Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2013
Very pleased that this has been distributed on Region 2. Of course its a must for any fan of M.G.M musicals and the music of Rodgers and Hart. Mickey Rooney's version of "Manhattan" is second only to Ella Fitzgerald. The biographical aspect is. of course, tamed down for the Forties audiences, and the weak plot development is almost ludicrous. However, the musical numbers and guest cameos are worth the effort: June Allyson's "Thou Swell"; Perry Como; Mel Torme. Best of all, and eclipsing all of them is Judy Garland on her own and in duet with Rooney. I have waitededcades to catch up with this ,so big thanks to distributor.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2008
As I said above, the sole purpose of this wonderful picture is a chance for Metro Goldwyn Mayer to showcase it's biggest stars in the year of 1948.

And with a line up including Judy Garland, Perry Como, Gene Kelly, Lena Horne and Mickey Rooney as well as others, you can bet there's a lot of talent to go around.

A biopic of the songwriting team Rogers + Hart who were behind such shows as 'Babes in Arms' gives every star a chance to show off their own unique talent, whether it's dancing, singing, acting or comedy.

A truly historic collection of Hollywood's finest, it's worth every penny!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
BEEN TRYING TO GET THIS FOR AGES AND ITS A PITY THEY DO NOT MAKE THEM LIKE THIS ANY MORE
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2010
Very good musical movie with so many good songs, and the story too was enjoyable. I am pleased I bought this DVD.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Biopic very loosely based on the career of the songwriting team Rodgers and Hart. Of course, what we watch it for today are the musical numbers performed by some of MGMs most talented stars giving full value to Rodgers's melodies and some of the wittiest lyrics ever written by wordsmith Lorenz Hart. Highlights for me? Perry Como and an uncredited Allyn McLerie performing Mountain Greenery, June Allyson, never better, with a delightful rendition of Thou Swell in company with the Blackburn Twins and the incredible Slaughter on Tenth Avenue with a very sexy routine by Gene Kelly and Vera-Ellen. My copy of the Dvd was also enhanced by an excellent commentary, a 20 minute documentary with Rodgers's daughter shedding light on the partnership and the film, various film and audio outtakes and a couple of unrelated short films from the period. About 6 hours viewing time in all if you include watching the film twice, once with commentary.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Slaughter on Tenth Avenue is a standout, but there are many added treasures such as Mountain Greenery and Thou Swell to be found. The bonus on this disc is the commentated version which you should view after seeing the fil itself all through. This points up the anachronisms which Hollywood perpetrated in trying to tell the story of the Rodgers and Hart partnership. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
It is the fictional story of Rodgers and Hart. Actually Rodgers and Hart music was the letter. The good thing about this film are the musical numbers and dance. The dance numbers were choreographed by Robert Alton who in my opinion was the best. It shows great care in production, rather than the film on life of Kern. But the story is not true and the characters are made almost a caricature. It is a musical, not forget. No spanish subtitles.

Es la historia ficticia de Rodgers y Hart. En realidad Rodgers hacía la música y Hart la letra. Lo bueno de esta película son los números musicales y los de baile. Los números de bailes fueron coreografiados por Robert Alton que a mi parecer era el mejor. Se nota gran esmero en la producción, bastante superior a la película sobre vida de Kern. Pero la historia no es cierta y los personajes son hechos casi una caricatura. Es un musical, no olvidemos. No tiene subtítulos en español.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
This is a glossy compilation of the songs of Rodgers and Hart featuring many of the musical stars that MGM had. So as an opportunity to see Judy Garland, Lena Horne, June Allison and Slaughter on Tenth avenue, with Gene Kelly & Vera Ellen this is worth it's money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
I am old enough to remember the original cinema release, now I have my very own copy....and I love it. It is (for me) one of the few movies that one can watch over and over again....Rick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
The quality of this DVD is excellent. Takes me back to the 40/50s when the cinema musicals always had a show within a show when stars of the day had cameos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)