Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool! Brilliant! Finally a very different jazz singer!
The American (of Italian descent) vocalist Gretchen Parlato presents an ambitious follow-up to 2009's In a Dream with "The Lost and Found", a smorgasbord of vocal jazz styling over a diverse set of tracks.
Along with associate producer Robert Glasper, Parlato reaches far and wide with the aid of a first rate band.
The pianist Taylor Eigsti, bassist Derrick Hodge...
Published on 14 April 2011 by bluenote

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright
There are some nice tunes, but the whole album is a bit poppy for my taste. But then again I bought this from a link in Ezperanzas Spaulding page. So I assumed it would be the same level of sophistication.
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by Bollen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool! Brilliant! Finally a very different jazz singer!, 14 April 2011
This review is from: The Lost and Found (Audio CD)
The American (of Italian descent) vocalist Gretchen Parlato presents an ambitious follow-up to 2009's In a Dream with "The Lost and Found", a smorgasbord of vocal jazz styling over a diverse set of tracks.
Along with associate producer Robert Glasper, Parlato reaches far and wide with the aid of a first rate band.
The pianist Taylor Eigsti, bassist Derrick Hodge and drummer Kendrick Scott create ultra-hip grooves while maintaining a sensitive rapport with Parlato's soft-spoken approach.
The bassist Alan Hampton (who does a convincing turn on acoustic guitar and background vocals on "Still") and saxophonist Dayna Stephens add to the disc's a contemporary flair.
along with pop covers such as Simply Red's "Holding Back the Years" and Mary J. Blige's "All That I Can Say".
The fifteen track disc includes a handful of impressive Parlato' originals, most notably the sensual R&B flavored "Better Than", with light-as-air phrasing and hypnotic syncopated rim shots from Kendrick Scott.
A fondness for Brazilian music is heard on a cover of Paulinho's "Alo Alo", with a dance-like vocal line over multiple percussion parts, all performed by Parlato.
Wayne Shorter's classic jazz waltz "Juju" stands out strong with Parlato's original lyrics and Stephens' soaring tenor sax.
An in demand artist, having recorded with the likes of Terence Blanchard and Esperanza Spalding, Gretchen Parlato is on her way to becoming a mainstay in the field of jazz vocalists.
"The Lost and Found" is sure to add to her growing allure. J. V. Barron
The album debuts at # 5 of the Billboard Top Jazz Album. Issue date: April 23, 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense burning on a slow fuse, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost and Found (Audio CD)
Having missed Gtetchen Parlato's performance at this year's Vienne Jazz festival due to getting drenched in a torrential storm, I was curious to see what this record was like given all the fuss that it has received in the jazz media. Upon the first listen, it seemed to be a curious mix of music which is bound to divide opinion as to what is or isn't jazz. Much of the material is under-pinned by a drummer who is heavily indebted to the kind of approach you get in the more knowing contemporary pop but tracks like Wayne Shorter's "Juju" conjure up an impression of what the saxophone legend's curent quartet may sound like with a jazz singer. Ambrose Akinmusire's "Henya" receives a similar treatment (a third outing for this tune this year alone!) whilst the perenial "Blue in Green" is played with the kind of gusto and inventive arrangement that transforms it almost beyond recognition.

Granted that there are elements on this record which shows a tipping of the hat towards a pop audience but the use of Taylor Eigsti's piano and fender rhodes squarely plants the band within the jazz field. Voice wise, I was very much put in mind of Astrid Gilberto albeit Parlato clearly enjoys taking the music into a far more challenging directions. Somehow the disc's more "pop" tracks do not sit at odds with the out-and-out jazz ones since the singer is clearly using her voice as a musical instrument. She is also not affraid to improvise. Despite a relatively limited range and pretty small voice, there is an intensity within many of these tracks which generates the requisite level of excitement which could see this record doesn't slip into the more "chilled" type of record of the sort that was hugely popular about 10 years ago. This is a record that requires complete attention.

Although I very much enjoyed the record on first listen, it is definately a disc which offers up it's rewards with repeated listening. There is something very savvy, confident and hip about this record that is fully understanding of the state of jazz is in 2011 whilst sticking a cheeky couple of fingers up at some of the more purist approachs to jazz. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must for smooth jazz lovers., 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost and Found (Audio CD)
This Ones a Keeper. Wonderful Vocal delivery. Has a very distinctive style.
This collaberation with Robert Glasper is probably her finest work to date.
This is a must for smooth jazz lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than...I expected, 26 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost and Found (Audio CD)
I often take a chance in buying a CD from an artist I have not previously heard based on recommendations here on Amazon. For the most part I'm happy with the results but I'm really pleased to have bought this one.
It really is an album of brilliantly arranged and performed tracks that for me falls firmly in the jazz camp (the 'pop' tracks are far more influenced by Samba and Salsa music with some funk thrown in). What I really love is that the recording has a 'live' feel, rich with the clarity of the drumkit, bass and piano sounds underpinning Gretchen's dreamy vocals without a heavily produced sound. Better Than is one of the best songs I've heard in a long time.
Well worth adding to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Jazz and funky undertones, 15 Dec 2011
By 
B. Waruna Gomis (Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost and Found (Audio CD)
Gretchen's voice is very soothing, lite and not pretentious.
If you like voices of Eliane Elias, Patricia Barber, Cassandra Wilson, you will definitely like her voice.
Its not in the same vocalizing but will definitely compliment the collection.

What sold the Cd is her first song " Holding back the years" performed in the past by Simply Red.
The nice thing is that the cover image of Gretchen and voice does not indicate the perplex and well synchronized music in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love the voice, 24 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Lost and Found (Audio CD)
This is pure jazz. Love the voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting arrangements and good voice, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. D. J. Cowley "Conqueror7" (Hastings, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost and Found (Audio CD)
This is the first time I have heard Gretchen Parlato and I am mildly impressed. She is easy to listen to and the arrangements are innovative, if somewhat distracting. In some parts of the album I felt the backing distracted from the quality of her voice rather than added to it, but generally music to chill out to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost and Found (Audio CD)
There are some nice tunes, but the whole album is a bit poppy for my taste. But then again I bought this from a link in Ezperanzas Spaulding page. So I assumed it would be the same level of sophistication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost and Found
The Lost and Found by Gretchen Parlato (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews