Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant read
In this book, author Pippa Wright introduces us to the lovely, Lizzy Harrison. Lizzy likes to think she has everything under control, she doesn't believe herself to be romantic heroine, she owns no more shoes than the average person, and she doesn't have a cat! She has a busy job in PR and feels very in control of her life.

So, when Lulu, Lizzy's best friend...
Published on 3 April 2011 by Joanne266

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average? Okay? Nothing special?
As seen from the title, this book didn't blow me away. It was rather average.

At first, this book really appealed to me. It starts showing the main character, Lizzy Harrison, being quite a plain and control person. This changes one drunken night with her wild friend Lulu. This set up the rest of the storyline, making the book appear promising. But, with a...
Published on 1 May 2012 by Sputnik


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant read, 3 April 2011
In this book, author Pippa Wright introduces us to the lovely, Lizzy Harrison. Lizzy likes to think she has everything under control, she doesn't believe herself to be romantic heroine, she owns no more shoes than the average person, and she doesn't have a cat! She has a busy job in PR and feels very in control of her life.

So, when Lulu, Lizzy's best friend questions her need for control, she decides to relax, and ends up being thrown into the arms of her boss's number one client, notorious comedian (and love-rat) Randy Jones........

This book had me giggling in many places. Lizzy is so likeable, and i would really like to see her pop up in future books by Wright. The cramped train scene was very amusing, and so true to life, that you could actually imagine seeing Lizzy on your morning commute to work. Meanwhile Randy Jones reminded me so much of Russell Brand, it was hard to get the image out of my head whilst reading the book.

If you are looking for an easy read, and you like chick-lit, then this is definately the book for you. Take it to the beach, or relax with it this summer. It's worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average? Okay? Nothing special?, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lizzy Harrison Loses Control (Kindle Edition)
As seen from the title, this book didn't blow me away. It was rather average.

At first, this book really appealed to me. It starts showing the main character, Lizzy Harrison, being quite a plain and control person. This changes one drunken night with her wild friend Lulu. This set up the rest of the storyline, making the book appear promising. But, with a dramatic change due to a mistake in work, the whole storyline becomes unrealistic and strange. It had the potential to go well, but I believe the attempt was average.

The author also makes a point of saying this book hasn't got an obvious romantic storyline and yet it was clear from the beginning what will happen throughout the book. While this isn't a major negative towards a romance novel, I believe the author making a point about the book being a "different type of romantic book" let it down.

However, after the drama has completed at the end of the book, it picks up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining chicklit, 12 April 2012
By 
EO'C (Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lizzy Harrison Loses Control (Kindle Edition)
Likeable heroine, entertaing storyline and funny enough in places to make me laugh out loud. Yes, you know where it will end but it's a good read getting there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Lizzy Harrison Loses Control (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this booked very much and will look forward seeing another book by Pippa Wright.

Little bit of insight on the book:

The story is about Lizzy Harrison who is a very organised PA for a celebrity PR firm, always on hand for her struggling boss Camilla.

When their top client Randy Jones hits headlines in the newspapers on a self destruction mode Camillia needs Lizzy help to turn this around or Carmilla partnership in the firm with Jemima can be on the line.

Randy Jones needs a sensible girlfriend to get him on the straight and narrow, will Lizzy Harrison take up the challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but fun, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: Lizzy Harrison Loses Control (Kindle Edition)
It is clear what is going to happen from the off but it moves at a nice pace and is an easy read without being patronising or too cliché. A nice book for the airplane or the daily commute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I thought I'd love it, but maybe I'm twenty years too old.., 14 Jan 2013
By 
K. Roberts "La Preguiceira" (Galicia, Spain,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lizzy Harrison Loses Control (Kindle Edition)
It was described as having an intelligent, put together heroine, not an artist, or kooky illustrator who falls to pieces when her hero is around, but the smart, heroine is in PR. Not a boss, but an assistant, so more of a PA to a PR and a secretary at that.
There people with good degrees who enjoy being PAs, but I'm not one of them.
If your main aim in life is to go to bed with a blond version of Russell Brand and be at the beck and call of your boss, then you'll enjoy this book. I wish I had. I just wanted it to end and the protaganist to get her life back on track (which of course she does).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lizzy Harrison Loses Control (Kindle Edition)
I love good romamtic comedy as much as the next girl but this book was so dull! I don't even mind predictability in a story and kept with it just to see if anything would actually happen. The author tried to make out that the main character is not your typical useless romantic heroine, yet she is- completely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lovely read, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lizzy Harrison Loses Control (Kindle Edition)
I just loved this book. it's an undemanding read with well written characters. It's the frequent, random funny moments which make the book so enjoyable. I am so looking forward to reading more of Pippa Wrights' work in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it, 13 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lizzy Harrison Loses Control (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book based on other peoples reviews and absolutely loved it. Good plot, great lead character. I really enjoyed the way the author wrote. It inspired me to go on and read the author's other book which was also fab.

Buy this book, I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lizzie Takes Back Control..., 28 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lizzy Harrison Loses Control (Kindle Edition)
This book begins with the Lizzie stating that `it is not your typical love story'. Unfortunately that is exactly what it turns out to be. The book itself is still fantastic, but that bit at the start was really untrue.

Lizzie believes that she is in control of all aspects of her life. She has a morning routine that she never wavers from, a PR job that she is in perfect control of, a schedule that is planned for the next year and a love life - or lack of one that she is in control of. Her best friend Lulu challenges Lizzie to lose control. She believes that if she ever wants to mean someone she needs to put herself out there and stop planning everything out. Then as if they read Lulu's mind, her boss suggests that she enters a fake relationship with one of their clients after she was pictured in a compromising position with a drug fuelled sex god comedian that needs to calm down. His reputation is at stake, and they believe that by dating a normal girl who is in control of everything will help his image with the press. Lizzie, after a lot of persuasion, agrees and enters a whirlwind of lies, deceit but a lot of fun. As things go from bad to worse for Lizzie she begins to realise that maybe she wasn't in control as much as she though!

Aside from the negative at the beginning this book is fantastic. I liken it to Johnny be Good by Paige Toon as it follows a similar story lime but with a different outcome. The author holds your attention well throughout the book and lots of twists and turns keep you interested throughout. I did guess the ended about 2/3s in which is why it lost a star but it didn't really ruin the rest of the book for me. I read it in one day and would defiantly pass it on to anyone looking for a nice easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lizzy Harrison Loses Control
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews