Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and scholarly, 6 April 2011
By 
Redhenry (Northern England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential for any Bach enthusiast. Be warned, though, that this book is likely to cost you a great deal more than the cover price. Sir Nicholas Kenyon lists his top Bach works early in the book. I've got about 20 cantatas on CD and none of mine were in his list, so I'm going to have to spend at least £50 catching up with what I've been missing! Also, if reading the biographical chapters doesn't make you start planning a tour of Thuringia, I'll be surprised. The best thing about this book, though is that the author's enthusiasm is infectious and encourages the reader to explore the subject still further. The tone is simultaneously scholarly and light and although the author describes the book as something to dip into, it's not a difficult extended read. I'm still chuckling at the number of members of the extended family called Johann Christoph Bach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Bach Edition and this book, what a bargain., 19 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since my wife got me the Complete Bach Edition this was just the book I needed to help me work my way through his music. The author covers the life of Bach, the way he's performed today, composers he admired and his family. Then it tackles the music. Seperate parts deal with church music and secular music these are further divided into chapters dealing with the the different types of works. They are also exam the music in chronological order in so far as current research allows.
Nicholas Kenyon also recomends recording for many of the works and I'm sure that you wouldn't go far wrong in following his selections.
Not too scholarly and written with great enthusiasm this book will enhance your knowledge and enjoyment of the works of the JS Bach.
Bach Complete Edition (157 CD, 2 DVD & CD Rom Box Set)The Faber Pocket Guide to Bach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a Bach fan, you should consider this, 9 April 2013
By 
Colin F. King (Sothborough, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Faber Pocket Guide to Bach (Kindle Edition)
I have not had time to finish this yet, but Kenyon really knows his stuff, writes in a clear and digestible way and half way through I think he has at least quadrupled my knowledge of the great man. It's not so much a history (it doesn't claim to be) as a guide in the format of a large number of interesting lists and sections. All manner of little interesting snippets are in this book, which I am reading on the Kindle (and it does not suffer from that). I hope to finish it soon. It's a priority!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner!, 24 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like a previous guide in this series, "Haydn", here is a book to which music lovers who love certain composers, in this case J S Bach, will want to return again and again. There is a refreshing personal anecdotage by Kenyon, which communicates his enthusiasms, as well as a wealth of information on the man and his (so many!) wonderful works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach Buch, 13 Dec 2011
By 
I bought this book on the strength of hearing the author in conversation on Bach's cantatas. What a find! It is a treasure trove of useful and amusing information, clearly and unstuffily presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value., 15 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. M. Van Blankenstein (Barnet, Herts., UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very useful "aide memoire" on a composer of whom I already have large, academic tomes. A refreshing overview of Bach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT QUICK GUIDE TO A COMPLEX SUBJECT, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been VERY pleased with the Faber Series of Music on two composers, Bach and Wagner. Both guides are very well organized, the language is clear as opposed to overly abstract and esoteric. This guide is a real asset to "accessibility" to the many types of works of this icon of music. The Faber Guides do what they promise. I plan to purchase more of this series. Included is all of the basic information on the composer in efficient format, an accessible catalogue of music, biographical details and life chronology, and good introductory summaries of all of the major types of works. Recommend highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made a wonderful prize for a choir raffle, 25 Feb 2013
By 
H. B. Closs (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Entertaining and informative. Great for the enthusiastic amateur, and a lasting reference work. I would recommend the book without hesitation;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faber Pocket Guide Bach by Nicholas Kenyon., 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Good Guide to Bach. Very Comprehensive book on the whole very helpful and informative book. I recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eccellente
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Faber Pocket Guide to Bach
£4.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews