Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is the price you have to pay to have the ideal life?
David (Mads Mikkelsen) is an artist wallowing in his own self pity and hatred. Several years ago he had a wife and daughter but now he has nothing. One day whilst out having an affair with his neighbour, his daughter drowned and now he has nothing. On night whilst drunk David comes across a door which seemingly leads him back in time to the point in life in which is...
Published on 21 Feb. 2011 by godzilla78

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't open that door!
Wow, this film is a real stinker. It's a long time since a movie annoyed me so much that I was shouting at the screen.

If you've seen the excellent 'After the Wedding' or 'The Hunt', and you fancy some more sub-titled fare starring the usually dependable Mikkelsen, then don't touch this one with a barge-pole. Although it starts reasonably well, things start to...
Published 2 months ago by Bill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is the price you have to pay to have the ideal life?, 21 Feb. 2011
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
David (Mads Mikkelsen) is an artist wallowing in his own self pity and hatred. Several years ago he had a wife and daughter but now he has nothing. One day whilst out having an affair with his neighbour, his daughter drowned and now he has nothing. On night whilst drunk David comes across a door which seemingly leads him back in time to the point in life in which is daughter was alive and well and he is able to intervene and save his daughters life. However there are now two versions of David in this one place and only one can survive! However a price must be paid in order to have your life back the way it was. One of Davids neighbours explains what must be done to protect this new found happiness. A fantastically shot film with a beautiful musical score which uses a twightlight zone idea of alternative realities. Mikkelsen (as always) is fantastic as the father given another opportunity to have his perfect life back and attone for his previous mistakes. It's just unfortunate that this stylish and thoughtful thriller has been virtually ignored in the UK as it's one of the better films I've seen recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Door is Ajar For You, 5 July 2011
By 
This review is from: The Door [DVD] (DVD)
Cher once told us all what she would do if she could turn back time. I'm guessing that if she was in the same shoes as David she'd have ditched her crazy ideas and done exactly what he did; except perhaps for the bit were he attacks and kills his past self. David is a tortured man after leaving his daughter alone to sleep with his neighbour; she drowns in the family swimming pool. Years have passed when David decides to return to the scene and kill himself, but before he does he stumbles across a door that allows him to return to the moments just before his daughter's death. Can he save his daughter and reintroduce himself into her life, he is a different man than he once was, and can there be two Davids?

`The Door' stars Mad Mikkelsen and when I see his name attached to a film I expect it to have some interesting elements and this is the case here. There is a heavy bleakness to `The Door' that is in keeping with the lead character of David who carries a great sense of guilt. The film is a hard one to pigeon hole and ends up feeling like particularly existential episode of `The Twilight Zone'. Like the best science fiction, `The Door' does not feel like "sci fi". It is more interested in human emotions and intelligently questioning what would happen if you found yourself in an exceptional circumstance. With a slow build, the film's final third opens up into some bizarre, but brilliant directions. The subtitles and European "feel" of the film may put some people off, but for science fiction and drama fans looking for a left field choice `The Door' is ajar for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alfred Hitchcock meets The Orphanage, 19 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Door [DVD] (DVD)
What if Alfred Hitchcock directed a version of Dr Who?

Or perhaps even an episode of the Twilight Zone?

The result would probably resemble German thriller The Door, which mixes Hitchcock-like suspense with a clever time-travel plot.

The film follows Mads Mikkelsen's character, David, whose life spirals out of control after the death of his daughter.

A failed suicide attempt leads David to a door that takes him to five years into the past where he is able to prevent the death of his daughter and begins to live the life he could have had.

But, as is this case with most doors, they work two ways and when David discovers he is not the only person to seize the opportunity of travelling back in time, the film becomes a thriller about him maintaining cover as well as the family he never should have had.

The Door is a great example of an adult fairytale and follows in the footsteps of films like The Orphanage.

At its core, the film is a story about how adults cope with grief and the lengths they (or anyone else would go to) to get a second chance.

It's coupled with an ingenious plot which keeps you guessing and is yet believable at a human level.

Mads Mikkelsen, who's previous credits include playing the main villain in Casino Royale, is convincing as a man desperate for a second chance and switches seamlessly to a rogue protecting his own dark secrets.

If you enjoyed films like The Orphanage or The I Inside, or you're in the mood for a darker more modern take on The Twilight Zone, then open up a copy of The Door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB but get the German BLURAY ., 6 July 2011
This review is from: The Door [DVD] (DVD)
An outstanding film. Go to AMAZON.DE and get the German BLURAY under the native title of
Die Tür or from third party seller here on Amazon.co.uk. Be sure to select the second audio option as that is Mads true performance. The quality is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Mads' voice on this version, go and buy the German DVD instead, it had subtitles too!, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
L. Thomas (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Door [DVD] (DVD)
Suspend your cynicism, this is a great movie. It could have been an average movie, but thankfully someone had the good sense to cast Mads Mikkelsen in the lead so now it's great.

What's not so great is the block-headed decision to re-dub his voice with a "real German" as apparently his accent wasn't quite up to muster. Forget the fact that 90% of people will be watching this movie because they are Mads fans or that he won a Palme D'or for best actor, it's apparently far more important that his character pronounces words in the correct phonetically manner.

So if you're here because you want to see another great Mads Movie, go to the german amazon and buy the german version of the dvd. It has an extra audiotrack (the original dub of Mads voice) which you can easily switch over to, and English subtitles to boot. And everyone is happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more Mads Mikkelsen, 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door [DVD] (DVD)
A spooky unsentimental thriller with a great cast [ mostly german ] . A man has the oppotunity to travel back in time and save his daughter . I guess this is sci fi but more in the what if catogery [ think JG Ballard or Invasion of the body snatchers etc ] This is a film to make you think . However to me the ending was silly / confusing and I didnt feel that the film was finishes and I went to bed really angry ; so maybe i didnt really enjoy this filmat all ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific must watch film, 31 Dec. 2013
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film , that keeps you griped throughout but is very moving .
We all make mistakes - not because we are bad people but because we are human . Given the chance we would love to go back and change things in our lives - especially when it concerns losing people we love .

David makes a selfish mistake that costs him very dearly , then given the chance to go through a door and have another chance he does . However the prices become higher and David really has to find out who he truly is .
I wouldn't call this a horror movie - more a psychological thriller . It does become a bit list near the end but kept me interested throughout .
Asking much the same question as the latest French Returned hit on tv , it is definitely a movie worth watching .
It has a few special features - with behind the sciences footage and interviews - which are a bit dry but if you are a Mads fan are worth watching to see him singing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Forever Seeing Double, 22 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door [DVD] (DVD)
!!!WARNING.MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

David Anderlach(Mads Mikkelsen) is a successful artist, with a beautiful family. However, one moment of selfishness and neglect leads to the death of his young daughter Leonie. Five years later, and David's life has fallen apart. After an unsuccessful suicide attempt, David stumbles across a tunnel that leads to a parallel world, exactly five years in the past, and David is given a second chance to redeem himself by saving Leonie's life, and rectifying his mistakes. However, David is not the only one who has knowledge of the time tunnel, and soon he finds himself in increasingly desperate situations as he attempts to keep his identity a secret. Maybe some doors should never be opened...
This is a superb film. A genre bending masterpiece that explores grief, loss, the darker side of human nature and forgiveness, Die Tur could easily have slipped into a mire of over sentimentality and tripped itself up on one of its many twists. However, the director Anno Saul never allows these things to happen, playing the film as a mixture of thriller, science fiction, drama and even horror.
Whilst it might superficially resemble other time travel films such as the Spanish thriller 'Timecrimes', 'The Door' has a very human heart beating throughout it that sets it apart from its contempories. David, superbly played by Mikkelson, is essentially a good person driven to do very bad things in order to protect what he holds most dear.
The film even manages to attain a delciously creepy 'Invasion Of The Body Snatchers' vibe towards the end, best summed up in the scene where David's wife Maja(Jessica Schwarz) witnesses a horrifying double murder.
As well as Mikkelson's excellent performance, there is great support from Schwarz as Maja, Valeria Eisenbart as Leonie and Thomas Thieme as a rather less altruistic neighbour Siggi who traps David in his own twisty little web of deceit.
Apart from the great storyline and the perfect performances, the film also looks great and has a suitably mournful music score to accompany it. In other words, what Anno Saul has made here is very close to perfection. There is even the occasional nod to the old master Hitchcock.
If the above reasons aren't enough to get you to purchase this dvd, then there are also a real wealth of extras on the disc. 5 out of 5 for this terrific film ,destined to become a lot more well known in the near future. A real Tur De Force!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't open that door!, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
Bill (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Door [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, this film is a real stinker. It's a long time since a movie annoyed me so much that I was shouting at the screen.

If you've seen the excellent 'After the Wedding' or 'The Hunt', and you fancy some more sub-titled fare starring the usually dependable Mikkelsen, then don't touch this one with a barge-pole. Although it starts reasonably well, things start to go off the rails about one-third of the way through, and the last third is the biggest load of cobblers I've seen (and that includes anything directed by M Night Shyamalan). The plot descends into incoherent nonsense and just when you hope that the final minutes will contain some kind of redemptive twist (Oh, it was all just a dream, thank God!) the film ends abruptly (probably before both the main leads collapse into helpless fits of laughter).

I'm tempted to fill this review with spoilers to save you the trouble of buying it and watching it. But then I had endure it, and if you read the above and still hit the 'add to basket' button then you only have yourself to blame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Open at your peril..., 31 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Door [DVD] (DVD)
Mads Mikkelsen stars as the adulterous David Andernach in this creepy and bizarre supernatural thriller; with a wife as beautiful as Jessica Schwarz, it's stretching our disbelief to see David copping-off with the bolshy and mannish woman down the street, however this isn't even the weirdest aspect of the film; as David's adultery has appalling consequences and his life begins to unravel, he is inexplicably given the chance of salvation, and time-travelling oddness takes over from tragic family-threatening thriller.

Mikkelsen is a solid presence, and he and Schwarz provide obvious glamour, however despite an intriguing concept, the film is a run-of-the-mill effort and lacks the touch of a more imaginative director or screenwriter that would enable it to transcend the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Door [DVD]
The Door [DVD] by Anno Saul (DVD - 2011)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews