Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
23
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2004
I first saw this film in the mid 80's and was instantly blown away by how good it was. Since then i have seen it countless times.
As soon as i saw the region 1 dvd for sale i bought it straight away and wondered if it was as good as i remembered? The answer to that is a big YES!!!! Infact the region 1 version is so good its like seeing a completely new film. Firstly the picture quality is stunning (or that could be down to the fact that my vhs copy has been watched so many times its almost worn out). Secondly the film contains many scenes i have never seen before as this is the uncensored version. These scenes include Kane Kosugi using nunchaku, Braden the evil ninja killing people in more gory and violent ways, and also more close up scenes of gore including the famous shuriken/eye/fountain scene.
Ok so you can see I like this film but its by no means perfect. This is due to several corny scenes and wooden acting particularly from Keith Vitali. Sho Kosugi however turns in his greatest ever on screen performance as does a very young Kane Kosugi who makes up for his lack of dialogue by producing some amazing action scenes for someone so young.
Overall i would say if you are a fan of martial arts or action films you should own this. One word of advice is if you have a multi-region player make sure you buy the region 1 version and even if you own a UK vhs copy buy it anyway because you will not be disappointed!!!!
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
went to see this in the cinemas in 84,when ninja films were still in their infancy.it sits firmly between enter the ninja and ninja 3 the domination.made for the market that was soon to be saturated in ninja films.this has everything you could want....swords,throwing stars and even flame throwers.so far fetched,but hey,its ok.this is one of the best ninja films ever!stars a young sho kosugi who became the master of all ninja films.ok i cant comment on picture quality but i own the region 1 dvd which has a pan and scan print but which is fully un-cut.ive just checked the bbfc website and it seems that this edition is going to also be un-cut which will the first time in the u.k that this film will be shown un-censored.enter the ninja is also being released which is the film prior to this,and lets hope ninja 3 the domination isn't far behind.if you like lots of action,ninja weaponry and a bit of cheese and some bad acting,this comes highly recommended,and deserves a place on any martial arts fans dvd shelf,just a pity they don't make them like this anymore.enjoy.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
After being the bad guy in the first of this Ninja trilogy Sho Kosugi returns as a good Ninja this time round.His family are all massacred at the start of the film save for his mother and baby son.His American friend tells him to leave Japan and start a new life in America with his infant son and his mother.Sho is an amazing martial artist but is certainly a bit naieve in this film.How did his American friend survive the second wave attack that was waiting for them?As Sho himself states only a Ninja can stop a Ninja and his mate stops at least 4 at the start of the film,ok 3 with a gun,but he does disarm one and kill him with his own sword.Despite that this film is probably the best Ninja movie made prior to "Ninja Assassin"save for a few over the top scenes involving a robot arm and inflatable dummy that can grab and Sho vaulting a wall clearly off a trampoline.It has some awesome fight scenes,and has been released now with more gore and action than its original UK release in the 80s.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
After his family is killed in Japan by ninjas, Cho and his son Kane come to America to start a new life.

He opens a doll shop but is unwittingly importing heroin in the dolls.

When he finds out that his friend has betrayed him, Cho must prepare for the ultimate battle he has ever been involved in....

To the movie snob, you know those people who think they know everything about film because they own The 400 Blows, will laugh this movie out of the shop.

But while the film offers nothing new, it has a wealth of great stuff going for it, and its one of the better Ninja movies of the eighties. Ninja movies in the eighties were as common as Vampire movies today.

Its unintentionally hilarious, and its all the better for it. From a back flipping Granny, to the best thing in the film, a fight in the park with the Village People, which lasts nearly as long as the fist fight in They Live, the film is never boring.

I does have many flaws though. The bad up wears a mask whenever he is fighting, because they probably couldn't find a stunt double that looked like him, and Kosugi isn't the best actor in the world (although he has great hair).

But for all its flaws, it has really good set pieces, and stunts. The final siege is pretty remarkable stuff, and the sub plot involving the mafia and strangely, a Red Indian, is hilarious.

So all in all, its not for everyone, but if you are a fan of the eighties, and especially Cannon movies, you will lap this up.

Plus, its the best movie ever made where a chap dressed up as a cowboy is getting beat up in a park, and his false moustache keeps coming loose.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2003
Ok, I'll admit it. When I was about twelve and watched "Revenge of the Ninja", I immediately cannibalised by judo suit and dressed up as a ninja....
Now when you've finished laughing, I must say that this cult 1983 classic starring martial arts/gymnast guru Sho Kosugi really is an exciting and infuential work and, probably the pinnacle of the American ninja genre.
The basic plot casts Sho Kosugi as a pleasant but naive oriental art collector who moves with his family to America to set up an art/antique shop. Simple. No problems. Well.....
As usual, things aren't what they seem, his American business associate is using Sho and his contacts to import cocaine smuggled inside statues, no doubt he's a tad upset when he realises he's been had, hook, line, sinker, bait box and comfy stool.
This is when the pace of the film steps up a gear with some great stunts from Sho who in one chase scene is hanging on to the back of a van and takes a nasty tumble to the climax of the film, the great skyscraper roof-top duel with his American partner; this scene is probably responsible for a lot of fans claiming it to be the best Ninja film ever made.
Tastefully directed by Sam Fistenberg, with some excellent fight choreography from Sho, the film is only really let down in places by the odd wooden performance and occasional sloppy editing, other wise I would have given it 4 stars. A classic non the less.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
This film is the best Ninja film I have never watched , As a kid I love to watch Martial Arts movies Bruce Lee ,Jackie Chan and for me Sho Kosugi was the best (As I dressed up as a Ninja most days 1986 I had the tabi Boots as well) I would watch this film 2-3 times a week , So I was looking back down memory lane when I came across this little gem. I know the sound is not great or the acting but just to see Sho Kosugi again jumping of roof tops beating the bad guys ,was more than worth it !
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
[Mervyn Catley 20/02/212]
I first saw this film in the mid 80's and was instantly blown away by how good it was. Since then i have seen it countless times.
As soon as i saw the region 1 dvd for sale I bought it straight away and wondered if it was as good as i remembered?
The answer to that is a big YES!!!! Infact the region 1 version is so good its like seeing a completely new film. Firstly the picture quality is stunning (or that could be down to the fact that my vhs copy has been watched so many times its almost worn out).
Secondly the film contains many scenes i have never seen before as this is the uncensored version. These scenes include Kane Kosugi using nunchaku, Braden the evil ninja killing people in more gory and violent ways, and also more close up scenes of gore including the famous shuriken/eye/fountain scene.
Okay so you can see I like this film but its by no means perfect. This is due to several corny scenes and wooden acting particularly from Keith Vitali. Sho Kosugi however turns in his greatest ever on screen performance as does a very young Kane Kosugi who makes up for his lack of dialogue by producing some amazing action scenes for someone so young.

Overall I would say if you are a fan of martial arts or action films you should own this. One word of advice is if you have a multi-region player make sure you buy the region 1 version and even if you own a UK vhs copy buy it anyway because you will not be disappointed!!!!

In the 80s NINJA Film's is not the same like the 90s in to year 2011s.
The legendary ninja Cho Osaki [Sho Kasugi] is forced to the Japan when his whole family are brutally executed, leaving only his mother and infant son alive.
Arriving in America Cho looks to establish a new life and put his tragic past behind him, but when a string of mysterious murders point towards Cho, his nija identity is compromised and he discovers that he is being hunted by deadly enemy. Revenge of the NINJA 1983
55 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
NINJA 2 AKA REVENGE OF THE NINJA 1983

Plot - After his family is killed in Japan by ninjas, Cho and his son Kane come to America to start a new life. He opens a doll museum but is unknowingly importing heroin in the dolls. When he finds out that his friend has betrayed him, Cho must prepare for the ultimate battle.
This is a cult classic Ninja movie from the early 80's, a brilliant story that's chock full of action and great martial arts, there's plenty of bloody gore in places if you get the uncensored version, the cast is great, Sho Kosugi plays a great lead Ninja master, Ashley Ferrare is a hot female eye candy character and pretty much the rest of the whole cast is good, the soundtrack to the entire movie really stands out too with a great score to accompany the many cool fights and stunts, if your a big fan of these old Ninja movies this a must check out first as its one of the best.

The region 1 DVD version is UNCUT so is the German region B blu-ray import
these are the best 2 versions to buy if you want to see it uncensored.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
I cant believe I missed this film first time around in the 80's , it really is so unbelievably bad that its unbelievably good ! I could not stop laughing throughout this film , cheesy acting , dialogue , music and fight scenes that could only be rivalled by the classic that is No Retreat , No Surrender, it is impossible not to love this film !!!!
Classic scenes such as the somersaulting and vanishing granny to the kung fu kid who can take down grown men, or the jacuzzi of death , the fighting cowboy ( one of a group of criminals who look like something straight out of the village people) or the toilet assassination where there was no apparent need for the bad guy to change into the ninja suit to commit a murder that had no witnesses who then changes back into his normal clothes before he leaves the toilet anyway !!!!! Also why when he wears the ninja suit does he speak in such a low voice that would rival Darth Vader ?!?!?!?

Get your mates round with a load of beer and enjoy, this is absolutely BRILLIANT !
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Hired this on VHS so many times in the 80s.
Was hesitant buying the DVD in case scenes were cut but was really surprised to find lots of scenes which were not on the original uk video release.
Very pleased with this purchase.

Nick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)