Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absolute bargain for the price!
I originally got these headphones just for the spare earbuds; I'm quite happy with either the medium sized ones or the large ones, and found that the original replacements cost about the same as these headphones did; so decided it would be better to have an extra set with spare earbuds that I could use.

I used a two way headphone splitter, and plugged in my...
Published on 12 Jun. 2011 by LapsedPacifist

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Silent ear
I can see others have had the same problem, the left side has gone completely silent after only a matter of weeks. Poor for the price and very disappointing from Sony.
Published 14 months ago by Sam


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absolute bargain for the price!, 12 Jun. 2011
By 
LapsedPacifist "LP" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Universal All Round In-Ear Headphones for iPod, iPhone, MP3 and Smartphone - Black (Electronics)
I originally got these headphones just for the spare earbuds; I'm quite happy with either the medium sized ones or the large ones, and found that the original replacements cost about the same as these headphones did; so decided it would be better to have an extra set with spare earbuds that I could use.

I used a two way headphone splitter, and plugged in my more expensive Sony MDR-EX500LP with Multi Layer Diaphragm (for High Resolution Sound) headphones, to get a side by side comparison. To my surprise (and a little bit of horror), these headphones sounded fairly similar. It even has a little raised dot to help you identify the right from left buds without having to look at them (ideal in the dark or in a hurry).

The major differences between this set and a more expensive pair, is the little extras; this only comes with a standard 1.2m cord and three ear buds (Small, Medium and Large). The more expensive sets may include a 0.5m main set with a 1m extension cord to allow you to choose the length you need, or headphone pouches, stuff like that. Also, the cord is pretty ugly... it's the "old" style of two cords moulded together, rather than the single cable.

If you can live with the basic looks and lack of little extras, these are a seriously good investment for the quality you're getting. They really do sound almost as good as headphones that I have that are five times the price. If you want something a little more aesthetically pleasing, you'd be well within your right to pay a little bit extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Silent ear, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Universal All Round In-Ear Headphones for iPod, iPhone, MP3 and Smartphone - Black (Electronics)
I can see others have had the same problem, the left side has gone completely silent after only a matter of weeks. Poor for the price and very disappointing from Sony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love these earphones!, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the price, they are great quality, do the job perfectly and to a good standard for the price they are sold at. Excellent for casual, daily use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I must have bought two from a duff batch, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Universal All Round In-Ear Headphones for iPod, iPhone, MP3 and Smartphone - Black (Electronics)
I have previously given these headphones five star rating due to sound and build quality, however both pairs that I bought six weeks ago have gone silent in the right ear - the first after one week and the other today - indicating some kind of weakness in this particular batch. Regretfully I will be returning these and hoping the replacements are up the usual sturdy build.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars broke, 22 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the wires came out within 2 months and the wires kept getting tangled up. afterwards i bought some that were a bit more expensive from sony
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Universal All Round In-Ear Headphones for iPod, iPhone, MP3 and Smartphone - Black (Electronics)
Gutted as I bought a Sony product so thought it would come good. Unfortunately one ear piece stopped working soon after purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Description, 12 July 2013
By 
Mr. P. M. Anthony (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Universal All Round In-Ear Headphones for iPod, iPhone, MP3 and Smartphone - Black (Electronics)
There is no volume control as stated in the description but they are so cheap its not worth sending them back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I was not happy with this pair of Sony earphones and returned them ..., 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Universal All Round In-Ear Headphones for iPod, iPhone, MP3 and Smartphone - Black (Electronics)
I have been using in-ear headphones for many years now and have experience of numerous brands due to the fact that they either expire after about 6 months of heavy use or I end up losing them. I was not happy with this pair of Sony earphones and returned them as the buds simply did not fit. I understand that this does not affect everybody, but it made them pretty much unusable for myself. Aside from this, I found the sound quality mediocre at best. Any music with pronounced bass became distorted, meaning that I could not turn the volume above mid way! If you want to use these for radio or podcasts, fair enough, but if you're to blast out your favourite tune best look elsewhere. Having said this, the price is pretty much unbeatable, making these ideal for somebody who only uses earphones sparingly or is looking for a spare pair. If you want something a bit more substantial, in my opinion it is worth paying extra for Sennheiser (they will also happily replace your earphones when they inevitably break provided you are within your 2 year guarantee and can produce receipt of purchase).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds good., 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Universal All Round In-Ear Headphones for iPod, iPhone, MP3 and Smartphone - Black (Electronics)
For less than £8 these earbuds really can't be faulted. As you'd expect with the Sony brand, once you've selected the appropriate rubbery bit to fit your ears - the sound is balanced, at a good level, and the headphones are lightweight and comfortable to wear for long periods.

Obviously, as these are just earbuds, the bass response is limited by only having a 9mm driver, and every manufacturer will either use that to maximise 'thump', or to produce a balanced eq across the rest of the range. Thankfully, Sony have gone with the latter of these two options. So it's just right for my choice in music, but might disappoint the clubbers out there.

The cable and connector they come with are a bit cheap and plasticy, but for £8, what do you expect?! My previous two sets of buds have been higher range Sennheisers and both have failed in the cable/connector, so why not just pay less, get these little gems, then when they fail, get another set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Are these fakes?, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Universal All Round In-Ear Headphones for iPod, iPhone, MP3 and Smartphone - Black (Electronics)
Bought these to replace identical pair bought from the high street. The old ones lasted over a year so thought I would replace them with the same. Although they arrived quickly I noticed immediately that the wires are noticeably thinner than my previous pair. Within a few weeks one of the earphones stopped working despite the fact that they had experienced a considerably easier life than my last pair. I have since bought another pair from the High street and these ones are stronger, with a thicker cable. They are like two different products with the same name. I would not recommend these. They are cheap but far from cheerful .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews