Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional prequel (or reboot since it's inconsistent with what we see in the other films)
Wildly entertaining "X-Men: First Class" works amazingly well as both a prequel to the trilogy (there are inconsistencies between this film and the third one but it's also been suggested by the makers of this that it is a reboot since Professor Xavier and Magneto are working together in the third film and Professor X can walk in the third film and "Wolverine")and on its...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by Wayne Klein

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed review
As a huge fan of the X-Men comics, cartoons and movies, my feelings about this are mixed. I do of course like anything that involves the characters I fell in love with when I was ten years old. But with this I felt quite...let down.

I understand that writers do have to take some artistic license in creating such movies and that not every detail can be...
Published on 8 April 2012 by Dismal Angel


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Sep 2013
This review is from: X-Men: First Class [DVD] (DVD)
Being a bit of an X-Men geek, it was great to see "how the story began". The odd comic elements were well-timed, and with such a stellar cast, of James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, and Kevin Bacon as the obligatory "baddie" its a great watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xmen Begins Again, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the first two Xmen movies but was less then impressed with the third installment. Xmen Origins Wolverine was good if not a little predictable plus I felt it went over much old ground that had been covered in X2 so I was a little cautious with this one when it came out.
I Didnt need to be this movie is incredible. I heard somewhere that the guy who directed this was offered Xmen 3 but turned it down as he didnt think he was ready for such a big movie. There are two ways of looking at this. Firstly had he of done X3 it could have been amazing and the franchise would have carried on, or secondly this movie would not have been made and that would have been a real pitty.
The movie concetrates on the relationship between a young Charles Xavier played by James Mcavoy and a young Erik Lehnsherr played be Michael Fassbender. In the original Xmen movies we gather the two men were once friends but this movie shows the level of the friendship from there first meeting to the ultimate opposite outlooks that tear there friendship apart. Macavoy is brilliant as a young Professor X and carries himself with a little swagger as he attempts to chat up college girls at the beginnig of the movie to the paitient individual we met in the fist film when he is helping to train the original Xmen. But it is Fassbender that steals it for me from his small and fleeting one liners to the intensity as he uses his powers to pull a nuclear submarine from the ocean beneath him he is truly captivating when on screen and the chemistry between he and Macavoy is something to be seen. The rest of the mutants just sort of follow along with the exception of the key bad guy Sabastian Shaw played by Kevin Bacon who brings Magneto and Professor X together.
When the two friends finally go there seperate ways the pain in Magneto as he realises his friend will not join him is evident.
In closing this is an amazing superhero hero movie on par with the original two Xmen movies if not better. The cast is good the effects brilliant and a very good story. If there were a comic inspired movie out there to rival Marvel Avenger's this could be it. This is a well made movie and has a great deal of replay value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful stuff, 17 Sep 2012
By 
It's a bit ironic that the X-Men films were the first in a new wave of superhero movies that gave comic book heroes more like the treatment their fans wanted and took advantage of modern special effects, but were a bit patchy in terms of their own quality. X-Men 2 was superb but the first X-Men film fell short in terms of the action, and X Men 3 just fell short. After the Wolverine Origins film which seems to have divided audiences, they decided to perform a kind of reboot. The result was the excellent X Men: First Class.

Marvel movie output has generally been a bit uneven in the past, with some failures to go alongside the successes. Some like Daredevil wasted great source material with average treatment, some like Hulk just didn't quite judge it right. But X-Men has always been the flagship and it wasn't good enough that the films were starting to get a bit run of the mill. So they went back to the beginning to show Xavier and Magneto developing from childhood, and coming together with other mutants. They have a common interest but clash on how to face up to their challenges. Against a backdrop of the cold war and the Cuban Missile Crisis, a battle that threatens to engulf the world boils down to a personal struggle: do you fight the battle Xavier's way or Magneto's way?

There are a few complaints about the film. Fans of the series may be frustrated that this film isn't consistent with the timelines of the other films, and the young mutants are mostly less interesting than the story of Professor X and Magneto. Apart from that, the main challenge in any X-Men film is there are so many characters to choose from and you often don't get to see much of your favourite. For me, Gambit has not been in the series nearly enough. Other than that, the film is really superb. The story is set up with real pain and trauma for young Erik, who grows up to be a complex and sympathetic Magneto driven by anger and revenge. Xavier is more positive and inclusive, trying to work with Magneto for a greater good. From there, a pacey story of global struggle is impressively mounted, with great action and a real edge to proceedings. The actors are excellent, especially Michael Fassbender as Magneto, but also James McAvoy, Kevin Bacon and Jennifer Lawrence. The action is very well done and all the more effective because you care about the characters. The final confrontation makes good use of CGI and packs a real punch.

This film really got the X-Men series back on track. Absolutely worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..FIRST CLASS ACTION..", 28 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men: First Class (DVD + Digital Copy) (DVD)
This is a very well made comic book movie with a good story and a great cast, Michael Fassbender stole the show with his portrayal of a younger Magneto, there are several cool new mutants and a few you have seen before, good story that builds up the characters relationships and sets up the future X-men films! Good effects, any fan should love this a fantastic Marvel film, not the best this year but still a movie to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good action, 1 Feb 2012
By 
Alan Palmer "suey" (hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: First Class (DVD + Digital Copy) (DVD)
I always watch the movies before I buy so I am not disappointed when the DVD arrives. The DVD arrived in good condition and in good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men (DVD) ~ James McAvoy, 31 Jan 2012
By 
CINDY (NORMANTON, WEST YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X-Men: First Class (DVD + Digital Copy) (DVD)
Hey this is a pretty good movie and I love this film as I watched it with the family. Its a must to buy. Thank you for the speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. C. P. Hawkswell "Chris" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: First Class (DVD + Digital Copy) (DVD)
Love it love it love it. Love it love it love it. Hope they continue to make more movies in the series. Love it love it love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best super hero movies ever, 25 Jan 2012
By 
Joseph Maher (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
The movie is a perfect origin for the x-men movie universe, the cast, especially McAvoy and Fassbender have powerful preformances and its stylishly directed by Matthew vaughn. The best part about it is its morals, the movie doesn't really push either side and leaves it up to the audiance to decide who you'd go with. Great movie great cast besides maybe january jones, she may of looked the part but didn't play the part, the only faults i thought were the special effects sometimes looked a bit to fake which made them stand out at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 22 Jan 2012
Great acting, good link with all the previous films with showing how it all began, Proffeser X was powerful and humerous to watch. No boring parts of the film and good deleted scenes which tie everything together nicely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the business, 12 Jan 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: First Class (DVD + Digital Copy) (DVD)
As good as any of the 'best' X-Men films, easily as good as the 2nd. The story is well structured and written, the characters meaty and flawed, as all good characters should be, and the set pieces are very well staged and directed, creating great tension and peril, despite the fact that we know a lot of these characters will survive.

Kevin Bacon is excellent, although he was even more so in his first scene as a Nazi at Auschwitz showing real acting greatness. There are some nice touches such as where Magneto got his helmet, how Charles lost the use of his legs and how the Beast became the Beast.

Lots of fun and acted and directed with pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4384630)

This product

X-Men: First Class (DVD + Digital Copy)
X-Men: First Class (DVD + Digital Copy) by Matthew Vaughn (DVD - 2011)
3.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews