Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic sci fi
All 52 episodes on 16 disc's for under 40,yes it is a Dutch import but who cares at this price.
Excellent.
Published 10 months ago by MR DEAN FLETCHER

versus
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No English subtitles...
The only subtitles available on these DVDs are dutch and this, paired with not so great audio, makes this pretty annoying to watch if, like me, you're not a native speaker or, worse, hard of hearing. It would behoove Amazon to make customers aware of this. Other than that, Blakes 7 remains a great series and well worth watching, but it deserves a better DVD release.
Published on 9 Aug 2011 by Jean-paul Kneip


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No English subtitles..., 9 Aug 2011
By 
Jean-paul Kneip (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blake's 7, Complete Collection (DVD)
The only subtitles available on these DVDs are dutch and this, paired with not so great audio, makes this pretty annoying to watch if, like me, you're not a native speaker or, worse, hard of hearing. It would behoove Amazon to make customers aware of this. Other than that, Blakes 7 remains a great series and well worth watching, but it deserves a better DVD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 151 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SAVE YOURSELF!!!, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Blake's 7, Complete Collection (DVD)
THIS IS A HONEY TRAP! I have one complaint about ordering these, and that is until close inspection they are not clearly sign posted as Dutch. The item name (Blake's 7 complete collection) is misleading and should be re-labeled (Blake's Zeven- complete collection- DUTCH)

I love Blake's 7- and so when I saw this and realised it was cheaper than getting each series individually I jumped on the opportunity and ordered....... without making absolutely sure what I was buying were the English DVDs- so when they arrived I was a bit surprised to see they were Dutch subtitled imports. Needless to say I then checked the reviews and the product information more closely and realised I had made a dreadful mistake. If you want to just watch the episodes- subtitle free and without the assured quality of the real boxsets then this is for you- if not- spend a bit more money and don't fall into this honey trap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic sci fi, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blake's 7, Complete Collection (DVD)
All 52 episodes on 16 disc's for under 40,yes it is a Dutch import but who cares at this price.
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standard by Ten, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blake's 7, Complete Collection (DVD)
It's the cause of some surprise to me that this saga isn't accepted as part of the Whoniverse; Terry Nation was, apparently, all in favour of employing the Daleks in the series (the cliffhanger at the end of Series Two seems a logical place!), and I understand that Tom Baker and Paul Darrow shared a wish to turn up in each other's corridors - I only wish they'd done it; would have been sublime.

In fairness, Blake's 7 started off as rather the more serious stab at sci fi, peeling off two of Who's more serious talents - David Maloney and Chris Boucher as producer and script editor respectively - to realise an idea by Terry Nation: 'The Dirty Dozen in Space'.

The first few episodes are reasonably sensible, though it becomes fairly obvious fairly early that the series' spiritual home is space opera, and it heads there at about Standard by Seven.

It has moments of awfulness, and some of these are inexcusable, but when on form, the Seven deliver an exciting and handsome product. The first episode is particularly good, setting up the idea of a Fascist totalitarian Earth government that doses the population with suppressants, drugs their dreams and summarily executes dissidents. One such is Roj Blake who, after seeing his friends gunned down, is arrested, convicted of child abuse, and shipped off to the prison world of Cygnus Alpha (if it were made today, Blake would have to be killed by his fellow prisoners on the way, so the series would be only two episodes long).

En route the prison ship encounters a seemingly abandoned craft, floating in space, and sends Blake and two others over as a salvage crew, but they steal the ship for themselves, rescue two more prisoners , acquire a telepathic alien on yet another planet, and that, together with the ship's talking computer, is the Seven.

There are, broadly speaking, two kind of story; 'shooting stormtroopers' and 'finding something weird'; in some stories they shoot stormtroopers and find something weird as well, so in the next one the story has to fall back on one of the Seven getting weird, just to compensate.

The first series is ostensibly all written by Terry Nation, though in fact he did the first drafts, some of which were quite sketchy, and Chris Boucher had to make them usable. By Episode 11 (Bounty) even Mr Boucher was running out of snappy dialogue and the cast had to make up some of their own lines. Just about any old plot device is thrust into the mix - scientists make life, Gan goes bonkers, whodunit?, heist goes wrong, bad guys get in (more than once), good guy and bad guy in a duel (that is so close to the Star Trek episode 'Arena' that it uses whole chunks of the same dialogue - after all, it wasn't as if either series was ever going to be released on tape for people to buy and watch at home, was it?) but it is good; the scripts occasionally contain the most hackneyed of devices, the design budget is limited, and alien planets rarely approach 'exotic', at least not to start with, but there is such a solid commitment among the cast and production to tell the story as well as possible, and it clearly pays dividends.

The mysterious ship, dubbed The Liberator, is a lovely model, and it was a delightful surprise in 1978 because there'd not been a spaceship in Dr Who, or on anything by Gerry Anderson - or, in fact, in Star Wars - that looked that good. The model work across all four series is lovely - better than some of the stuff on Dr Who (particularly in Nightmare of Eden), even if one alien scoutship is made of two hairdryers glued mouth to mouth.

The politics of the series are basic to the point of crudity; besides the central authority of the Federation there are numerous other worlds, outer systems, rebel alliances, caucuses, dissident power blocks, and these get less coherent/credible as time goes on. It could be argued that one reason the series came to an end was an incapacity on the writers' part to get the good guys' act together.

'Good' for a given value thereof, obviously, since four of the Seven are professional crooks. This works very nicely, and they are all very well played, though Paul Darrow stands out as Avon - though his is the best written part as the principal critic of Gareth Thomas's credibly foursquare Blake.

The bad guys are generally black-clad and rather better styled, and led by the very beautiful Jacqueline Pearce as Servalan (generally in figure-hugging white), elfin, liquid-voiced, infinitely selfish and malevolent, with a crew cut that was really very shocking in 1978; the onanistic fantasy of a whole generation of teenagers, at least those of a certain sexual mien.

Her principal instrument of power was Space Commander Travis, initially Stephen Grief in leather, latterly Brian Croucher in plastic, a man with a pathological hatred of Blake, an eye-patch and a cybernetic arm with a gun in it. Travis was generally supported by his crack troops of choice - Mutoids - cyborgs in (fairly) silly hats and black leather (again), generally played by attractive young actresses, principally because putting a man in a mutoid outfit always made him look a bit fay.

The standard Federation guard uniform was a wonderfully serviceable Belstaff motorcycle suit with added insignia and bandolier and a helmet that looked like a gas mask. Apparently it was a role sought after by some really quite successful actors, just because the outfits were so damned cool yet utterly anonymous, though quite a lot of them in fact appear to have been played by Pat Gorman.

Since it was television drama at a time when all of it was run like rep theatre, it features the 'company' faces: John Savident (twice), Peter Miles (twice), John Bryans (thrice), Julian Glover, David Collings, Brian Blessed (even madder than usual), Roy Kinnear, Aubrey Woods, Colin Baker (hilarious), Patsy Smart, Valentine Dyall, Richard Hurndall, Betty Marsden, Vernon Dobtcheff, Kevin Lloyd, John Bennet, Paul Daneman (masterful), Ronald Lacey...

Since there's so little political thinking (Fascists are bad, Fascists with zap guns are even badder...), any over-reaching story arc comes, very simply, from the constraints of TV production; Series One demands a cliffhanger, therefore Orac, that means there's eight of them rather than seven, so one of them has to go and Gan is the least interesting. The rest of Series Two demands something to hold it together, hence the search for Star One, and then the Andromedans invade. Then Gareth Thomas and Sally Knyvette leave, so get replaced by Steven Pacey and Josette Simon. They plan to kill the programme at the end of Series Three, but the head of serials is watching it on the telly at home and decides there has to be a Series Four, but David Maloney has gone and Vere Lorrimer takes over, and - since the Liberator has been blown up - we have to have a new space ship, the much less impressive Scorpio, which looks like a flying door wedge (and it's got a really stupid computer), and Jan Chappel has bailed out, so gets replaced by former Mutoid, Glynis Barber. By the end of Series Four they are in need of an even bigger cliffhanger so all of the Seven get shot (except Avon); they *could* all be stunned, but since there's no more programme, we have to assume that they all got killed. At least one correspondent to the Radio Times complained, not without some justification, 'Why does evil always have to win?'

The first season is great fun, if a touch patchy, the second rather better and more consistent, the third less good, and the fourth often poor. The replacement of achingly virtuous Blake with the objectionable, bullying Tarrant robs the series of one half of its heart, while replacing the Liberator with the Scorpio takes the other. The worst examples might be the episodes Breakdown, Mission to Destiny, Sarcophagus, Animals, Stardrive, Ultraworld (and its sibling, Dawn of the Gods), and that bollocks with the two tribes; one all male, one all female. Robert Holmes pens the incomprehensible story 'Traitor'.

Happily the good outweighs the bad, my own favourites being 'The Way Back', 'Project Avalon', pretty much all of Series Two (though Trial is outstanding), 'Harvest of Kiaros', 'Assassin'. Scott Fredericks plays a fiendishly smooth psychostrategist in Weapon; Aubrey Woods plays a gloriously camp gangster in Gambit.

Generally it's very well written and, in places, eminently quotable, with any number of pithy and incisive homilies on power and its application. Servalan and Avon supplying the choicest cuts.

The greatest failing of Blake's 7 is, literally, that the Seven fail, meaning that the series ultimately fails too. Having set up the dystopia of the Terran Federation, and the hope that bad people can be redeemed by changing the galaxy, it demonstrates fairly clearly that they cannot, that greed, cruelty, cowardice and stupidity can at least stand together, while kindness, courage and good sense cannot. The right-wing wins because the left simply cannot get it's act together - a pattern that is only too familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Underrated Television Show Of All Time, 19 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. A. Peacock "Sandy Peacock" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Of all the tv shows i've ever seen, Blake's 7 absolutely undoubtedly would be in my top 3. So why haven't so many people even heard of it? And how come alot of people who did see bits of it originally think today in hindsight that it was just rubbish?

Well Blake's 7 has a sad reputation of being a "geeky sci-fi" and full of wobbly cardboard sets which look ridiculous. I've so far found that the people that think this have never actually seen it themselves or only caught glimpses of it 30 years ago. The fact is, is that Blake's 7 isn't really a sci-fi; if you say sci-fi is what star trek or babylon is. Blake's 7 deals with morality, friendship, betrayal, love, vengeance, pride, death, regret and all of the biggest, greatest themes you could imagine. It is primarily about people.

I had heard frequently the claim aboout Blake's 7 being full of poor production values and terrible sets, much like some people attribute to certain Doctor Who episodes (featuring the same corridor over and over). But i was wildly suprised by the reality of the matter! The sets in Blake's 7 are huge, complicated, and extremely interesting; because the series features so much planet or spaceship hopping it is essential each location is entirely unique in the series - which is extremely refreshing.

However it must be noted that, like Doctor Who, Blake's 7 DOES feature alot of disused quarries; but these tend to become less frequent as the series get's deeper.

Blake's 7 logo is a sort of reverses startrek one, and this is incredibly true to the series. Whereas Star Trek is episodic, fairly light, good vs evil- Blake's 7 is the reverse.

It's one long story with very little time missing between each individual espisode. It's a seriously dark series, full of metaphor, anguish, character arcs, continuity, hidden pasts, multi dimensional characters,noone is ever completely good, and the possibility of it actually happening some day.

The situation of the series is that some time in the future, Earth is run by the Federation - a totally authoritve totalitarian government; who also control most of the galaxy - employing any and all methods necessary to keep it that way.It starts with Blake, an idealistic man who once long ago tried to lead a rebellion is (probably) framed with numerous child amolestation charges, and sentenced to a prison planet; he and a few escape the ship and from that point on they spend the rest of the series promoting their cause, finding new people to join them, running from the federation and simultaneosly attempting to destroy it.

However it soon becomes apparent that every crew member has their own motives...

Among people who have seen and loved Blake's 7 it is loved for it's incredibly well written dialogue, extremely well acted, brilliant on-going characterisation and interesting storylines. I personally hate the sci-fi genre, i often find it pretentious, dull and shallow; but Blake's 7 will always stand among my favourite television shows with the likes of I Claudius and Twin Peaks, it's unlike anything you'll have ever seen; the only disappointment i had with it was that theres only 52 episodes, but the ending (widely considered the greatest finale to a television series ever) more than makes up for the lack of more episodes!

A definite MUST BUY! 10/10

(as for the dvd itself, the special features sadly aren't particularly extensive, however their is an interesting interview with Paul Darrow, and i'm not sure what the previous reviewer was talking about, the picture quality has definately been improved and i would even say it was faultless)

(Also i apologise for the rambling and cryptic nature of this review! I just loved it so much; and yet at the same time don't want to spoil any of the story for you; trust me if you haven't seen it before, it's worth buying for that alone!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars QUADRUPLE DUTCH!!, 14 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blake's 7, Complete Collection (DVD)
Excellent value and still a full 20 cheaper than buying the four series on their UK release individually. I, like others, fell into the 'trap' of not realising that they were Dutch releases. As far as watching them goes - just turn off the Dutch subtitles in the disc menu and they're fine. Picture and sound quality (for a show that's 33 years old) is pretty good and probably better than when I watched them on a slightly fuzzy 26" colour TV within sight of the Crystal Palace transmitter back as far as 1978. That said, if you are a true collector (I'm not really), the UK releases are worth the extra, if only for the much better disc menus (you can operate Zen!) and the extras (Lesley Judd showing you how to make a teleport bracelet from a cereal box - ironically exactly how the BBC props department made them!). I haven't found any of those on this release and enjoyed them when I rented a few discs from Lovefilm a couple of years back. The sleeve notes are also all in Dutch and some of the episode titles are slightly mis-translated. Despite all that, this is a bargain price to own all the B7 ever made. My six-year old son already knows the theme tune so it's been a worthwhile investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Television, 12 Jan 2008
By 
Philip Fryer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dated, quirky, mono and mostly 4:3 Aspect ratio - yet still a superb series. Not flashy and in your face but intelligently scripted with thoughtful story lines. Deeper and more serious ethical dilemas are explored than Star Trek or other popular television of its time. The imperfect crew develop believeable characters through superb dialogue and acting. Its every bit as good as I remembered and then some. Its television that demands your concentration if you are to truly appreciate its qualities. The four series box set offers remastered/restored DVD quality, but remember its based on nearly thirty year old original video/TV stock!! Expectations should not anticipate modern standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blake's 7, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blake's 7, Complete Collection (DVD)
I used to watch these 35 years ago when I was young and they have stood the test of time well! ...I have loved every minute of it .....great characters and exciting stories.....I recommend this to everyone who loves Sci-Fi.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Language, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blake's 7, Complete Collection (DVD)
The videos were German with English as the second language. Beingfrom Australia and not Austria, I found the documentation on the cover beyond my capabilities to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An oldie, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blake's 7, Complete Collection (DVD)
A brilliant series in it's day - but this is only for the die hard - is a bit dated now ... watching episodes back to back - the story-lines were a bit on the repeatative side - but still glad I bought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blake's 7, Complete Collection
Blake's 7, Complete Collection by Gareth Thomas (DVD)
39.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews