Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This certainly rings my bell!
When this phone rings it will take your mind to a bygone era, old black and white classic movies, illusions of being somewhere else in time before picking up the handset to answer the call. If you buy this phone only for that evocative bell ringing sound it will be worth it.

This retro type telephone is a little gem. I wanted this style of phone for my little...
Published on 22 Aug 2012 by D. Mitchell

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Retro Vintage Telephone
Poor quality. Handset does not sit properly in cradle. First telephone received had problem (fault) on 1571 answer service.Returned to seller expecting refund, instead was told replacement had been sent. Second telephone just didn't work at all. No dialing tone, just dead. Very disappointed with whole process, and the return procedure is a nightmare. Would not be tempted...
Published 16 months ago by Terry G.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This certainly rings my bell!, 22 Aug 2012
By 
D. Mitchell (Tynemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When this phone rings it will take your mind to a bygone era, old black and white classic movies, illusions of being somewhere else in time before picking up the handset to answer the call. If you buy this phone only for that evocative bell ringing sound it will be worth it.

This retro type telephone is a little gem. I wanted this style of phone for my little office/study room and it looks just right with my blend of modern and old paraphernalia. The plastic material this phone is made from,I ordered it in black,is a shiny gloss finish so if you are looking for a matt finish only this may not be what you will have in mind. Mine sits proudly on my desk next to a computer screen and printer that are both in the popular shiny gloss black finish of many of today's modern electronic gadgets so it actually blends in very well with these. The style of this phone both contrasts with and compliments these present day gadgets.

The phone is practical, with push button numbers in the illusory rotary dial frontpiece. The numbers seem to be set back into the rotary dial but this is only an optical illusion as on closer inspection they actually come just above the dial plate. The buttons are simple to use and you hear a touch tone sound in the ear phone when you press each number.

There are star and hash buttons in the 'dial' as well so the phone is practical for all the normal calls you wish to make. Of course if you want to go the full retro experience you could always go for the more expensive rotary dial model. However, the push button one here offers a quicker and easier way of making calls so is a better practical compromise if you make a lot of calls.

There is a very handy little pull out drawer in the base that you can keep a little note book or list of telephone numbers, the old fashion equivalent of memory storage on modern phones. As you will keep your phone numbers in this drawer they will not get lost compared to keeping them in a separate address/phone book.

When the phone arrived in a large package I thought like another reviewer that it was lightweight. However, on unpacking and setting it up it turned out to be more substantial than I first thought and feels solid and secure on my desk, so no worries about that. The phone really was just an unpack and plug in, working straight away with no problems. The sound quality for incoming calls is fine and there are no problems with listeners hearing you speaking.

You will be interested in this phone for its retro and appearance qualities. Don't expect a modern phone with all the bells and whistles. You get the bells alright! but for 'whistles' you will have to go for today's models. Well done Amazon and Royal Mail. Ordered on a Saturday, dispatched on Sunday and received on Tuesday,and this with free postage and packing. Top marks all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars telephone, 19 May 2012
By 
J. Sampson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are very pleased with this phone, it is a good weight & we like the "proper" speaking piece. The only thing it doesn't have is a redial button. It is so much nicer to look at and use then all the modern rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab back in time telephone, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This telephone arrived within 3 days and was everything I wanted it to be. When it rings it takes you back in time. It looks fantastic on my hall table and everyone has commented on how stylish it looks. Fab and recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Retro Vintage Telephone, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Poor quality. Handset does not sit properly in cradle. First telephone received had problem (fault) on 1571 answer service.Returned to seller expecting refund, instead was told replacement had been sent. Second telephone just didn't work at all. No dialing tone, just dead. Very disappointed with whole process, and the return procedure is a nightmare. Would not be tempted to try this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beauty, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
looks lovely and is nice and weighty unlike some others.excellent value for the price.i never get tired of admiring its good looks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Im very pleased with this Phone, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good reproduction of the classic GPO phone of old.
However it does have a very shiny plastic appearance and some may not like this
I have a plan to 'weather' the finish to make it look more authentic.
My opinion, the pushbutton version of this phone is preferable to the dial version
Its so much easier to use and the appearance of the buttons in place of the dial holes does
not detract from the good looks of the product.
I could have spent much on Ebay for an authentic reconditioned GPO phone. But as an electronics engineer
I know that this phone will be more reliable for daily use. And my wife likes it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light Weight, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a pleasant looking repro model but lacks the real weightiness of the old telephones which is a shame. Great ring tone though, absolutely no danger of it not being heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It looks great..., 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product description states that it is push button and therefore is compatible with modern technology. When for example calling a company where you are required to press numbers for options - I am unable to do so. I have to use my mobile, which is pretty hopeless really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i can hear the sea, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lovely looking but when i plugged it in its a bit echoey or like you can hear the sea, im hoping this is because there is another phone already plugged in, and hope that when i move house and this is the only phone in use it will be fine, worst ways its not that bad and i love the little tray to keep your ikea pencils and sticky pads in :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great phone, looks really good, it's very light so feels a bit toy like compared to the old style but this is still better than a vintage version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews