Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Heyer
I love Georgette Heyer's books, both for their witty humour and their believable, well thought out characters. The Talisman Ring has to be one of the best and certainly one of the funniest. The story is of a young man in search of the ring of the title, which he can use to clear his name and claim back his inheritance from his evil cousin Basil. In this he is aided by his...
Published on 11 April 2005 by Catherine Looser

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me though many will love it
I like to read a bit of Heyer's stuff as escapism. I respect the accuracy of the historical research too, and the way that though she was in real life unromantic and laughed at her fan mail, she made a great job of creating the 'Regency Romance'.

I first read this in my teens and I didn't like it as much as her other books, though it's funny enough,as I...
Published 10 months ago by ZannyZ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely enjoyable, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
In my opinion the best of Miss Hayer's exploits. elegant, witty, extremely funny. i couldn't stop laughing. Intriguing plot, the characters are delicious, dialogues irrepresibly comical. magnificent historica setting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Georgette Heyer at her best-romance and intrigue, 1 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
The first Georgette Heyer I read (a second hand copy),a few years ago now. I am ordering a new copy to enjoy it again. I think that this time I will identify with the more mature couple who fall in love against their wish, rather than the young romantics for whom passion is all. Still, the young hero is rather dashing and proving his innocence is all part of the fun. The final unmasking of the villain adds to the delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Escapism, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Kindle Edition)
Fun to read if not exactly one of her best. This novel contains the seeds of Heyer's later books, including murder, smuggling, arranged marriage and love for those who thought themselves "too old".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
Another great book by Georgette Heyer. Two heroic figures: Luovic, handsome, wild but lovable, and Tristram, good-looking and dependable. Great story. Not Regency but just before and set in Sussex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Talisman Ring., 3 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
have read this book so many times! This is a replacement for a very tatty copy, but it will no doubt become well worn itself as it is one of my favourite Georgette Heyers. a really good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great historical romance!, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Kindle Edition)
I've read this many times but this was the first on my kindle. Really enjoyed it as I love being able to search and highlight things. Love Georgette Heyer books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FAST PACEY READ, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Paperback)
This book went along at a fast pace and kept my attention to the last page. Having read quite a few of her other historical books this one did not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written in georgette usual style. Crying with laughter at times. Excellent, thoroughly enjoyedbri it, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly written in georgette,s. Usual style. Crying with laughter at times. Excellent, thoroughly enjoyed it. Hilarious. One of her best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All Georgette Heyer fans, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Kindle Edition)
I will say as I do about all the romances by Georgette Heyer if you are a fan, you are a fan, and I need add nothing to
previous reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfying historical murder mystery and romance all in one, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
Renee Bertrand "rebel yell" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Talisman Ring (Kindle Edition)
Delightful read. Characters well developed and consistent throughout. Enough twists in the plot to keep you guessing. Very hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Talisman Ring
The Talisman Ring by Georgette Heyer
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews