Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked this (for "No Reason")
Before you consider watching this movie, you should know two things:

First, it is about a killer tyre.

Secondly, I didn't make that up.

If you can suspend your disbelief long enough to get over that, you may just get something out of the film.

It opens with a scene where a police car drives towards the camera, knocking over...
Published 9 months ago by Albatross

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
The film has 5 minutes of good parts otherwise it is really boring and i hate how it is a film of an audience watching an event
Published 9 months ago by Mr ?


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Director Thought His Second Name Is Tarantino., 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: Rubber [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Exploding bunny, exploding crow, exploding human heads borefest. Made for $500.000 and it lost money which is fantastic, hopefully this enlightens the director and he picks another vocation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked this (for "No Reason"), 21 July 2013
This review is from: Rubber [DVD] (DVD)
Before you consider watching this movie, you should know two things:

First, it is about a killer tyre.

Secondly, I didn't make that up.

If you can suspend your disbelief long enough to get over that, you may just get something out of the film.

It opens with a scene where a police car drives towards the camera, knocking over a multitude of chairs in the road as it goes. When it gets close enough an officer gets out and talks directly to us, the viewers. He explains that some things in films happen for, "No reason." This is the whole basis of the film.

It's weird.

Things happen for no reason.

It's very weird. And, sometimes weird is good, other times weird doesn't work. In this case, I'll go with the former.

If you want a quirky film that doesn't conform to mainstream narratives and conventions, watch Rubber. It's silly. It's surreal. It's fun. It's sort of what David Lynch might do if he'd have thought of the `killer tyre' idea.

One drawback, a few of the scenes go on for a little long - it has the feeling of being a bit `student film studies made,' but it soon picks up in its daftness.

I stayed with it to the end - no reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber [DVD] (DVD)
The film has 5 minutes of good parts otherwise it is really boring and i hate how it is a film of an audience watching an event
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Flat Tyre, 17 Mar 2014
By 
A. Stratton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubber (Amazon Instant Video)
At the beginning of this garbage, some dork comes on and says it is a homage to 'no reason'. What follows is a series of unconnected, pointless events, leading to a tyre running around on its own squashing people. That's it. The writer apparently knew very little about writing. The director apparently knew nothing about directing. You have a limited number of discs on your subscription, do not waste one of them on this. It won't cost you anything on Instant, except 78 minutes of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weird, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber [DVD] (DVD)
Quite possibly the strangest film I have ever seen, It is so strange I can't even give a run down of the plot there is a guy at the begining of it saying some thing have no point, maybe thats the whole theme of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No reason, 16 April 2011
By 
Mark G. (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rubber [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, a film about a killer tyre...let's see what we've got here....
Well, there's some chairs spread out on a desert road and a guy with loads of binoculars, then a car breaks all the chairs.
Why?
No reason.

As the opening monologue explains, this film is all about no reason.

So, the binoculars get handed to some spectators and the story begins.

Things start very well, with Robert (the tyre) awakening and stumbling about like a new born and then just revelling in being alive. It also discovers it has some other unique abilities.
Psychokinetic powers.
As Robert rolls around running things over and blowing things up, he spots a young lady driving through the desert and sets off in pursuit.

The problem for me with this film is that although it is very well shot, it spends too much time in the sequences where it steps out of the film.
It will cut to the spectators as they comment and question on what's occuring and initially it works well.
But, after a while these moments just start to drag on.
A good example is a sequence were one of the actors is trying to explain to everybody else that what's happening isn't real and they are just characters in a story.
For me the scene just went on for too long and took me a bit too much out of events.
Another example of this is when one of the spectators arrives on the scene to complain about the story being a bit slow and in need of speeding up.

The scenes with Robert are really good and the whole film is very well shot but for me it was just trying to be a bit too clever for its own good.
I understand what the film was trying to achieve but it didn't quite work.
As I said earlier, there's a scene with a spectator stopping the film to explain what's wrong with a particular sequence, but even as he's suggesting what they can do to make the scene better, he somehow missed the most obvious thing, which for me was 'just detonate the explosives.'
And, surely it's not a good thing if I am sharing his sentiments, as the film is dragging?

As the whole film is about no reason you have to ask yourself if there's a reason for spending your money on it. I would wait until the price drops to below 5 before taking a shot on this, or better yet rent it out first as it's not going to be everyones cup of tea and I think it'll turn out to be a real mixed opinion movie with some people either praising its genius or outright hating it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So bad it's good, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: Rubber [DVD] (DVD)
A friend of mine told me to watch this film and when he told me what the film was about I had to buy it to see it for myself, a film about a Rubber tyre called Robert who has telekinetic powers who falls in love with a woman, I won't spoil it for you but it is worth a watch, but be warned it's so bad it's good, this is a classic for the wrong reasons !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Slow beyond belief, 22 Feb 2014
By 
A. Murphy (Dorset, England England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber [DVD] (DVD)
If you enjoy watching a tyre roll around for ove ra hour you will love this. I did not. Ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubber [DVD] (DVD)
Love it; its just one of those CULT films you know will be around for years to come. Sort of a love story for a tyre! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this film, or rent it for that matter, 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: Rubber [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Utter crap, avoid like a drunk auntie at a wedding! Plotless, pointless and hopeless, I couldn't wait for it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa99c9594)

This product

Rubber [Blu-ray]
Rubber [Blu-ray] by Quentin Dupieux (Blu-ray - 2011)
6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews