Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Klaus Tennstedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings (Audio CD)
Having a vast Mahler collection already with at least 5 full symphony cycles plus numerous individual recordings I didn't really need one more, but apart from Symphony No. 4 I had never heard Tennstedt in Mahler, so I was curious and obtained this set at the absolute bargain price that it is sold for now. Every symphony on this set is a special event! They really come alive, it's impossible to describe in words, but they really "lift off" with Tennstedt. I have heard so many new details with these recordings, he is a master of clearly distinguishing between which instrument has the leading voice and which doesn't, so it's not all played in forte or mezzoforte as with so many conductors, but there are so many fine nuances in this finely woven carpet of sounds. The tempi are excellent, allowing the rich orchestration to really shine when needed but also playing down those passages which have little musical material. Symphonies 5, 6 & 7 are especially beautiful. In No. 5 the Adagietto - surely an over-played piece - finally comes alive like I have never heard it before! It's slow, but so wonderfully phrased, it becomes the centre of gravity for the whole symphony. The finale is swift and light, not the heavy and loud beast that it's usually played as. And rightly so, the content is lighter and his way of playing perfectly fits to the slow Adagietto. So, finally Mahler is played in a truly symphonic way, the music develops, there is a true construction of the musical material, one phrase building on another.

This one is a no-brainer, get it for a very special experience! I'd probably go as far as saying that if you ever wanted one cycle only, this would be it. (Well, apart maybe from adding Symphony No. 9 with Bernstein and the Berlin Philharmonic, which is a class of its own.) This is far better than the already excellent Rattle/Birmingham cycle or Rattle's latest instalments with the Berlin Philharmonic. They are worlds apart and I'd give Tennstedt my preference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Mahler cycles available, 17 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klaus Tennstedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings (Audio CD)
Tennstedt's EMI Mahler recordings are very well respected. Obviously, all Mahlerites have their own favourites and none of these discs would be my first choice in any of the symphonies. However, this is no slight to Tennstedt when one considers the wealth of great Mahler recordings available to us these days. You will find plenty of good reviews for these recordings both from critics and the listening public so there's no real need to add detail in this review.

If you are looking for a fine introduction to Mahler then this set should fit the bill nicely. The performances in my opinion are never less than very good as is the recorded sound. If you are looking to add this cycle to your current Mahler collection then be quick before it's deleted. Given that it also contains Tennstedt's live recordings of No. 5,6 & 7 it is bound to prove popular with Mahler collectors. As is the norm these days, the discs come in a space saving cardboard clam shell box so that you have more shelf-space for adding to your Mahler collection. It is a highly recommended package, so make some space in your collection beside the Chailly, Solti, Rattle and Bernstein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to a great Mahlerian, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Ralph Moore "Ralph operaphile" (Bishop's Stortford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Klaus Tennstedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings (Audio CD)
To say that I have listened to every note of this 16 CD set before reviewing it would not be true, but I have certainly already spent many hours in its company and feel able to deliver at least a preliminary account of its many virtues and possible drawbacks.

Tennstedt's Mahler is of the old school; no "Mahler lite" here. The word which repeatedly came into my head while listening was "majestic". His tempi are indeed often slow but by no means necessarily the slowest in comparison with other successful versions and his sense of the music's architecture invariably means that he eschews any tendency to drag. The quality most associated with his interpretation is massiveness, a sense of great blocks of sound being manipulated into position to form a mighty edifice.

This studio cycle was recorded over a period of nine years from 1977 to 1986 and I would say right away that the sound is remarkably good. At first sight, EMI's decision to remaster only some symphonies is puzzling but in fact is quite straightforward: only those symphonies recorded in analogue between 1977 and 1981 have been deemed in need of remastering, which was done between 2000 and 2002 - with the exception of no. 2, which was recorded in very early digital in 1981 and thus presumably too glassy or in some way unsatisfactory owing to inexperience with the technology. Otherwise, the remaining nos. 4, 6, 7, 8 and "Das Lied von der Erde" and the three live recordings of no. 5, from 1988, no. 6, from 1991 and no. 7,from 1993, were all recorded in digital sound and EMI have presumably deemed it unnecessary to remaster them.

I appreciate that Tennstedt devotees will tell you that to hear him at his best it is necessary to go to live recordings such as his phenomenal 1989 recording with the same orchestra on their own label or performances on the BBC Legends label, but this set still represents an extraordinary conductor in some of his finest work playing his favourite composer. Furthermore, you still get the chance to make some interesting comparisons between studio and live performances as this latest issue includes three live performances of Symphonies 5, 6 and 7. I am not entirely convinced that these live recordings are always immeasurably superior to the studio versions; there is, for example, very little difference between the two accounts of no. 5, although on balance I actually preferred the studio version. While the Trauermarsch is weightily imposing in both, the playing of the second movement a little scrappier in the live account, intonation is occasionally suspect and the overall mood is too hectic for my taste. The Adagietto has a richer, more powerful, sobbing intensity in the studio but I do, however, love the way Tennstedt engineers its ending on a barely perceptible thread of sound in the live performance; both versions are superb. In general, the live performances are slower and have an intense, mesmeric quality not always evident in the occasionally less inspired studio versions of the Sixth and Seventh; at the same time it is possible to criticise Tennstedt's preference for drawn-out tempi as unnecessarily indulgent.

Tennstedt called the London Philharmonic Orchestra "the best orchestra for Mahler in the world" and when listening to certain passages, such as those featuring the flutes and oboes in the "Abschied" from "Das Lied", I can only concur; there is a great deal of wonderful solo artistry, especially from the woodwind and horns, and invariably a gorgeous sheen on the sound of the orchestra as a whole. The best performances here are, I think, the Third and the Eighth, but the set as a whole represents an extraordinary bargain and an indispensable survey of Tennstedt's special gifts in Mahler, suitable either for the seasoned collector or the novice wanting to be introduced to the glories of Mahler's symphonic world.

The surprise for me in this box set was "Das Lied von der Erde"; I had not previously heard it and rather assumed it to be inferior to the established classic versions, but this is not the case. Klaus König has been judged by some to be the weakness in the set but I find him to be in very good voice: heroic if slightly throaty of tone but with plenty of heft and ringing top notes. Any slight strain is hardly inappropriate in such demanding music. Agnes Baltsa's smoky, vibrant mezzo is not really inward and other-worldly enough in comparison to the poise of Janet Baker or Christa Ludwig who have more nobility of timbre than Baltsa's more earthy sound but her more overt melancholy works in the longest "Abschied" on record, she floats some beautiful top G's and her repeated "ewig" as she fades away is hypnotic. Tennstedt's phrase-shaping is immaculate; his ability to sustain the requisite tension is enormously helped by the lustrous playing of the LPO, whose shimmering strings allow him to bridge the long, drawn-out lines.

Given Tennstedt's penchant for grandeur, the opening of the First Symphony is a model of delicacy and restraint: over a gentle ppp the horns intone their motto suggestive of "faery lands forlorn", then the trumpet fanfare injects a note of urgency, the orchestra building to the most stirring climax possible. As throughout this cycle, the brass and horns are marvellous, often whooping with Straussian verve. The only disappointment here comes with the rather diffident manner the trumpets adopt for the passage at 10'38". Time and again one is struck by Tennstedt's sense of pace and timing, his artful use of rubato, his ability to recapture the momentum having once relaxed. With Tennstedt, one must always take the long view, but occasionally - and most damagingly, perhaps, in the Ninth - a lack of emphasis and punch such as Bernstein or Solti can bring to crucial moments is apparent in Tennstedt's "slow burn" demeanour.

The "Resurrection" is the longest of many a recording, making Klemperer look positively brusque, but Doris Soffel copes admirably with the etiolated tempi, sustaining a rich, steady line and Tennstedt justifies his choice of beat, securing terrifying energy and commitment form the London Philharmonic Choir and steering the work home to an ending of overwhelming opulence and majesty. A great recording, not perhaps, as all-embracing as his live LPO version but nonetheless a success within the context of the recorded cycle.

The Third, as I have already said, is one of the best of all and also in the best sound. I still think that Levine is the most satisfying of all in the way he combines brooding mystery with dark purpose but both he and Tennstedt capture the ironic, faux-naif deliberateness the opening movement demands. Movement by movement, I find that his rivals sometimes surpass Tennstedt: in the second, both Kubelik and Levine manage to bring more charm to the tripping bucolic dance and in the third alto Ortrun Wenkel is very ordinary alongside Horne and Podles, but then nor do Bernstein (Martha Lipton) or Kubelik (Marjorie Thomas) have the best singers and they are still front-runners in this symphony. Tennstedt is just a tad too voluptuous compared with Bernstein, Wit and Kubelik in the "Sehr langsam. Misterioso" fourth movement, his boy trebles leaning into the "Bim-bams" rather coyly - the direction is "keck", not winsome - but this performance is greater than the sum of its parts and I find it the most successful after the Eighth. Both Bernstein and Levine take considerably longer than Tennstedt over the sixth movement and have been accused of taking an overblown approach, and although it is difficult to see how it is possible to overdo the intensity of such music, Tennstedt's somewhat more restrained and refined interpretation also eschews to some degree the unwelcome sentimental association of the melody with "I'll be seeing you again" uneasily melded with strains of "Also sprach Zarathustra".

The Fourth Symphony here is a gloriously open, lyrical, warm-hearted performance. Tennstedt's tempi can be daringly extreme but they work; this is a tender, poised account which succeeds in transporting us heavenward. Soprano soloist Lucia Popp is perfect; her honest, direct singing is all Viennese charm without a hint of Schmaltz.

I have already indicated that the Fifth is a great success. It created a stir on its appearance and remains a tour de force both of orchestral playing and interpretative cohesiveness; the central Scherzo, in particular, is striking in the virtuosity of the LPO horns and brass and the passion of Tennstedt's direction. The Sixth is a dense, doom-laden trudge, the slowest recording of all, yet Tennstedt's wonderful control of dynamics and sense of overall shape weaves a magical spell, preferable to Yoel Levi's almost panic-stricken haste, Szell's steely, frenetic urgency or Levine's crisp, clipped drive. It is in fact closest in mood to Bernstein's weighty grandeur and those two remain my two favourite versions. The live recording is even slower, but still hangs together. Similarly, both performances of the Seventh look leisurely on paper but are immensely compelling.

In the monumental Eighth, Tennstedt inspires his forces - somewhat smaller than normal but certainly not lacking in power or gravitas - to produce one of the finest recordings of this great but unwieldy and uneven work.

I have read criticisms elsewhere of some supposed inadequacy in the soloists and a slackening of tension in Part 2. I certainly hear nothing of the kind: the singers are wonderful, especially Edith Wiens as Una Poenitentium, and the climax to the whole piece is breath-takingly majestic. The sound is very fine and the reduction in choir members is all to the good as it allows Tennstedt to achieve greater clarity but without loss of weight. His tempi are finally judged, if occasionally idiosyncratic - but he does everything for good reason and clearly has a broad, over-arching vision of how the music should go, such that he manages to bridge some of the bare patches and potential longueurs when Mahler's inspiration flags somewhat. I found both the London Philharmonic Choir and the Tiffin School Boys to be thrilling, with intonation secure even in the upper reaches of the voices.

I agree with previous commentators that the Ninth is perhaps the least successful symphony here. It is a big, grand, gloomy account which lacks Bernstein's élan and often simply goes slack. Rhythms lose the pulse and despite some glorious playing and impressive moments, the conception is too diffuse and the momentum stalls.

The Adagio from the Tenth brings compensation for that disappointment; the sound is superb and Tennstedt has recovered the spontaneity missing in the Ninth; the intensity of the psychomachia depicted here is riveting, such that one gives nary a thought to the exceptionally long duration of the movement that Tennstedt demands.

This super-bargain box set is a wonderful testament to the devotion to Mahler of a conductor who came late to the composer but brought to his music the mature fruits of his own mental and bodily suffering. It is not flawless but evinces an integrity and honesty of response, in harmony with a technical proficiency, which secure Tennstedt's place amongst the greatest interpreters of Mahler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mahler reborn, 20 April 2012
By 
M. Bernardes "moravec" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klaus Tennstedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings (Audio CD)
I "met" Mahler 52 years ago. I was 18 when I discovered an LP (mono) with the 1st Mahler's symphony by Bruno Walter in a second hand shop that exists no more. My love for music was a blessing I realized when I was 10 years old and found myself lying by my father's big radio with my ear pressed against the loudspeaker enthralled by something I later discovered to be Brahms 4th.
The listening of Titan was like an emotional bomb bursting in my mind! Later I managed to get hold of a recording of the 4th, also second hand. I still have both LPs among several thousands of LPs and CDs!
Practically no one I knew had heard about Mahler, those times. I managed to obtain recordings of all the other symphonies and song cycles, step by step, with the help of friends that went abroad. Most of the readings were by Leonard Bernstein which I believe was one of the first conductors to record Mahler works and I got used to his "sound".
Time went by, I moved on, and got a little "bored" with Mahler. The emotional surprise had come and gone and I knew all the smallest detail of his scores. Along the years I eventually bought, here and there, other recordings by other conductors of Mahler's symphonies but none added much to Bernstein's (except for
a superb rendition of the 2nd by Solti, in Decca).
A few weeks ago I finished reading a book named "Why Mahler" by Norman Lebrecht in which he mentions favourably the recordings of Tennstedt. Actually I did'nt know Tennstedt ever recorded Mahler. A few days later I found out that Amazon had in stock this box set and ordered one. Speak of coincidences.
Well, Tennstedt beats Bernstein and most of the others hands down! The orchestral balance is nearly perfect, he keeps a somewhat slow tempo, almost Brahmsian, let us hear all the instruments all the time and all the notes at the "right" time and with the right emphasis. It's like lifting a veil out of the music so we can "see" it in all its glory and all its colours. The sound of the LSO is superb and the recordings are near perfection. What more can one say.
I have just finished hearing the last movement of the 6th. The sheer power of it! Even without "paukenblock" I'm still sweaty and goose bumped!
Thank you Mr Lebrecht for drawing my attention to Tennstedt. Thank you Amazon for letting me have this masterpiece. It's Mahler reborn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why buy this set?, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Andrew C. Mitchell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klaus Tennstedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings (Audio CD)
This is a very fine set of recordings. Klaus Tennstedt is one of the great Mahler interpreters. The London Philharmonic respond well to his conducting. There is a great deal of beautiful singing from the vocal soloists. Where solos are required they are very fine. There is great ecstatic playing from the brass section.There is some lovely work from the woodwind section. The percussion comes with magnificent sound quality as required. Some of the symphonies (3 and 8) are possibly the finest performances available. None of the movements of any of the symphonies is any less than good. In addition in this box there are a studio performance and a live performance of symphonies 5, 6 and 7, enabling instant comparisons to be made. This is fascinating. Also, I particularly enjoy the singing of the London Philharmonic Choir and the Tiffin School Boy's Choir and also Southend Boy's Chorus. These symphonies are a deeply spiritual experience - there is the brightness of light and tragic darkness experienced with deep emotional intensity. Klaus Tennstedt brings out, from the musicians, music that can be gentle and then terrifying. All the world is here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Set, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klaus Tennstedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings (Audio CD)
I bought this set mainly for 6&7 the works I used to have on lp. It was cheaper to get the complete set than the 3 or 4 symphonies I wanted! No.1 is a performance I hadn't heard before - but its very well played and can stand up to the competition. As can those of no.2 and 3 also never heard before. No.4 is excellent as I already knew, No.5 as well with lovely adagio. Nos 6&7 are my favourite Mahler and these performances are second to none. No.9 is also very good. I don't like Das Lied von der Erde and 'symphony 8' even less - its not a symphony at all just a lot of hideous noise! In addition their is the adagio from No.10 which is lovely and live recordings of 5,6 & 7 which gain in ambience but you lose a little in performance overall. All in all a superb set if you want a lot of Mahler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Klaus Tennsdtedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klaus Tennstedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings (Audio CD)
These recordings are an illumination. I also have the 10 symphonies conducted by Haitink and am delighted with the contrast. I love the authenticity Tennstedt brings to Mahler, even if it is some times Mahler's and some times Tennstedt's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase., 12 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klaus Tennstedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings (Audio CD)
Pucker box and more CDs worth than I expected by far. I am still ploughing through these albums making various comparisons between the live and studio sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Klaus Tennstedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings
Klaus Tennstedt: The Complete Mahler Recordings by Klaus Tennstedt (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews