Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best of the ninja trilogy
went to see this in the cinemas in 84,when ninja films were still in their infancy.it sits firmly between enter the ninja and ninja 3 the domination.made for the market that was soon to be saturated in ninja films.this has everything you could want....swords,throwing stars and even flame throwers.so far fetched,but hey,its ok.this is one of the best ninja films ever!stars...
Published on 29 April 2011 by Pablo Leone

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He was a good looking kid...
After his family is killed in Japan by ninjas, Cho and his son Kane come to America to start a new life.

He opens a doll shop but is unwittingly importing heroin in the dolls.

When he finds out that his friend has betrayed him, Cho must prepare for the ultimate battle he has ever been involved in....

To the movie snob, you know those...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best of the ninja trilogy, 29 April 2011
This review is from: Revenge Of The Ninja [DVD] (DVD)
went to see this in the cinemas in 84,when ninja films were still in their infancy.it sits firmly between enter the ninja and ninja 3 the domination.made for the market that was soon to be saturated in ninja films.this has everything you could want....swords,throwing stars and even flame throwers.so far fetched,but hey,its ok.this is one of the best ninja films ever!stars a young sho kosugi who became the master of all ninja films.ok i cant comment on picture quality but i own the region 1 dvd which has a pan and scan print but which is fully un-cut.ive just checked the bbfc website and it seems that this edition is going to also be un-cut which will the first time in the u.k that this film will be shown un-censored.enter the ninja is also being released which is the film prior to this,and lets hope ninja 3 the domination isn't far behind.if you like lots of action,ninja weaponry and a bit of cheese and some bad acting,this comes highly recommended,and deserves a place on any martial arts fans dvd shelf,just a pity they don't make them like this anymore.enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He was a good looking kid..., 14 Nov 2013
This review is from: Revenge Of The Ninja [DVD] (DVD)
After his family is killed in Japan by ninjas, Cho and his son Kane come to America to start a new life.

He opens a doll shop but is unwittingly importing heroin in the dolls.

When he finds out that his friend has betrayed him, Cho must prepare for the ultimate battle he has ever been involved in....

To the movie snob, you know those people who think they know everything about film because they own The 400 Blows, will laugh this movie out of the shop.

But while the film offers nothing new, it has a wealth of great stuff going for it, and its one of the better Ninja movies of the eighties. Ninja movies in the eighties were as common as Vampire movies today.

Its unintentionally hilarious, and its all the better for it. From a back flipping Granny, to the best thing in the film, a fight in the park with the Village People, which lasts nearly as long as the fist fight in They Live, the film is never boring.

I does have many flaws though. The bad up wears a mask whenever he is fighting, because they probably couldn't find a stunt double that looked like him, and Kosugi isn't the best actor in the world (although he has great hair).

But for all its flaws, it has really good set pieces, and stunts. The final siege is pretty remarkable stuff, and the sub plot involving the mafia and strangely, a Red Indian, is hilarious.

So all in all, its not for everyone, but if you are a fan of the eighties, and especially Cannon movies, you will lap this up.

Plus, its the best movie ever made where a chap dressed up as a cowboy is getting beat up in a park, and his false moustache keeps coming loose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My all-time favourite film, 22 Sep 2004
I first saw this film in the mid 80's and was instantly blown away by how good it was. Since then i have seen it countless times.
As soon as i saw the region 1 dvd for sale i bought it straight away and wondered if it was as good as i remembered? The answer to that is a big YES!!!! Infact the region 1 version is so good its like seeing a completely new film. Firstly the picture quality is stunning (or that could be down to the fact that my vhs copy has been watched so many times its almost worn out). Secondly the film contains many scenes i have never seen before as this is the uncensored version. These scenes include Kane Kosugi using nunchaku, Braden the evil ninja killing people in more gory and violent ways, and also more close up scenes of gore including the famous shuriken/eye/fountain scene.
Ok so you can see I like this film but its by no means perfect. This is due to several corny scenes and wooden acting particularly from Keith Vitali. Sho Kosugi however turns in his greatest ever on screen performance as does a very young Kane Kosugi who makes up for his lack of dialogue by producing some amazing action scenes for someone so young.
Overall i would say if you are a fan of martial arts or action films you should own this. One word of advice is if you have a multi-region player make sure you buy the region 1 version and even if you own a UK vhs copy buy it anyway because you will not be disappointed!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kosugi's Ninja Masterpiece, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revenge Of The Ninja [DVD] (DVD)
Revenge Of The Ninja (DVD).
Region 2.
Certificate 18.
Running time 86 minutes.
Full uncut version.

Cast.
Sho Kosugi as Cho Osaki
Keith Vitali as Dave Hatcher
Virgil Frye as Lieutenant Dire
Arthur Roberts as Braden
Mario Gallo as Chifano
Grace Oshita as Grandmother
Ashley Ferrare as Cathy
Kane Kosugi as Kane Osak

Production.
Directed by Sam Firstenberg
Produced by Yoram Globus
Menahem Golan
David Womark
Written by James Silke
Music by W. Michael Lewis
Laurin Rinder
Robert J. Walsh
Cinematography by David Gurfinkel
Edited by Michael J. Duthie,
Mark Helfrich,
Daniel Wetherbee
Distributed by Cannon Films
MGM / United Artists

Trivia.
1)The Kuji-Kiri are the Ninja's Nine Levels of Power. They are
1. Rin - Strength of mind and body.
2. Kyo - Direction of energy.
3. Toh - Harmony with the universe.
4. Sha - Healing of self and others.
5. Kai - Premonition of danger.
6. Jin - Knowing the thoughts of others.
7. Retsu - Mastery of time and space.
8. Zai - Control of the elements of nature.
9. Zen - Enlightenment.
2)Despite being the second entry in the Ninja trilogy, this film has nothing to do with neither the film that preceded it (Enter the Ninja (1981)) nor the one that followed it (Ninja III: The Domination (1984)), other than the fact that they starred Shô Kosugi (but playing a different character).
3)Kane Kosugi plays Kane Osaki, the son of Cho Osaki, who is played by Shô Kosugi. Kane actually is Sho's son. His younger brother, Shane Kosugi, appears uncredited as Cho's first son.
4)Shô Kosugi is an actual Ninpo practicioner and was also the movie's technical advisor & fight co-choreographer. Kosugi starred in numerous other 1980s ninja movies Rage Of Honour, Pray For Death & Nine Deaths Of The Ninja neither to date have had an official UK DVD release.
5)Producer Menahem Golan wanted the story for this sequel to take place in America, since its predecessor, Enter the Ninja (1981), took place in the Philippines.
6)The film was shot in 48 days.
7)The final rooftop fight scene between Shô Kosugi & the villain took two weeks to shoot, Director Sam Firstenberg in an interview said this is because there were many effects, pyrotechnics, mechanical rigging, safety considerations, elaborate camera positioning (including hanging 20 stories high outside the building), & helicopter shots.
8)First "Ninja" film directed by Sam Firstenberg for Golan-Globus' Cannon Films. Firstenberg who would go on to direct the sequel, Ninja III: The Domination (1984), as well as American Ninja (1985) & American Ninja 2: The Confrontation (1987).

What's The Story.
After his family is killed in Japan by ninjas, Ninja Master Cho & his son Kane come to America to start a new life.

Cho opens a doll shop but is unwittingly importing heroin within the dolls, When he finds out that his friend has betrayed him, Cho must put his skills as a Ninja Master to good use & prepare for the ultimate showdown.

Timelord Thoughts.
Arh 80's nostalgia, back in the day Ninja movies were all the rage, some good & some bad, however most good Ninja movies usually starred Japanese marital art sensation Sho Kosugi & this was one of the first Ninja movies I got my mum to hire from my local video shop.

This DVD edition is fully uncut at last & restores some gory scenes & reinstates the Nunchuka sequences previously cut by the BBFC in all movies until early 2000.

Revenge Of The Ninja was the first Sho Kosugi Ninja film I saw of his Ninja movies & I have to say I still have a soft spot for it.

Cannon films gave Revenge Of The Ninja a fairly decent budget for the time while future American Ninja director Sam Firstenberg does a decent job with his first directed Ninja movie & delivers some half decent action scenes & directs a not entirely awful story to boot.

The movie has fleshed out fight scenes that occur pretty regularly within the film, keeping the obligatory acting parts to a minimum, The fights are brilliantly choreographed by Sho Kosugi himeslf & while they don't have the speed and flair of Hong Kong action films they stand up as strong kick ass action scenes that are entertaining to watch.

The film greatly benefits from a really great bad guy, Arthur Roberts is pretty good as the evil scary Braden-Ninja who disposes of his enemies in a number of imaginative, gruesome & highly enjoyable ways.

There are inclusions of some traditional ninja weapons included in the film although while a flame thrower is hardly traditional it is cleverly executed & get the job done.

Probably the most striking aspect of the film is that it's particularly gory & violent with full views of shurikens embedded in heads & eyes & arms being sliced off it may seem tame in comparison with violent movies today but at the time was quite shocking to see.

Overall, Revenge Of The Ninja is a typical 80's action B' movie & a great film for ninja fans ideal for a Friday night beer & pizza movie to watch with the lads.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So bad its PURE GENIUS, 15 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Revenge Of The Ninja [DVD] (DVD)
I cant believe I missed this film first time around in the 80's , it really is so unbelievably bad that its unbelievably good ! I could not stop laughing throughout this film , cheesy acting , dialogue , music and fight scenes that could only be rivalled by the classic that is No Retreat , No Surrender, it is impossible not to love this film !!!!
Classic scenes such as the somersaulting and vanishing granny to the kung fu kid who can take down grown men, or the jacuzzi of death , the fighting cowboy ( one of a group of criminals who look like something straight out of the village people) or the toilet assassination where there was no apparent need for the bad guy to change into the ninja suit to commit a murder that had no witnesses who then changes back into his normal clothes before he leaves the toilet anyway !!!!! Also why when he wears the ninja suit does he speak in such a low voice that would rival Darth Vader ?!?!?!?

Get your mates round with a load of beer and enjoy, this is absolutely BRILLIANT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sho Kosugi's best film, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revenge Of The Ninja [DVD] (DVD)
After being the bad guy in the first of this Ninja trilogy Sho Kosugi returns as a good Ninja this time round.His family are all massacred at the start of the film save for his mother and baby son.His American friend tells him to leave Japan and start a new life in America with his infant son and his mother.Sho is an amazing martial artist but is certainly a bit naieve in this film.How did his American friend survive the second wave attack that was waiting for them?As Sho himself states only a Ninja can stop a Ninja and his mate stops at least 4 at the start of the film,ok 3 with a gun,but he does disarm one and kill him with his own sword.Despite that this film is probably the best Ninja movie made prior to "Ninja Assassin"save for a few over the top scenes involving a robot arm and inflatable dummy that can grab and Sho vaulting a wall clearly off a trampoline.It has some awesome fight scenes,and has been released now with more gore and action than its original UK release in the 80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sho kosugi is the master., 12 Sep 2013
By 
Frank William Rhinds "ryukyu kenpo74" (nottingham .uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is the best Ninja film I have never watched , As a kid I love to watch Martial Arts movies Bruce Lee ,Jackie Chan and for me Sho Kosugi was the best (As I dressed up as a Ninja most days 1986 I had the tabi Boots as well) I would watch this film 2-3 times a week , So I was looking back down memory lane when I came across this little gem. I know the sound is not great or the acting but just to see Sho Kosugi again jumping of roof tops beating the bad guys ,was more than worth it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge Of The Ninja: The Lost Classic, 22 Jun 2003
By 
D A Minaker (Kidderminster, Worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Ok, I'll admit it. When I was about twelve and watched "Revenge of the Ninja", I immediately cannibalised by judo suit and dressed up as a ninja....
Now when you've finished laughing, I must say that this cult 1983 classic starring martial arts/gymnast guru Sho Kosugi really is an exciting and infuential work and, probably the pinnacle of the American ninja genre.
The basic plot casts Sho Kosugi as a pleasant but naive oriental art collector who moves with his family to America to set up an art/antique shop. Simple. No problems. Well.....
As usual, things aren't what they seem, his American business associate is using Sho and his contacts to import cocaine smuggled inside statues, no doubt he's a tad upset when he realises he's been had, hook, line, sinker, bait box and comfy stool.
This is when the pace of the film steps up a gear with some great stunts from Sho who in one chase scene is hanging on to the back of a van and takes a nasty tumble to the climax of the film, the great skyscraper roof-top duel with his American partner; this scene is probably responsible for a lot of fans claiming it to be the best Ninja film ever made.
Tastefully directed by Sam Fistenberg, with some excellent fight choreography from Sho, the film is only really let down in places by the odd wooden performance and occasional sloppy editing, other wise I would have given it 4 stars. A classic non the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars childhood memories, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revenge Of The Ninja [DVD] (DVD)
seen this wen i was little been looking for it for ages
so glad i found it , thanks amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars is it really uncut?, 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i first saw this film back in the mid 80s and its always stuck in my mind and a few years ago i picked it up on video (guild) at a car boot, watched it a noticed it was cut to hell so i bought this region 1 dvd hoping to see the complete uncut version... yes there are a number of scenes ive not seen before but is it totally uncut? i cant recall seeing the death of the gang boss who is holed up in his office with 2 or 3 body guards, he gets a spike in his hand and then it goes to another scene.... anyone who has any comments or info on this id like to hear but other than that i think this is one of the better 80s martial arts films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revenge Of The Ninja [DVD]
Revenge Of The Ninja [DVD] by Sam Firstenberg (DVD - 2011)
£9.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews