Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JAG 1995-2005
Prior to buying this I'd only seen a few individual episodes so had no great preconceptions. I've just finished all 10 seasons to get a better overall view before I commented on it.

Series 1 starts with a 2 part story about the loss of a female pilot from an aircraft carrier and JAG (Judge Advocate General) officers Lt Harmon Rabb (David James Elliott) and Lt...
Published on 17 Dec. 2012 by I. R. Kerr

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting criminal adventures. Good entertainment.
The JAG Seasons are exciting. I felt myself very well entertained although it seems to be an advertising film for the US Navy - therefore sometimes too much national pathos.
For this background a rate of 4 stars seems to be justified. The degradation is due to the partially bad video quality (the pictures are often diffuse / coarse).
Published 23 months ago by Klaus Riedel


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JAG 1995-2005, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Prior to buying this I'd only seen a few individual episodes so had no great preconceptions. I've just finished all 10 seasons to get a better overall view before I commented on it.

Series 1 starts with a 2 part story about the loss of a female pilot from an aircraft carrier and JAG (Judge Advocate General) officers Lt Harmon Rabb (David James Elliott) and Lt Caitlin Pike (Andrea Parker) are assigned to investigate. That partnership did not last long as by episode 3 Lt Meg Austin (Tracey Needham) took over for the rest of the series. However it wasn't until Sarah "Mac" Mackenzie (Catherine Bell) arrived at the start of series 2 that it started to gel together, the chemistry between Rabb and Mac drives most of the storylines but rest assured there's action aplenty thrown in.
There's a wide variety of stories all involving US Navy or Marine Corps members getting into trouble across the globe as the JAG team travel to defend and prosecute and hopefully uncover the truth. The stories span almost all continents and cover many issues including murder, assault, rape and espionage. It's quite a topical show so international events and the effects they have on the Navy are at the forefront throughout. Most notably the tales involving the break up of Yugoslavia and the post 9/11 involving the fighting in Iraq and Afghanistan.
There's a couple of episodes involving Britain, the IRA tale may raise eyebrows but no nation comes out unscathed, including the USA some of the hardest hitting episodes are home based. If you stop watching due to a particular episode you'll miss out on some great stories later.
There are a few issues, the annoying voice over at the start which was thankfully dropped later; the cigar smoking gung-ho antics get a little tiresome at times, however there's some nice touches such as messages from actual US troops, stories based on actual events which credit the true heroes who were involved in the real life dramas.
It's not all war & law, there's romance (lots), births and deaths, comedy and tragedy, friendships and rivalries and, like many long running TV shows, there's the novelty episodes such as flashbacks to an 19th Century mutiny and a special on Navy Nurses prior to the 1945 assault on Iwo Jima as well as several feel-good Christmas issues.
There's not much in the way of extras, a gag reel for season 5 and a farewell message from the cast at the end of season 10. Still, it's worth viewing and at a pretty reasonable price for all 10 seasons it's good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting criminal adventures. Good entertainment., 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The JAG Seasons are exciting. I felt myself very well entertained although it seems to be an advertising film for the US Navy - therefore sometimes too much national pathos.
For this background a rate of 4 stars seems to be justified. The degradation is due to the partially bad video quality (the pictures are often diffuse / coarse).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The video quality of the first 3 seasons is not too good - otherwise, great value for your money !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good entertaining series., 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
An entertaining series. Typical USA is brilliant but the Americans are good at that. This lawyer looks like Rambo and there is humour throughout which makes it a relaxing view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star entertainment value, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this as a Christmas gift, the order came through bang on time and was well packaged into a larger box which made it easier for concealment from prying eyes.

The collectors edition has really smart presentation, nice design etc. Plus, its JAG people! The series that started off the biggest show on the planet, NCIS. If you love NCIS I would recommend this, brilliant stories and good characters. It starts properly in series two after NBC dropped it and it was picked up by CBS, so enjoy the first series just don't get used to some of the characters in it.

Five Star entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect present, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Was a valentines present for my fella, we are working our way through the seasons.
We are both big fans so this is perfect for us..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great tv, 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
saw first 3 episodes on tv was hooked saw this offer and jumped at the chance of having the complete set brilliant stories and just as good as it`s follow up "NCIS" which i also bought series 1-9 of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jag dvd set on Amazon! Wow!, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Omg! I 'd not believe tht I saw this on Amazon. I nvr watched it from a season or two to da end of it before. Now I can! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great to have the Series but some of the discs ..., 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Great to have the Series but some of the discs were of poor quality, breaking in the same places on the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Better than a good book could not wait to see each episode fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD]
JAG Seasons 1-10 Complete [DVD] by David James Elliott^Chuck Carrington^Catherine Bell^John M. Jackson (DVD - 2011)
£67.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews