Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2012
excellent book shows what hard work it is to become a vet. very funny in parts and very interesting as he goes into detail regarding his life at vet school and the friends he meets there. Pity there isnt a follow up.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Excellent book, a very engaging tale about the author's journey to becoming a vet. He tells his personal story, and is not afraid to describe when he got things wrong as well as when he got things right. This is more about the author and his journey than about animals, but even so, I loved it. The book drew me in and wouldn't let go - and at 400 pages, the ebook is very good value too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
My dream job would always have been to be a vet, but the incredibly high A level grades and competition for places meant I didn't even try. Even though this was American it was a vicarious little trip into what I missed. It's nicely written, light and amusing. It'd be nice to see a follow up with tales from his life as a qualified vet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Enjoyed this well written biography of the trials and tribulations of qualifying as a vet in the US. This book makes an interesting read
and is a good contrast to the vet training in the UK. Detailed descriptions of cases and the huge amount of work required to qualify.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
In my 51 yrs and hundreds of books, this is the best read yet!..knew I was coming to the end and wishing it would never end. Absolutely delightful! Won't be easy to find another this good.
How about a sequel Mark?
THANK YOU...Karen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
If you are an animal lover, this is a must read. Its very informative as well as being very entertaining, I didn't think James Herriot books could be bettered but it has. Hope M.E.Burgess writes some more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Very interesting account of the trials and tribulations of studying to become a qualified veterinarian well written and excellent reading a book you could easily have problems putting down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Loved this book. How interesting to gain a different perspective on veterinary life. Mark Burgess is a talented author and I hope he brings us another book about his experiences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
entertaining, very descriptive. Gives a very indepth look at the American veterinary training program and university life and has a romantic story line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Very good read. Very interesting to compare American vet training with its British counterpart. Would recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.