Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars survival horror
This is nothing new in horror films,five strangers wake up in a basement and realise they have to do whatever it takes to survive.I wasn't expecting great things from this but i've been pleasantly surprised the acting is fairly good and the scripts not too shabby,it's well worth a watch.The whole basement torture killer thing in horror movies is apparently largely based...
Published 20 months ago by $apphire

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You gotta be kidding me..
Five strangers wake in a dungeon not knowing why are there with only water and makeshift toilets surrounding them. They soon realise they are part of one mans experiment to see what they would do to survive without food..

Watching this film you will have to suspend all your disbelief because the ending is so utterly ridiculous and as hollywood as it gets. It's...
Published on 30 July 2011 by Will


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You gotta be kidding me.., 30 July 2011
By 
Will (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hunger [DVD] (DVD)
Five strangers wake in a dungeon not knowing why are there with only water and makeshift toilets surrounding them. They soon realise they are part of one mans experiment to see what they would do to survive without food..

Watching this film you will have to suspend all your disbelief because the ending is so utterly ridiculous and as hollywood as it gets. It's one of the most unrealistic endings I have ever seen. But not just the ending, the build up to it and what happens just ruins the whole film. As if that person would be able to do all that..

It's not much better anywhere else either. The script and acting are horrible and mediocre respectively. Two things you need more than anything in a film set in one location and here it just doesn't have either. Good to see Johnny Cage back in action though but there is very little here to work with. This might have worked alot better as a short film but not in full length feature. I strongly disagree with the previous reviewer, what character development? I didn't see any and you certainly won't feel any empathy towards any of them.

There aren't really any twists here, the script is incredibly weak and bland, the ending is ridiculous, the captors motivation is equally ridiculous and laughably simple, theres little in the way of tension or urgency and the acting isn't all that convincing (I wasn't sold on any of them being starving). Not one of the best Frightfest have showcased..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars however I thought it wasnt as good as was expected, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunger [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of Saw films then this will be right up your street....however I thought it wasnt as good as was expected. The plot was questionable. The character who designed the 'game' wasnt explained at all...his purpose or reasons and why he chose those victims??? I didnt rate the film and wouldnt recommend it. Quite predictable aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars two stars, may contain spoilers, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunger [DVD] (DVD)
I gave this film just two stars..I was completley bored with and kept falling asleep..It was gross in parts,them eating one another..Hence the title i suppose lol..I didnt understand the flashback to the car accident, anyone shed light on it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars survival horror, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunger [DVD] (DVD)
This is nothing new in horror films,five strangers wake up in a basement and realise they have to do whatever it takes to survive.I wasn't expecting great things from this but i've been pleasantly surprised the acting is fairly good and the scripts not too shabby,it's well worth a watch.The whole basement torture killer thing in horror movies is apparently largely based on Gary M.Heidnik who in the 1980's kidnapped five women & kept them in his basement at 3520 north marshall street in philidelphia.It's reported that when one of them starved to death he blended parts of her and fed her to his other captives and that a lot of the charcter of buffalo bill in The Silence of the Lambs [DVD] [1991] is based on him(I watch the crime channel way too much). 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite hungry enough, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunger [DVD] (DVD)
This is a louder than average DVD and opens with trailers for Trackman, Hurt, Heartless. Then goes to main screen offering play, scene selection and subtitle on/off in English.
The movie opens in a manner reminiscent of the cube films with five individuals, two women and three men, awakening in a very dark room and as each awakes they try to make sense of their surroundings. The darkness at the start helps to create a feeling of dread and isolation but some early scenes are shot as though using night vision adding to the tension, and then eventually the light comes on. Trying to fathom it all out they find water but no food. They soon realise they are lab rats and will have to resort to cannibalism to survive. But whose going to die first and will there be any survivors and what's the reasoning behind it all. And that's the basis of the rest of the movie.
Set almost entirely in an underground room, narrow corridor and the bottom of a 'well' like structure, it's quite claustrophobic. I found the acting to be quite good. Given the limited resources the actors do a very credible job of making what they have work. I did find it getting a little stale in the last quarter and I wasn't convinced by the ending.
Overall a good film but not a masterpiece, for me it lacked the sheer desperation that starvation brings in the early stages and the fear or paranoia of death at the hands of others in the 'room, seemed somewhat lacking, it wasn't quite there for me. Generally deserving more than a three star, but barely, being let down toward the end by ill conceived plotlines and realism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars poor sound, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunger [DVD] (DVD)
i would of enjoyed this film much more if the background music wasnt so loud,i couldnt hear what the people were saying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hunger dvd, 15 May 2013
This review is from: Hunger [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great movie, full of surprises and very suspenseful. I would recommend to all horror fans who enjoy a good gore-fest :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly disturbing little movie, 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: Hunger [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this movie in France under the name Affames. The marketing cover on the French version was more in-line with the actual film. From this cover it would appear to be another SAW ripoff. It's not. Bad marketing ploy. What this is... an above average old school horror film. That means character development favored over cheap gore. Substance over style. This was a nice surprise. Not at all expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunger, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Kevin Barry McGinn (Jersey, Channel Islands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunger [DVD] (DVD)
This Was Fantastic, Loved Every Minute Of It, It Is Very Much In The Tradition Of Films Such As Cube, Hostel, Saw etc. DON'T LET THIS ONE GO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Has The Potential To Be A Great Film., 8 Feb 2013
This review is from: Hunger [DVD] (DVD)
This looks like its gonna be a film with a twist.

So its quite a confusing start, a woman wakes up in a darkened room with another lady somewhere.

"I don't know where this is, or how I got here!"

Graham looks for a way out.

It looks like a low budget film.

The concept of strangers waking up together in a film has been explored several times before.

It has a very claustrophobic feel to it!

"Who made you leader?!"

Someone's watching their movies via video cameras, and taking notes on them.

"What kind of clock is that?!"

Its a very mysterious film.

Well he's got a ginger beard!!

So it interestingly turns out the people down there aren't married and have very few friends.

"The son of a b&^% took my tic tacs!"

"There's a pattern, we just need to figure out what it is."

So it turns out they're all murderers bar one.

"The average body cannot last more than 30 days without food!"

Maybe this went straight to DVD!

Who is this guy in charge of them all?! - The puppet master?!

Eating cockroaches! - Absolutely disgusting!!

This might turn into a good film in the last ten minutes.

It was bound to happen! - Thats what excessive hunger would do to you!!

This always happens, there's someone who gets bullied by the group in this situation.

"We are not gonna survive by attacking each other!"
- "What choice do we have?!"

I keep finding myself drifting off!

And what is the point of this experiment?!

This is not a film for people of a nervous disposition!

I'm quite curious how its going to end. I think its either going to end well, or be very flat.

"Do you know for a Doctor, you're really not that smart!"

"See Jordan, I decide who lives and who dies!"

Its a real forced regression in human behaviour.

Thats how some people cope, they isolate themselves.

"Goodbye Anna!"

It looks like her extreme stubbornness is winning through, but it will only ever be a pyrrhic victory.

Its all making sense now.

Its actually a film I would revisit, but it played out how I thought it would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hunger [DVD]
Hunger [DVD] by Steven Hentges (DVD - 2011)
9.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews