Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it all falls into place
Being a big Only Fools & Horses fan I'm going to admit I was a little worried when I heard Rock & Chips was going to be made. I need not have worried, John Sullivan has written yet another brilliant 3 programmes. Sadly John died before anymore could be made. However he has left us with a fantastic three programmes.
It's all based around the early life of Del Trotter...
Published on 12 Jun. 2011 by Craig R. Hodge

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Freddie the frog
Hard to watch Nicholas Lyndhurst as Freddie the Frog,but he was the only one for this role. Will watch again to learn who's who
Published 12 months ago by Judie


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it all falls into place, 12 Jun. 2011
By 
Craig R. Hodge "horrible_hodge" (Penicuik Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Being a big Only Fools & Horses fan I'm going to admit I was a little worried when I heard Rock & Chips was going to be made. I need not have worried, John Sullivan has written yet another brilliant 3 programmes. Sadly John died before anymore could be made. However he has left us with a fantastic three programmes.
It's all based around the early life of Del Trotter & his family & friends. In Only Fool it was always hinted that Rodney had a different father to Del. But it was never really outright stated so, just implied rather strongly. Well in Rock & Chips we see Nicolas Lyndhurst playing "Freddie the Frog" Rodney's real dad! And he plays a blinder as a tough but culturally elite criminal just out of jail. It tells how he "befriends" Del & Rodney's mum Joan. Just how the family move into "Walter Raleigh" House.

The main characters are acted brilliantly Phil Daniels as Grandad, KellieBright as Joan Trotter & James Buckley as Delboy. Great casting especially Nicolas Lyndhurst playing his own dad. A totally different character to Rodney a hard street wise criminal. Joan Trotter is quite clearly bored of her husband Reg Trotter a lazy good for nothing. So when Freddy the Frog comes on the scene Joan takes up with him. HOWEVER John Sullivan has not written Joan as a tarty goodtime girl. She's an attractive young mother stuck with a waster. Who when Freddie comes along sees a way out of her dull life. The meeting of her & Freddie is brilliantly written.

Genuinely very funny, & as a previous reviewer has said. It's not Only Fools & Horses & shouldn't be judged as such. It's a great comedy & a prequel to one of the UK's finest comedy shows. Enjoy it for what it is, an extremely funny great show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Chips, The Complete Collection (DVD), 9 Sept. 2011
By 
D. Marsden "bookworm25" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this collection for my husband as he is a huge fan of Only Fools and Horses. Thoroughly enjoyable viewing with all the characters you would expect to find but about 30 years younger.

It takes you back to when Delboy and the rest of the motley crew are about 15 years old and just leaving school. You meet Del's mum and dad (Joan and Reg Trotter) and Freddy Robdal (Freddy the Frog) who has a relationship with Joan and consequently Rodney is conceived.

A truly watchable set of DVD's, although better to watch it two or three times to get to grips with the new faces of the much younger crew.

Excellently written with all the one liners and gaffs that only Delboy gets away with. Would recommend this collection every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is great, 24 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, The is a comedy drama and not a comedy like Only Fools and horses.
Each episode gets better and better. The acting throughout is good. Nic Lyndhurst returns to play Rodney's proper dad, Freddie the frog. This is good because there is a picture of this in one of the later episodes of Only Fools and horses. Part of the story follows him and trying to get Joan Trotter, Del Boys Mum. and the other follows Young Del Boy, Played by James Buckley, and his friends: Denzel,Trigger,Boycie,Jumbo Mills and Albie Littlewood (We did not see Albie Littlewood in Only Fools and Horses but we heard about him) There is also A young roy slater as well. Del Boy is up to his usual tricks selling this and that and we get to see the start of his many girlfriends. There was/is alot of promise for the future of Rock and Chips but sadly John Sullivan died and there wont be anymore. R.I.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rocks make horses fall in laughter, 2 May 2011
This review is from: Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
If you paid enough attention to only fools and horses this collection would make sense, its slightly more serious and ruder but for me that makes it better, i guess because i enjoy that comedy.I think that the series has been great i've seen all 3 episodes and i love how the characters are portrayed James Buckley dose a brillant job as Del and Del is still the same and how he is still trying to gt rich and using cheep stuff e.g his glass engament rings and having trigger in there is brillant still the thick one.But one of the best things is having Nicholas Lyndhurst play freddie the frog as Rodney's dad its brillant. Some people will say this is'nt fools and horses, well thats because it isnt its Rock and chips its the prequel and it makes sense and most importantly it makes you laugh.

A must watch for Only Fools and Horses fans,the late great John Sulivan has left us with another masterpiece of comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A must for any fan of Only Fools an Horses, great to see all the regulars as they were in their teens. Nicholas Lyndhurst steps out of his Rodney(Dave) character into a highly believable Freddy Robdall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Brillient to see how Del and Rodney grew up. It was good to see their mum, famous for saying on her deathbed - "always send Rodney for the fish". The people who played the characters played the parts brilliantly. It was also good to see how Rodney came about and who Freddy The Frog was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic product, my wife and I spent many hours watching this fantastic program. Wish they made more of them. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is must for die hard Fools & Horses fans, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
When I read reviews about this, I was not sure at first if I would enjoy it, but decided to give it a go anyway. I have to say, I have not been disappointed. Its not the classic comedy with the canned laughter like Fools but its really great seeing all the old characters from Fools in their younger days. It makes things fall into place I guess. If you love Fools, then you will enjoy this. Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! Can't believe I missed it the first time., 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This series provides Only Fools and Horses fans with an opportunity to fill in many of the gaps created by the original TV series. Nicholas Lyndhurst, Kellie Bright, James Buckley and Phil Daniels lead a superb cast and John Sullivan's scripts, whilst not being as overtly comic as the original series, manage to raise a smile. Fans will recognise many references to the original series such as the jolly boys outing to Margate, the appearance of Roy Slater as the school prefect and Del Boy learning French and getting it all so very wrong! One not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only more ROCK & CHIPS were to be made ??, 9 July 2012
This review is from: Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
As a avid fan of only fools and horses aswel as this prequel too it was with real sadness the writer john sullivan died.It got me thinking if any other episodes were made how it would of tied in all the loose ends like: how jumbo mills emigrates,how alfie littlewoods gets killed trying to see dels girlfriend behind his back,how slater joins the police force etc etc.Its such a shame more of this series coudnt be made though very hard im sure without the writing skill of john sullivan.Other sub stories to unfold would of also shown how freddie the frog and kelly the jelly met their end,how joaney got ill and died aswel as reeny moving down to the south coast,reg trotters departure and maybe even some scenes showing a young rodney of say 7 or 8 possibly with a young mickey pearce too being taken advantage of by his older teenage brother del.marlene and uncle albert getting a mention.my,the mind boggles in what could of came in latter episodes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD]
Rock & Chips - The Complete Collection [DVD] by Dewi Humphreys (DVD - 2011)
£11.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews