Oct. 2011
This review is from: When Science Goes Wrong: Twelve Tales from the Dark Side of Discovery (Kindle Edition)
The sample to this Kindle book is quite extensive, entirely covering the 1st of the 12 examples of science going wrong. It's perfectly well-written, bordering on verbose, but certainly interesting and intelligent. The 1st example covers an experimental treatment for Parkinson's Disease and if you know what a teratoma is, you will already realise that this book isn't a bundle of laughs. I felt myself grimacing through the last few pages as if I was watching an especially-gungy episode of CSI. I imagine the other subjects covered might be more enjoyable, but while this book is very worthwhile in its warnings to over-ambitious scientists, I wouldn't go so far as to call it enjoyable. For scientists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating read, 4 Aug. 2011
By 
Lisa (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Science Goes Wrong: Twelve Tales from the Dark Side of Discovery (Kindle Edition)
Well priced on the Kindle and worth a look. I liked the varied choice of topics and just the right amount of depth to each one. Even if you have a faint recollection of the 'headline' from the time there is plenty of information to keep you engaged. A good choice if you just feel like picking up something as a quick and easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Populist ScienceTechnology, 27 July 2009
The book would have better been called "When scientists and engineers go wrong" because the case histories given really feature men (and they are mostly men) whose egos drive them to 'succeed' by either ignoring the science, or by not really understanding it in the first case.
The book's chapters are well-written and laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars When people go wrong, 6 July 2014
By 
Mr. J. Birch "John Birch" (Letdchworth, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fascinating book. In a way slightly misnamed, in most cases its less the science that goes wrong than the people. Unethical behaviour, fraud, incompetence of simply illegal activity covers quite a lot of it.

Each chapter looks at a different area of science, starting off with an overview of the events, followed by a detailed investigation of the causes, and ending with the consequences and lessons learnt. Some are highly technical with apparently little practical effect (such as fraud concerning the finding of a new element), others kill hundreds (such as the failure of a dam), and some are simply gruesome (the meltdown in chapter 7 - and especially the search for the third man - rather stands out).

I read the whole thing in practically a single sitting - and my son loved it too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Science Goes Wrong: Twelve Tales from the Dark Side of Discovery (Kindle Edition)
I like the history of science particularly in the context of the contemporary setting how thinking has evolved. Health/safety/litigation has put paid to the scientific heroes and antiheroes in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars average, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Science Goes Wrong: Twelve Tales from the Dark Side of Discovery (Kindle Edition)
writing style wasnt exactly to my liking but the concent was reasonable enough. Have read other book with similar themes which i found much more engaging and compeled to finish, this was a slight chore towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but could be better, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Science Goes Wrong: Twelve Tales from the Dark Side of Discovery (Kindle Edition)
Okay but not all the examples are exactly world events. For example one is the poor medical treatment of a single patient. Yes the doctor shouldn't have done the operation, but not exactly shocking. Some interesting stories but overall left me disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price, 5 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Science Goes Wrong: Twelve Tales from the Dark Side of Discovery (Kindle Edition)
An Interesting if not absorbing read. Worth the time spent on it - good at giving an insight into the way science is as flawed as the rest of all human acts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Boom!, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Science Goes Wrong: Twelve Tales from the Dark Side of Discovery (Kindle Edition)
Pretty good.

Pretty graphic in places- nuclear energy, you can't live without it, and some people can't live with it. Or in fact die and be buried normally!

Fascinating stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews