Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Thriller
A really terrifying rural set thriller. Vincent Regan gives us a startlingly real vision of a man on the edge; someone with nothing to lose. Kierstan Wearing also gives a strong performance as a woman prepared to do anything to protect her two girls from a psychopath. Moments of real edge of your seat fear. Watch it!
Published on 1 April 2011 by Otto

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Brit thriller.
Atmospheric film set in the very rural farm. Small cast, nobody i instantly recognised, i think i've seen the lead male actor in a few things, never the less they all perform well. Not many locations in the film but it works well.

Lead male character Aden plays the psychopath/control freak very well. Fairly straight forward story, i wouldn't go as far to give...
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by Jacks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Thriller, 1 April 2011
By 
Otto "Otto" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Holding [DVD] (DVD)
A really terrifying rural set thriller. Vincent Regan gives us a startlingly real vision of a man on the edge; someone with nothing to lose. Kierstan Wearing also gives a strong performance as a woman prepared to do anything to protect her two girls from a psychopath. Moments of real edge of your seat fear. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Film you have to see!, 2 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holding [DVD] (DVD)
This is a real snip of a film with a couple of actors I have to confess to not knowing and a first-time feature Director Susan Jacobson who seems to have pressed ALL the right buttons?
Cassie Naylor(Kierston Wareing) is the single parent struggling to bring up 2 children on a farm in the rural middle Enlish countryside, a young daughter aged about 9 who's a bit of a Bible Basher and a teenage girl who knows everything about everything. Add to this the fact the farm or small-holding seems to be losing money and she has a problem neighbour Karston (Terry Stone) who wants to get hold of her land or get in her bed, whichever comes first, but she wishes neither so he is giving her an extra hard time.
A friend of her 'missing' husband arrives on the scene and appears to be a saving-grace initially but he soon turns out to be nastier than Karstan although he defends Cassie against Karstan and her youngest daughter thinks of him as an Angel. How innocent and mistaken children can be?
But far be it for me to give away the rest of this wonderful little film staring David Bradley, one of Britains busiest character actors (Harry Potter)Skye Lourie and Vincent Regan along with a good set of Special Features. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the holding, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Holding [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent thriller, plenty of tension, well crafted film from a new director. I thoroughly recommend this film to anyone who likes tense, dark and sometimes disturbing thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended. Real British feel to this intense drama, 8 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holding [DVD] (DVD)
Set in rural England - the peak district - with some great scenery the film unfolds into a fast-moving edge-of-the-seat thriller.
I found myself rooting for the central characters even though you don't get too know that much about them until later in the film.
From the box I knew that some violence was due but even then I was taken back a bit by the swift "justice" that Aden dished out
I read that this was the first feature film by the crew and I have to say that I was most impressed.
They have put together a really intense and enjoyable film which has a real edge to it.
I would highly recommend especially to those who love this genre and all you brit film fans out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Holding, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Alan P. Stokes (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holding [DVD] (DVD)
Good film for a cold dark night as long as you leave the light on and watch it with your trusted partner for security reasons and keep your mobile handy! Well produced well acted and really quite scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch it for The Peak District scenery!, 29 Sep 2011
By 
G. D. Busby "Cornish Graham" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holding [DVD] (DVD)
Well, that's a tad tongue in cheek because it's the reason I purchased the DVD...and actually it's worth it for that reason. My immediate reaction when it finished was Straw Dogs meets On The Black Hill and that Aden's demise at the very end was distinctly black humour. The 'artistic' scenes were a little bit too predictable but it's worth viewing nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little thriller, 31 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: The Holding [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the Premiere of "The Holding" at the Frightfest this month and I pre-ordered the dvd. It's a great little thriller. I'm looking forward to seeing it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting!, 17 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Holding [DVD] (DVD)
A fast-paced film which is shocking and a pretty scary without compromising the fun. Some great acting, beautiful cinematography and some truly terrifying characters, especially the leading man who plays Aden. I'd recommend it to all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the holding, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holding [DVD] (DVD)
great british film its got a good story line to it its got five stars from me well worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than its advertising, 16 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holding [DVD] (DVD)
It looks like a far-fetched schlocker from the blurb, and I bought it for pennies because I liked the cast. I probably should give it three stars really: it's a familiar story and goes completely bonkers towards the end. The extra star is for the moodily atmospheric filming, enhanced by moodily atmospheric acting from Kierston Wareing and Skye Lourie as mother and teenage daughter, and incidentally for portraying both the attractions and difficulties of running a small farm today.

Not that the latter usually includes a psychotic guest. Vincent Regan is always charismatic, but it's the women's film. Wareing in particular is fast becoming the go-to actor for roles that would have gone to the likes of Helen Mirren thirty or thirty-five years ago. Whether hero or villain, she's attractive, often ballsy, usually smart and always interesting to watch.

The plot moves along at a good pace, there are some nice twists and turns and the script is unshowy without being banal, so a shame it isn't better known.

One technical point is the volume, which needed to be turned up high for general dialogue, but a long way down for the action....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3f95aa4)

This product

The Holding [DVD]
The Holding [DVD] by Kierston Wareing (DVD - 2011)
6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews