Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An official DVD release - at long last!
A wonderful, magical film imbued with all the atmosphere typical of the period. Superb performances and story backed with peerless cinematography (that jack Cardiff would have been proud of) and atmospheric music.

During the latter part of the second world war, a group of disparate travellers end up at a remote Welsh Inn that was supposedly blown up and...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by SR

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seventy years later, more interesting than entertaining.
I have seen the glowing reviews of this film and confess to being a tad surprised. This film is a product of its times but seventy years later it has not stood the test of time well: the direction is pedestrian and the tension, for a ghost story, is pretty well non-existent. To mark it as a five star Ealing Studios film, which ranks it alongside absolute classics such...
Published 14 months ago by Stephen Reid


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oooooh you have to get this !, 7 Jun 2013
By 
K. A. Kent (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) (DVD)
Wonderful well made film thats got a great cast and what a story ! They dont make them like this anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent supernatural story, 5 Mar 2013
By 
A. T. F. Ladell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) (DVD)
I had waited a long time to see this appear on DVD and I was not disappointed. In some ways akin to the time plays of J B Priestley, this is a tale that combines the supernatural with the message of a "morality play". It deals with the big issues of life and death, good and evil, green and service to others. My father (in his 90th year) was astonished to see a firebomb coming through the ceiling - portrayed in just the way he had witnessed in WW2. I wish there were more films like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging enough, if a trifle whimsical, 9 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) (DVD)
Curious little film in which a disparate group of travellers gather at a remote inn that was actually destroyed in an air raid the year before.

It's actually more jingoistic war-time propaganda than ghost story really, and is certainly no DEAD OF NIGHT (although it shares some of that film's actors and production staff). Nevertheless it's engaging enough, if a trifle whimsical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Half Way House, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) (DVD)
A bit droll as a ghost story Can't say there were any outstanding acting parts. Watched it afew times but still not impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) (DVD)
I remember this from my childhood and it made an impression on me, that when it was released I just had to get it. Fine character acting from the Johns family and supporting cast. No special effects just relying on good acting, scenery and the good old black and white photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Halfway House...An Ealing classic., 29 Feb 2012
By 
G. K. Ellis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) (DVD)
I had not heard of this film before but I am a keen fan of Ealing films. I was looking through and came across this film & read the reviews & brought it. I am so glad I did! It was really interesting film. Yes, it is full of of old cliches & stereo-types but it's brilliant. Mervyn Johns plays his usual character & a young Glynis Johns plays his daughter with not an awfully good accent. You know from the beginning how things will probably pan out it does not detract you from what would have been a thought provoking film for the time.
I give this film 5 stars....simply for being a great British film. Buy it & enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Dec 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Mander "historian" (staffs england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) (DVD)
wonderful ghost story british film at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) (DVD)
very good film if you want to see it good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) (DVD)
A very dated but pleasant ghost story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) (DVD)
Great film which arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Halfway House [DVD] (1944)
The Halfway House [DVD] (1944) by Basil Dearden (DVD - 2011)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews