Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Set. EVER!
Okay, you ain't getting the big, nice, expensive special editions of the albums in this set, and no doubt many people will complain about how "all" you get is the cardboard slipcases and the discs, however, unlike many sets of this ilk, you also got a biographical wee booklet, which is very interesting, if brief sum up of the bands career, album by slbum. Anyway, let's...
Published on 12 July 2011 by Mr. J. M. White

versus
11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so much of a bargain..
Maybe you think that this 'The Albums Collection' is a bargain boxset because it includes all The 13th Floor Elevators's albums. But that isn't the case here. Let me tell you..
A) The mastering of 'The Psychedelic Sounds of the 13th Floor Elevators' is terrible, loud and harsh. The sound quality of that record itself maybe poor but bad mastering isn't helping...
Published on 15 July 2012 by metalprogmadness


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Set. EVER!, 12 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums Collection (Audio CD)
Okay, you ain't getting the big, nice, expensive special editions of the albums in this set, and no doubt many people will complain about how "all" you get is the cardboard slipcases and the discs, however, unlike many sets of this ilk, you also got a biographical wee booklet, which is very interesting, if brief sum up of the bands career, album by slbum. Anyway, let's look at what the set does include - three brilliant 60's rock albums, two absolute classics in their field. Sure there's that passable "live" album (actually recorded in a studio with audience screams put into the mix later), but again - JUST LOOK AT THOSE THREE ALBUMS! You get the classic, garage-like psychedelic milestone that is "The Psychedelic Sounds of...", very ragged, rough, and utterly hypnotic, be it on the more typically 60's r&b tracks, the more spaced out, weird stuff or the more melodic, Splash 1 or Don't fall down: everything on the album, every song, regardless of style, is perfectly done: sure it's ragged, vocals are in the background, but that is sort of the, pretty obvious, point: a weird, "echoey" sort of production that adds an immensely spaced out, cool atmosphere, to allready brilliant 60's rock tracks.

Then we have "Easter Everywhere": I personally prefer this one: not only is it Technically a better album, with more developed songwriting and a technically better production, but I just like it more and whilst the production may not be quite as brilliantly weird and hypnotic, it is still FAIRLY atmospheric and the style of the songs actually benefit from the more polished touch applied to the album (and I say polished, but don't expect modern pop like clarity here!). The songs still have a bit of that rocky, r&b touch typical of the 60's, but the band cleverly, and admirably developed a more melodic sound overall here, which works brilliantly with this guys excellent, multi-faceted, emotional vocals, especially on tracks such as "She lives in a time of her own", "it's all over now, baby blue" and "dust" - which are all my personal picks from the album. As noted, I prefer this album: better variety than even their debut and a more developed sound - perfect album and without a doubt my favourite Psyche rock album to date.

I have less to say about Bull in the Woods, but that's not to say I dont like it, I still rate it an 08/10 - the song quality and overall feel of the album sure ain't as consistent, but it's better and more enjoyable than most band's will ever achieve - There is very little of the bands main man Erickson here, but his "stand in's" do one hell of a job covering for the guy. Great album - not perfect, stylistically or in terms of quality, but damn enjoyable and hardly a legacy ruining instalment for the band: there are MUCH worse final albums to go out on.

Psychedelic Sounds - 09/10
Easter Everywhere - 10/10
Bull - 08/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable quality/price 13th Floor Elevators collection, 3 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Albums Collection (Audio CD)
For psychelic music collectors (like me ;-)) who chased the priceless original pressings on Intertional Artists or even the re-issues on Radar Records, seeing a collection like this one at such a price is obviously very attractive.
Sound quality is very good, I re-discovered their masterpiece (Easter Everywhere) and surprisingly, this is their last album (Bull of the woods) that is really a real discovery and is much better than I remembered (even if Roky Erikson's participation is limited, Stacy Sutherland's guitar work is great and benefits from re-mastering).

No need to look for another compilation/best-of, at such a price let's buy all their albums !

My only (small) regret is that this box set doesn't include the original version of "You're gonna miss me" (as the Spades) and extra (pseudo) live tracks (such as the ones present on an EP released in the early 80's and containing crazy and powerful versions of the Beatles (The word) and Chuch Berry (Roll over Beethoven), but I guess this is due to copyright constraints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums Collection (Audio CD)
I originally wanted to find just one particualr vinyl recorrding (or CD if I had to) to try out the band but vinyl hard to find and the fantastic price of this collection tempted me into trying out the other albums - fantastic find (love the music!!!)and great value. Still searching for the elusive vinyl though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute must for psychedelic music lovers, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums Collection (Audio CD)
Three great albums from the elevators and a live album which to me just does not make the grade in my opinion. But this does not take away anything as the other three albums more than make up for that hence my five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so much of a bargain.., 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums Collection (Audio CD)
Maybe you think that this 'The Albums Collection' is a bargain boxset because it includes all The 13th Floor Elevators's albums. But that isn't the case here. Let me tell you..
A) The mastering of 'The Psychedelic Sounds of the 13th Floor Elevators' is terrible, loud and harsh. The sound quality of that record itself maybe poor but bad mastering isn't helping.
B) 'Live' isn't live, it's a fake live - it's just a compilation of some unreleased studio takes and album cuts overdubbed with audience noises

Also, four CDs are actually quite unnecessary because the albums are short and there is only one bonus track. Without it these four albums would have fitted in two CDs. But it's the record companies.. this way they can keep the price higher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums Collection (Audio CD)
just great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One star (for the packaging), 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Albums Collection (Audio CD)
The star is not for the music but for the packaging. I opened the box and all the slipcases were not glued together and just thrown into the box. Was not impressed.

Have decided to return to amazon and purchase the first two albums only. I'd recommend doing this than buying the box cos the live album and last album are not essential by all means. The first two, however, are classics and I am going to get repurchase these. This box is a bit too cheap looking for my taste and the fault hasn't helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Albums Collection
The Albums Collection by 13th Floor Elevators (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews