Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best stand-up from this years Xmas batch
Once again its that time of year where all the panel-show-comedians get their latest tour into the shops the make their christmas bonus - good luck to them, stand-up (and panel shows) have never been as popular - but it does mean that the market has become very saturated.

We get the same old format (cant really fault them but it can get tiring), the same old...
Published on 24 Nov 2011 by J. Winterflood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Greg Davies
Very funny. Greg Davies is brilliant.
This was value for money, and in excellent condition.

Will buy more of his.
Published 4 months ago by Joan M.Banks


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best stand-up from this years Xmas batch, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: Greg Davies Live - Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Once again its that time of year where all the panel-show-comedians get their latest tour into the shops the make their christmas bonus - good luck to them, stand-up (and panel shows) have never been as popular - but it does mean that the market has become very saturated.

We get the same old format (cant really fault them but it can get tiring), the same old performers (lee evans still going strong), the mock the week crew all with their offerings (not another russell howard dvd, hes got a box set now dont you know), some very good newcomers like micky flanagan and stephen merchant and the usual rehashing of old shows and repackaging (russell brands "new" new york live show dvd complete with years old material), but greg davies' stands out by a country mile.

Not only is it good to see someone new getting their dvd on, but it is also a huge bonus when someone youve liked on their various appearances and shows comes out with a fresh, hilarious and original show. I havent laughed this hard during a stand-up for years, it caught me off guard and it kept me hooked every second of the way through.

What greg has done here isnt vastly unique (gone is the one man and his microphone routine), with a flip chart and little book of short stories being the props used but it just helps things along a bit - and considering plenty of the material is about greg during his teaching days the flipchart doesnt feel out of place. Everyone seems to be trying to use a little gimmick to make their show a bit more visually entertaining (stephen merchants encore is an ingenious example) but this is used subtly and acts as a small visual aid to what is central to the show - storytelling.

Greg davies is one of the people, to me, that can make reading (or shouting) the phone book funny, but he also has a wonderful storytelling ability and some great responses, jokes and observations. alot will depend on whether you find him funny to start with, but even if its only a small bit you need to take the chance here. there are some genuinely brilliant stories (the cheeseballs and the dog starts us off well) and even better characters (I wish I was one of Greg's pupils in his drama lessons) and it all thunders along towards the wonderful conclusion.

So if you are looking for your annual stand-up fix for christmas then look no further, it blows the rest out of the water. Sometimes a comedian with 40+ years of stories, adventures and events gets their chance to tell it all, here is that show. Truly excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Comedy, 20 Nov 2011
This review is from: Greg Davies Live - Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog [DVD] (DVD)
I've always like Greg Davies on panel shows. This live tour was brilliant, very very fresh and was a welcome change from the familiar worn out comedy we regulary get nowadays about Husbands, Wives, Race, Kids etc. Thoroughly recommended this and will make a great christmas gift.

Hope you do more tours Greg !!

5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 April 2012
This review is from: Greg Davies Live - Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best stand-up DVDs for a very long time, original, honest, heart-warming and extremely funny. Can't recommend it enough. Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and strangely moving, 12 July 2013
This review is from: Greg Davies Live - Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog [DVD] (DVD)
A very funny stand-up routine from a master comedian. The best I've seen for a long while, it's hard to describe what lifted it (for me) above any one of hundreds of others but I think the material really shines out. Greg is a real story teller who in this performance develops a feeling of meaning. On TV recently, routines consisting of nothing but quick fire puns and surrealism seem to be more popular but this performance shows how someone can deliver a clever, heartwarming tale whilst still making you laugh. Either it's all true as he says or his visible emotion at times is just bloody good acting but I was sucked in and after laughing the whole way through when it was finished I was also left with a lingering "good feeling" - not what you'd usually expect from a title like this. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious DVD, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greg Davies Live - Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog [DVD] (DVD)
I wasnt sure about this DVD as Greg is best known for his role as the grumpy Headmaster in The Inbetweeners but I was pleasantly surprised. This DVD is hilarious and a must see .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greg Davies SUPERSTAR!, 2 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greg Davies Live - Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Firing Cheeseballs at a dog is a fantastically hilarious Dvd! I bought it after seeing Greg Davies perform at The Royal Variety show last year. There is not one bit if this DVD that doesn't make me laugh! Greg Davies is a definite one to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excelent, 6 Feb 2012
By 
simon "simon" (norwich norfolk uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greg Davies Live - Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog [DVD] (DVD)
I saw greg davis live doing this show and I have to say the video is as good as the live performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, wish I had him as a teacher!!, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: Greg Davies Live - Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Greg at his best, very funny, had us all in tears of laughter, well worth a buy for anyone who wants a laugh x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Laughed So Much I Was Sick, 16 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. Shane Maughan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greg Davies Live - Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Being a fan of Gregs from ask Rhod Gilbert and his epic term as Mr Gilbert on the Inbetweeners, I picked this up and expected to laugh, however I didn't expect anything this funny. Beautifully shot incredibly funny an something I'll watch time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best stand-up DVD of the year., 8 Dec 2011
By 
L Howles (Littleborough, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greg Davies Live - Firing Cheeseballs at a Dog [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched most of the new stand-up DVDs of this year so far and I wasn't sure what to expect from Greg Davies' offering. He's always a lot of fun on panel shows and of course he was great in The Inbetweeners, but I wasn't sure how that would translate to stand-up.

The routine takes the form of a series of relatively short stories about his life during various periods, and each is funnier than the last. As you'd expect he makes fun of himself a lot, and his family, and there's a fair share of shouting and swearing but every second is brilliant.

There's not much more you can say without giving away some of the jokes, but if you've ever liked Greg in anything you've seen him in so far, go for this DVD as it's probably the best that I've seen so far this year, and that includes Peter Kay and Jason Manford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews