Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Father Brown DVD.
I purchased this DVD set after watching David Williams on the BBC TV channel and whilst Kenneth Moore is good as the reverend father I would have to say that the latest BBC version of Father Brown is, by far, the best.
Published 16 months ago by E. Parker

versus
31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read The Books
I always felt that Chestertons Father Brown character should have had a sidekick to bounce his ideas off. Perhaps a young monk or a pretty nun. I loved these books, and read them in my teens when I longed above all to become a detective.

Clearly ailing, Kenneth More made a valiant effort to make the story lines interesting. I remember reading that he was...
Published on 26 May 2011 by vbprogman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Father Brown DVD., 25 Feb 2013
By 
E. Parker (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD set after watching David Williams on the BBC TV channel and whilst Kenneth Moore is good as the reverend father I would have to say that the latest BBC version of Father Brown is, by far, the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read The Books, 26 May 2011
This review is from: Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I always felt that Chestertons Father Brown character should have had a sidekick to bounce his ideas off. Perhaps a young monk or a pretty nun. I loved these books, and read them in my teens when I longed above all to become a detective.

Clearly ailing, Kenneth More made a valiant effort to make the story lines interesting. I remember reading that he was reluctant to take the role as it did not fall in line with his on-screen persona. If my understanding is correct, then I believe he was right.

Lew Grade would have done better to cast Alec Guiness or Partrick Troughton for the role. Either would have given outstanding performances. Kenneth More remains one of my favourite actors of his generation though.

The recordings show the test of time. Expect an impression of VHS quality. They are, however, still watchable.

The supporting cast were good throughout. Look out for Alun Armstrong, in episode 1, (in my humble opinion, he is one of the best two British character actors we have still living, the other being Bill Paterson).

13 episodes are a strange number to produce. I wonder if Kenneth More's health was the reason that more were not made.

I recommend this set only for the superior content of the production. Quality of the recordings and price get a decided thumbs down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detection nostagia!, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
G K Chesterton's works on his famous priest cum detective are well produced in this series. The portrayal of Father Brown by Kenneth More is perfect: he brings a touch of humility to the art of detection, unlike M. Porot. The settings are wonderful period pieces themselves and take you credibly back to another era altogether, where the pace of life was so much slower. This series is an excellent opportunity to enjoy some good detective work while appreciating the realistic performance by Kenneth More. For those who enjoy these period detective series, like Alleyn and Poirot, then this complete series is for you.
The family has enjoyed them so much that we've also downloaded the Kindle book on Chesterton to read more of the Father Brown stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FatherBrown DVD, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Most enjoyable little sketches whch have an occasional bite in them.Kenneth More is well suited to the part he plays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quality of picture and sound shouldn't affect quality of the series., 18 April 2012
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
in spite of what previous reviews have stated, i enjoy the "father brown" series and wish that there had been more of the short stories adapted.
it is true that the picture and sound quality aren't exactly up to the highest standards but it is still possible to enjoy the series. i find that kenneth more is well cast as the leading character and the scripts and the supporting cast are also very good. although kenneth more is best known these days for playing rather jolly, happy-go-lucky types in his career, it makes for a refreshing change to see him play a completely different kind of character. he proves that he was a more gifted actor than people realise. it isn't easy to adapt these particular stories but i believe a good job has been done by all concerned.
i have read that the main reason the series didn't fair too well back in 1974, was because audiences were looking to watch programmes that contained quick and somewhat cheap thrills. as "father brown" is a bit more subtle and thoughtful for all that, this is not a valid reason for its failure back then in my opinion.
out of the episodes here, i rate at least 8 of them as ranging from being brilliant to good. even the slightly less regarded ones are still watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A dated gem, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series nearly 40 years ago on television and really enjoyed it. Kenneth More had a particular gentle charm which suited the part of Father Brown. In those days, it was thought important that anyone who played a 'religious' role should have a fairly blameless private life, and Kenneth More seemed to fit the bill, despite his then-shocking divorce and remarriage to Angela Douglas. This series was his swan song because it was not too long before he died. After watching the series, I tried to read the stories, but I was disappointed to find them frankly boring - wordy and abstruse. However, maybe I'll try again!
Nowadays, the production seems a little dated and the film quality not too good. However, it is a first class production. At the very least, it is a charming period piece which will give pleasure to people like me who remember it first time around - and maybe it will introduce Kenneth More to a new generation. He had charisma and was able to make Father Brown a fully rounded human being. He also had a sharp wit and delivered his lines with a wonderful, gentle humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So sweet and so easy to watch, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Dylan Weston (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Love Kenneth Moore and these stories are so innocent in spite of being involved with murder. i enjoyed them just because of their "sweetness."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dated, or just bad?, 16 Jan 2014
By 
'Fountain Pen' (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
A piece of period drama is not poor quality simply because it's dated, but this production is both dated and poor.
In the main, the acting is of a reasonable standard for the time, although occasionally hammy and melodramatic. My real bugbear is the plots themselves; the problem with the original Father Brown stories is that, although they are sometimes quite atmospheric, they are contrived and implausible, and frankly weird. One story in this TV version, nevertheless, involving the evidence of a dog, is fairly good. The rest, however, seem trite and ridiculous.
Father Brown himself is not a character I can warm to, and I have never been a fan of Kenneth Moore, although he plays the central character tolerably well. The overall impression, however, is of a sententious know-all, albeit a polite and unassuming one.
The series compares very unfavourably, in terms of acting, plot development, and likeable major characters, with the Ian Carmichael Lord Peter Wimsey dramatisations of the same decade.
I don't like giving two stars for a product, but feel compelled to do so here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
Was a Christmas present for my husband which he has really enjoyed best buy ever thank you so very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldies, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] (DVD)
i remember watching this series from when it was first screened so it is a great pleasure to renew an old acquaintance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD]
Father Brown Boxed Set [DVD] by Kenneth More (DVD - 2011)
21.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews