Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ghibli masterpiece
Laputa is one of the earlier films from the well known and respected Studio Ghibli, written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki.

The story is about a legend of a lost floating castle in the sky - Laputa, of which nobody really believes to exist anymore taking it as an old story, and the story of two children, Pazu, trying to find Laputa to finally prove his father...
Published on 5 Oct 2006 by David Lovie

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars chinese version
I grew up watching laputa in chinese and japanese with subtitiles, and I felt that they kept more of the feel of the film than the english dubbed versions. The dubbing is not bad in this version, but the score is different to that in the original japanese version, and the actors are less plausible as sheeta and pasu. So before you buy this product, ask yourself if you...
Published on 27 Jan 2004


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ghibli masterpiece, 5 Oct 2006
By 
David Lovie (Aberdeen, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Laputa is one of the earlier films from the well known and respected Studio Ghibli, written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki.

The story is about a legend of a lost floating castle in the sky - Laputa, of which nobody really believes to exist anymore taking it as an old story, and the story of two children, Pazu, trying to find Laputa to finally prove his father did see it and earn him the respect he should have had, and Sheeta, a girl thrust unwillingly into the story through a family connection and a mystical crystal pendant she inherited.

One of the great things about this film is the fact almost everyone can watch it and get something out of it. I remember watching it as a five year old and enjoying it, and more recently discovering what the name of this film I remember watching was, and finally getting to rewatch it as a twenty year old, and enjoying watching it just as much, if not more than I did in the early ninetys, Miyazaki's incredible talent of telling the story in a completely unpatronising and enjoyable way and the setting of a place so completely different, yet familiar and nice to us watching at home.

All the animation is simple, yet very well done in the now familiar Miyazaki/anime style, all done pre computers by hand, and dosen't look dated or old in the slightest.

I cannot really comment too much on the dubs and voices, as I have only watched the film in it's origonal japanese (subtitled of course) but I do know of two different versions, the origonal english dubs (as shown on tv in the early ninetys) and a newer Disney dub, which is the version on the new dvd's.

This is definately a film I would recommend to pretty much anyone, from anyone getting into anime/Ghibli films and wanting a great film to watch, or for a parent wanting a film to watch on a sunday afternoon with the kids. Spirited Away may seem to be one of the most well known of the Studio Ghibli films, but I would say this one is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly delightful classic from SPIRITED AWAY director!, 8 Mar 2006
By 
Set in a period when miners were commonplace, this tells of a young orphan boy named Pazu, who is working in a mine with some other miners when he sees a beautiful but unconscious young girl named Sheeta float down from the sky courtesy of a mysterious crystal around her neck.
When Sheeta regains consciousness the following morning she tells Pazu of how she escaped from a group of pirates led by their mother Dola, and how they were after her crystal when she fell from an airship in which she was held captive by a man named Muska. After that, she does not recall a thing, but she catches sight of a photograph of a mysterious floating castle named Laputa (Pazu's father had taken the picture before dying, in an ultimately vain attempt to prove that such a place existed).
An excited Pazu, who learns that Sheeta wants to go to Laputa, agrees to join forces with her to help her get there and to prove to those that doubted his father's words that Laputa really exists somewhere in the clouds above. But how can they stay one step ahead of Muska and the Dola gang?
After seeing SPIRITED AWAY in 2003, I suddenly became intrigued when titles from director Hayao Miyazaki's back catalogue were being released on DVD, and, after heavy recommendation from other Miyazaki fans (mostly on IMDb), I took the plunge and ordered LAPUTA: CASTLE IN THE SKY, and I'm delighted that I did because this film is an absolute stonker! This Optimum Releasing version is the best out of the two versions that I've seen, and has proper subtitles (the other version I've seen, which was the previous Buena Vista DVD, had dub-titles instead of subtitles, which was rather annoying as there was a lot of dialogue that Disney added to their English dub, and in that version the subtitles followed that instead of being a translation of the Japanese dialogue). You can also watch an English dub (which has voices by the likes of James Van Der Beek, Anna Paquin and Mark Hamill), and this has SDH subtitles; however, due to the verbose nature of Disney's English dub and the fact that the voices of Pazu and Sheeta don't really fit (even some of the music is different), I really do recommend the Japanese soundtrack for this film.
Despite dating back to 1986, LAPUTA has lost none of its awesome visual impact and engaging story and characters, the overall charm is still there, the pace is just fine, and the music (by Joe Hisaishi) is possibly the best musical score that I've ever heard out of all the Miyazaki productions that he was worked on, and you can really appreciate that rich orchestral music oozing from those speakers! Oh, and of course there's the excellent quality of the artwork, which we have come to expect from Miyazaki and the rest of his team at Studio Ghibli (the film was also produced by Isao Takahata, who would go on to direct the masterful GRAVE OF THE FIREFLIES in 1988)
Perhaps it's a little too scary for very young children (particularly the second half), but for everyone else this addition to your DVD collection is absolutely vital. A classic of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just for a while i was a kid again......, 11 May 2007
By 
D. Francis "viapurico" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film brought back all the memories of child hood adventures, not a care in the world and every where had a charm all of its own. From messing around on the river with my friends to exploring woods and time worn old buildings, this film brought it all flooding back.

Imagination is a gift that children have in abbundance, which we sadly lose when we grow up with rationallity taking its place.

Watching this film made me long for the days when the only thing i cared about was having fun and wondering what was on the other side of the big stone wall in the park which myself and none of my friends dared to jump over and take a look.

Wonder and mystery are something that i will probably never feel again, but, for an hour and a half, whilst watching this film i felt like a kid again and for that Hayao Miyazaki i am eternally greatful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Masterpiece by the Master Miyazaki, 14 May 2004
By 
Chappers "chappers" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remembered this film when it was shown on TV in the late 1980s, I recollected small parts of it, like the lush colours, the airships, the floating island and the robot. It took literally YEARS for me to find out what film it was once I had grown up. Once the internet came to full fruition, I discovered that Laputa was the film which captured my imagination as a child. At that time, there was no indication that the film was to be released in VHS form (DVDs were a rarity!). But now all that has changed, and Miyazaki's collection has made its way onto the scene. And they couldn't have come too soon!
Laputa takes you into Miyazaki's inventive and imaginative world of steam and air, a world that seems far preferable to our own. The young heroin plays his (and her) parts again, as the re-curring theme in all of Miyazaki's creations, but in doing so, it allows his films to touch your own inner-child.
Although not quite as encompassing and thorough as some of his later work, such as Spirited Away, Laputa serves up adequate action and adventure to keep adult and infant alike amused. I leant this DVD to a colleague to show her daughter, and when she brough it back to me, she said that she really enjoyed the film herself, and her daughter thought the film was "lovely!".
So there you have it. A "lovely" film.
Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please, 29 Jan 2004
By 
P. Sanders "prhsuk" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Like many others, I caught this film on TV years ago and enjoyed it, but only remembered fragments. I'd heard a lot about it since, and after seeing "My Neighbour Totoro" and "Spirited Away" I wanted to check out more of Hayao Miyazaki's films.
This is a lovely film. There are various set-pieces, each one building up the excitement and wonder of the movie. With its mix of rural landscapes, early industrial towns and futuristic technology, this film has a unique feel. The robots in particular are wonderfully expressive, yet virtually faceless. Miyazaki animates his characters with subtle physical nuances that help them seem more real somehow.
Now, I don't remember the original English dub, but I've seen plenty of terrible English anime tracks in my time. I think this one is actually pretty good - James van der Beek in particular surprised me - I thought he brought a lot of character to Pazu, making him very likable. Yes I would like a chance to watch it in the original Japanese with proper subtitles - it is annoying that neither of the two English tracks matches the Japanese. However I do feel the English language version has the better soundtrack - especially the prison battle scene. The music in this film is gorgeous and moving.
It's about time more Miyazaki films were released on Region 2 - I haven't seen "Porco Rosso" yet. And it's criminal that "My Neighbour Totoro" - one of the best animated films I've ever seen - is still unavailable (and please, both English and Japanese with decent subtitles!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely Joyfull adventure, 30 May 2005
I first saw this film in 1990, in Japanese with no subtitles. I didn't even know what it was called but I was entranced by what I saw on the screen. I recently got a gift of this movie with english subtitles and was just as mesmerized this time around. This movie is a joy to behold, an innocent romantic adventure involving the search for a legendary city in the sky and the people who would exploit the power contained therein, and those who would protect it.
This film is filled with wonderful characters, from the miners to the sky pirates, who are rich with depth and feeling. The two leads, a miner boy whose father once glimpsed the legendary city of Laputa and the girl who descended from the rulling family of Laputa, are warm and believable, and their race to find the city before the greedy military do is an exciting tale.
This film is a masterpiece. Do not miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Languages & Verdict, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: Laputa: Castle In The Sky - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Blu-ray Zone B

Ratio of the feature film:
1.78:1

Languages of the feature film:
PCM 5.1: English (dubbing of 1998 but amended)
PCM 2.0: Japanese

Subtitle for all the videos:
English (translation of the Japanese dialogues)
The Credits are in Japanese.

DVD Zone 2

Ratio of the feature film:
1.66:1 (or close of this ratio)

Languages of the feature film:
Dolby 2.0: Japanese, English (dubbing of 1998)

Subtitles of the feature film:
- English (translation of the Japanese dialogues)
- English for Hard of Hearing (closed caption of the English dialogues)
The Credits are in English.

Verdict:
The DVD edition is the same as the one released before with 2 very different dialogues and an imperfect picture with some scratches.
As you probably know, the English soundtrack has more and different dialogues and music than the Japanese soundtrack.

On the other hand this Blu-ray is much better, the picture has been cleaned to be noise-less and scratch-less, the colours are slightly less warm than on the DVD.
Also, the picture has been reframed which mean we lose a very little bit of picture on the right and bottom side of it when we compare it to the DVD.
Overall, this restoration makes the film look more modern.
The Japanese soundtrack which is very clear is according to me the best with its 80s style of music. The English one has been amended once again. To be closer of the japanese dialogues, the added dialogues in English have been removed leaving only the "same amount" of dialogues as heard in the Japanese dubbing.

NB: The dialogues left on the Blu-ray are the same as before with the same voice -> Mark Hamill, Anna Paquins, James Van Der Beek...

The music of the English soundtrack remains untouched compare to the DVD edition and keeps its symphonic style.
In conclusion, the picture on the Blu-ray is really beautiful and detailed without having detected the use of DNR or edge enhancement making it a true pleasure to watch this film a 101th time in such wonderful conditions !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Feb 2006
This is a brilliant film from the director of Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away and Howl's Moving Castle. Since it was made in 1986 the animation isn't as sophisticated but the quality of this unsentimental yet beautiful fairy-tale revolving around two delightful young people on their quest to self discovery through the means of searching for a legendary castle in the sky is truly fantastic. It also features one of Joe Hisaishi's best scores. This is a funny, moving and intelligent film- an absolute must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laputa the airborne island is a world of adventure, 26 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The original title has been amended by Disney as it is a rude word in Spanish- a major language in Disneyland. This is a very early Studio Ghibli full screen animation with wonderfully detailed artwork and lots of character.
A great story regarding a young girl with a jewel the pirates want, her kidnap and rescue by a young boy, and some very gentle robots.
The reference to Swift's Laputa (Gulliver's Travels) was deliberate, so Disney's dropping the name of a great work of English literature is not good. Watch this wonderful movie and see how good story telling and animation can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technical review, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laputa: Castle In The Sky - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Review of the film: Masterpiece adventure, one of Miyazaki's top three. 10/10

[I personally prefer the japanese audio in all animes as american english to me isn't suited at all to asian sensibility, and this is what I review though I tested the english audio. I found Pazu's american voice to be particularly irritating and badly acted. Also note that in ten minutes soundcheck I already found some censorship, such as
"If my head were any harder, you could use it as a cannonball" for the original "My head is harder than my boss's fists". Just a side-note for die-hard fans - ignore if it's for your children, obviously]

TECHNICAL STUFF:

This offering comes up in a blu-ray type box encased in a pretty sleeve. A very beautiful face is printed onto both discs. (same face for both discs)
Specs are as follows:

Blu-Ray: HD standard, 1080p, 16x9 widescreen. Audio 5.1 LPCM English, 2.0 LPCM japanese + english subtitles (subtitles white with black outline. Big enough and visible, hi-resolution) Subtitles can be turned off from the remote, though not from the menu.

DVD: Colour PAL 16x9 anapmorphic. Audio 2.0 stereo English, Japanese + english subtitles, Japanese + hard of hearing english subtitles (yellow subs, black outline, big and ugly - typewriter style, very visible) , Region 2. Subtitles can be turned off from the remote, though not from the menu.

Blu-Ray quality: Excellent. No blocks, no noise. Beautiful job, and probably as precise as the original handdrawings were themselves.
The menu is simple and very pretty (press enter while in setup to change audio to japanese, instead of up and down buttons, can be a bit confusing)

Bonuses:

- Storyboards

- Promotional video: not a very promising title but actually contains excerpts of interviews with Miyazaki in '86 as well as a few others in the team, so worth watching. All were very young looking. Too short

- Behind the microphone: 4 minutes of "interviews" with the american cast. Mark Hamill is the only one with anything remotely useful to say and since the whole thing is 4 minutes only, you can guess how little that is ;)

- Behind the studio. 4 interviews of about 2 minutes each, 3 of them with Miyazaki. Too short and always interesting. Mentions of the Rhondda valley, Jules Verne, Swift, and even Superman!
- The world of Laputa
- Creating Castle in the Sky
- Character sketches
- Producer's perspective: Suzuki's first meeting with Miyazaki. I don't want to give it away but I found it hilarious and is a must see

- Textless opening and ending credits: Not much in itself but they are really beautiful and artistic and are really worth watching without the stream of text to detract. The opening credits remind a lot of Terry Gilliam.

- Original japanese trailers

-Studio Ghibli collection trailers

DVD quality:
The credits and menus are mediocre quality, blurry with visible interlacing artifacts and noise around the text, and I was fearing the worst but the actual film is in fact a very good quality for a DVD. There is no blocking and it's quite crisp, (for a DVD, of course). Only motion sequences feel blurry, though of course there are a lot of them. But they've made a real effort to present something decent.

The bonuses are as follows:

- textless credits (see above)
- Original trailers
- Ghibli trailers
- Alternative angle storyboards
- "history of Castle in the Sky", consisting of 2 minutes of watching drawings and final designs on a musical background.

All in all I feel this is a very good quality product, and care and love has been lavished onto it to restore and enhance the image. I recommend buying it, if only to ensure that Ghibli will carry on producing quality blu-rays by showing our support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Laputa: Castle In The Sky - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD)
£13.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews