Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars173
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£259.39+ £9.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2015
This is one of those iconic Star Wars Lego sets that every child wants to have and be warned, this is fairly pricey but most licenced themes from Lego are (hint: wait until it goes on sale).

What you get for your money is the Millennium Falcon and 5 minifures which can be used to create scenes from the Original Trilogy. This is a big build with hours of required to put this together. Me and my 5 year old son did 6 - 1 hour sessions over 3 days before this was completed. Mainly this was because there is a lot of repetition (especially when building the roof tiles) and for younger children they can lose their focus quite quickly.

Once built, the Millennium Falcon is a really cool model with lost of features. The way the canopy opens out like a starfish is great for children to be able to play "inside" the ship and then close it all up for some flying battle action. It's obviously not as detailed as its "Ultimate Collector edition" bigger brother but then again, its not as expensive.

The five minifigures you get are great and detailed but still puzzled why Darth Vader was included and not the driods? Still, the only minor gripe is that you have to remove the lever in the cockpit to be able to successfully squeeze in bith Han and Chewbacca.

Overall impression, some serious lego for some top dollar. It's big and worth every penny though.
review image
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2011
This is the second falcon Lego have produced in this play size. The original was very flimsy and not very playable as bits drop off all the time. Luckily Lego have made this a lot more durable meaning kids can zoom around the room holding it and it won't split into pieces.

The downside to this version however is there's not many interactive features compared to the previous version which had a retractable ramp and an escape pod which used Lego mechanics to retract and pop out.

This time around the sets very static perhaps to make it more durable but with the exception of the lid lifting off and a tray that drops out as a cargo dump there's no gadgets to add to the fun like with rogue shadow or similar kits; there's 4 flick missiles but they can't really be flicked given their position on the under carriage - it's just an easy feature Lego chuck in lately.

There's been some fan feedback that the underside is badly designed I think while it's true it could be better designed you don't see it unless you fly it around, plus the landing legs appear to be a rush job and very basic; with some additional pieces a fan could make better legs which are also taller so the landing ramp would support a figure walking up it currently this can't be done.

Build wise it's going to take you a few hours and an adult on hand for younger kids; there's some interesting techniques and also a few repetitive instructions for the panels etc.

At this stage the new falcon looks the part and is a great base to play with your characters even if theres a lack of mechanical gizmos and you do get quite a few minifigs however should vader be stored in the falcon? A c3po and r2 would have been better but I guess you need a baddy to play with however given the price we could have had the droids and a few troopers. (I'd also say Lego have a habit of classifying a few bits and pieces as minifigs lately; the training droid ihere s not a minifig it's a few bricks on a stick!)

Price wise it's hard to call; £100 would be right or some more technical features and figures to justify the additional £40 however what I can guarantee is this will be a Lego to invest in given the original sells for several hundred pound in good condition with a box. So keep the box for sure and enjoy this falcon as you won't get the original without spending a lot of money...
33 comments|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
This is a tough and accurate representation of Han Solo's iconic ship and a vast improvement on the previous `mid-size' model. It is though, like most lego models of this size, very much for display purposes rather than for play.

Building time is probably around 3 to 4 solid hours and poses a decent challenge to construct, with 1254 pieces in total. On building, I was struck (as I often am with lego) by the cleverness of the design. The roof of the falcon is constructed in 13 hinged segments that can be turned upwards so the interior of the ship is completely exposed. There are not many gadgets, but the detail inside the ship is excellent, including the chess board seen in Star Wars and the smuggler's compartment. The circular body of the falcon is constructed using a number of small hinged pieces that lock together very neatly and tightly, keeping everything together. Others have complained that the underside of the ship is a little uninspiring to look at, but I believe it has been designed with strength in mind and certainly seems to do the job.

There are 6 good minifigures included, though you may find them duplicated with other sets you own; Han Solo, Princess Leia, Luke Skywalker, Chewbacca, Obi Wan Kenobi and Darth Vader. Vader may seems a little out of place in the set, but is no doubt there for his lightsabre duel with Obi-Wan at the end of A New Hope. Perhaps the inclusion of figures of R2D2 and C3PO would have also been appropriate.

Cost-wise, I have seen the set available anywhere between £95 and £130, so it is probably best to hunt around before purchasing. Beware that the dimensions in Amazon's listing above are the dimensions of the box in which it comes, not of the completed model. The completed ship is however quite large and heavy, weighing in at around 2 kg and it actually measures about 46cm in length and 33cm in width. In lego terms it represents pretty good value in comparison to some of the other sets available, and a good investment. In any case, the completed Falcon looks absolutely terrific and is surely an essential purchase for any collector of Star Wars lego.

Definitely the fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.
11 comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
I bought this as I've been promising myself a Lego Millenium Falcon for the past few years (I should have bought the Ultimate Collectors Edition when it was released about 5 or 6 years ago but missed out). Whilst this model isn't in the same league as the collectors edition I wasn't disappointed. Build time was about 4 - 5 hours and not difficult. The model has some nice details (episode 4 specific) and the mini figures are great when fully assembled the model feel fairly sturdy.. My only criticism is that the kit is missing R2D2 and C3P0 mini figures and could have done with a couple of storm troopers as well. Surely for a kit valued at over £100 4 additional figures isn't too much to ask?
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
Bought this for my sons 11th birthday present. He had his eye on it for a long time and it was finally within a price bracket that was acceptable so took the plunge. He is very skilled with lego, he generally builds kits quite easily that are above his age range but he did have a few problems with this one. Unfortunately he had made an error on one of the early pages so when he got near the end putting the roof pieces on we discovered it wasnt symmetrical so they didnt fit. All part of the fun, but it needed stripping right back to practically the start. He wasnt bothered and loved it once built - became the envy of his close friends during his brief party that night. 2 months on and hes broken it down and built it again several times and the mini figures get plenty of usage. Very happy with it, usual high quality lego standards and hours of fun. I expect he will still play with it for a couple more years at least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
I bought this on the strength of the other reviews on here, and just maybe, i have wanted the Millennium Falcon since i was a kid, but had to settle for a Tie Fighter. It was £112 well spent, but it is about the maximum i would have paid for it. Don't get me wrong, its an excellent model, and it has room for modification, which as someone once said, is the fun about owning Lego. For me, as a 38 yr old, i had a lot of fun making it, and my son and I, have a lot of fun playing with it, and out of all the Falcon models out there, it is the one that is best value for the money. If you are a Star Wars fan, this is a must own, along with Slave 1, and for those who can afford it, the Death Star, but having bought the Falcon, made it, played with it, i am very happy with it. You will certainly be the envy of your friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
She may not look like much, but she's got it where it counts, kid.

In this case that's playability. My daughter loves it and has stolen it from me.
Building was easy, though some of the connections are a bit loose once completed. I agree with the odd choice of figures and a different design inside the cockpit might have allowed Han & Chewie to both be inside it.

Honestly, if it hadn't been a gift I doubt I'd ever have bought it, despite being a big SW fan. I do like it a lot, though.

Problems encountered with the stickers which were dropped into the box and had therefore been rolled up & creased as the box was moved around. Because of this they were already peeling and are not sticking well to the kit. I daresay Lego customer service will replace it if I call them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2012
Other reviews have pretty much covered all the bases, but I just had to review to say that this is such a beautiful piece of Lego! Sturdy, really well detailed and well designed, and really looks like the Millennium Falcon. I only buy these for display, not play, so I don't know how well it'll hold up if you're flying it around, but it is rather heavy when completed so it may be a bit difficult. As well, it does take a LONG time to build (think it took me three or four hours all told, split into two sessions), so just be aware of that.

It's an expensive piece, but so worth the money, particularly at the current price (£111.97 at the time of writing). I would definitely recommend it for any Star Wars / Lego fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
Although my son build lego all the time, I actually bought this one for myself - always wanted to build the falcon.

There are different versions, and this one didn't quite have the internal detail I expected such as the escape capsule, but was enjoyable to build, and my son enjoys playing with it.

My only gripes are that it was a quick build at about 1-2 hours tops (£60 an hour!!), and when my son is playing with it, the extendable flaps come off, as well as the cockpit etc as they are not on very securely.

Looks impressive though!

The Death star is significantly better as although it is £274, it takes about 24 hours to build and the detail and playability is much higher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my 26 year old brother and it was definitely a winner. The detail on the Millenium Falcon, inside and out, is incredible and follows the movie pretty accurately. The outside looks great, funnily enough my brother proudly displays it in his house. and the interior is great and has several sections of the millenium falcon you see in the movies. The models that came with it looked great and can be stored inside when it is not being 'played' with. The model took my 26 year old brother around 2-3 hours to build so the average 9 year old could build it in about 30 mins to an hour. Overall a great product and a must-have for collectors or kids upto the age of 26.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)