Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars71
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Prior to buying this I'd only seen a few individual episodes so had no great preconceptions. I've just finished all 10 seasons to get a better overall view before I commented on it.

Series 1 starts with a 2 part story about the loss of a female pilot from an aircraft carrier and JAG (Judge Advocate General) officers Lt Harmon Rabb (David James Elliott) and Lt Caitlin Pike (Andrea Parker) are assigned to investigate. That partnership did not last long as by episode 3 Lt Meg Austin (Tracey Needham) took over for the rest of the series. However it wasn't until Sarah "Mac" Mackenzie (Catherine Bell) arrived at the start of series 2 that it started to gel together, the chemistry between Rabb and Mac drives most of the storylines but rest assured there's action aplenty thrown in.
There's a wide variety of stories all involving US Navy or Marine Corps members getting into trouble across the globe as the JAG team travel to defend and prosecute and hopefully uncover the truth. The stories span almost all continents and cover many issues including murder, assault, rape and espionage. It's quite a topical show so international events and the effects they have on the Navy are at the forefront throughout. Most notably the tales involving the break up of Yugoslavia and the post 9/11 involving the fighting in Iraq and Afghanistan.
There's a couple of episodes involving Britain, the IRA tale may raise eyebrows but no nation comes out unscathed, including the USA some of the hardest hitting episodes are home based. If you stop watching due to a particular episode you'll miss out on some great stories later.
There are a few issues, the annoying voice over at the start which was thankfully dropped later; the cigar smoking gung-ho antics get a little tiresome at times, however there's some nice touches such as messages from actual US troops, stories based on actual events which credit the true heroes who were involved in the real life dramas.
It's not all war & law, there's romance (lots), births and deaths, comedy and tragedy, friendships and rivalries and, like many long running TV shows, there's the novelty episodes such as flashbacks to an 19th Century mutiny and a special on Navy Nurses prior to the 1945 assault on Iwo Jima as well as several feel-good Christmas issues.
There's not much in the way of extras, a gag reel for season 5 and a farewell message from the cast at the end of season 10. Still, it's worth viewing and at a pretty reasonable price for all 10 seasons it's good value for money.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
The JAG Seasons are exciting. I felt myself very well entertained although it seems to be an advertising film for the US Navy - therefore sometimes too much national pathos.
For this background a rate of 4 stars seems to be justified. The degradation is due to the partially bad video quality (the pictures are often diffuse / coarse).
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
I remembered this show was something special, but had forgotten just how special. I was not dissapointed but I was surprised at just how many of the shows I had never seen before. I was a little uncertain on purchasing due to price, but I am really glad that I decided to go ahead and order them. Great story lines performed by a well chosen cast. Great locations and to anyone keen on aircraft and the sea I truly recommend this set. To me, every episode is fantastic viewing. True to say some more than others but worth viewing none the less. Amazon exceeded delivery expectations. Ordered on a Saturday, delivered on the Monday all on a standard FREE delivery. Superb all round. Thanks Amazon.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
The five stars are for seasons 1 to 7 and the excellent value that this Box Set represents. Seasons 8 to 10 seem to show a growing sense of desperation from the scriptwriters/producers to keep the show going almost at all costs, however, the first seven seasons are really quite brilliant. The first season is good, well acted, scripted and produced but it really takes off in season two with a change in some of the personnel and outstanding chemistry between a fairly large ensemble cast of well drawn and rounded characters. Yes, it is a bit odd how season one ends and season two starts following a change of TV company between the two, however, the cliffhanger ending to season one that seems to be totally ignored when season two begins, is eventually resolved at a later date.

What you get is a good drama wedded with thrills and spills, well plotted criminal cases, romance and, best of all for me, wonderful humour drawn out of some really rewarding situations, in other words, entertainment. The two main lead characters, Harm and Mac and the actors that portray them have a wonderfully warm chemistry and fall out, bicker and make up with warmth and humour in equal measure. This really gives the show some genuine depth and zip, however, many of the supporting characters are so much more than supporting characters and have their own strong and brilliant story lines as the show progresses and grows. This really is a truly great ensemble piece of TV.

This Box set is excellent value for money for those first seven seasons alone, however, if you really get into the show and invest in the main characters, the final three seasons are still watchable and entertaining only, to me at least, just not as good as the preceding seven.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
An entertaining series. Typical USA is brilliant but the Americans are good at that. This lawyer looks like Rambo and there is humour throughout which makes it a relaxing view.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
It's good but after the first series the subtitles are on all the time unless you manually refuse them before every individual episode which is annoying, It does get boring and monotonous at times with many similar story lines, they also resurrect injured and dead characters which can be confusing. I was surprised to find that psychic abilities are heavily intertwined in several of the episodes with the main character Harmon seeing his dead father and others and Sarah (Mac) being able to discover lost people through remote viewing. It stretches the imagination and at times the writers clearly struggled to keep it going, rehashing story lines. In conclusion it passes the time but I can only watch one or two episodes at a time because it does my head in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
I ordered this as a Christmas gift, the order came through bang on time and was well packaged into a larger box which made it easier for concealment from prying eyes.

The collectors edition has really smart presentation, nice design etc. Plus, its JAG people! The series that started off the biggest show on the planet, NCIS. If you love NCIS I would recommend this, brilliant stories and good characters. It starts properly in series two after NBC dropped it and it was picked up by CBS, so enjoy the first series just don't get used to some of the characters in it.

Five Star entertainment value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
Great boxset, delivered on a sunday which is a bonus only thing is it was not in its factory seal but in a clear bag,not ideal if giving as a gift
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
Finally at last got to see the complete 10 years of JAG. Seasons 1 to 9 are the best, season 10 good. The box set came really well packaged and the box set looks good on the shelf.
I have had a problem with one of the discs in season 3, disc 3 there is a point on the disc when the picture starts to break up. It only lasted for a couple of seconds. Amazon have been good with exchanging the complete box set. Do not know if anyone else has experience the same problem but have now had it on 2 separate sets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
JAG, follows the investigations and court room proceedings of the US navies judge advocate general. The main characters all develop through the entire series. Most episodes deal with a single case with the lawyers both defending and prosecuting the different cases. I really enjoyed watching these again and seeing some that I had missed. There is even an appearance from Gibbs and co of later NCIS fame. Highly enjoyable , must see tv
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.00
£35.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)