Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SECOND FIDDLE TO FRIENDS WITH BENEFITS
Let us make no mistake about this film. It is a five star chick flick. There won't be a woman with a dry eye in the house. But face it, "Friends with Benefits" was hands down a better movie. For sensitive guys, it is about 3 stars.

I am not an Ashton Kutcher fan by any means. However, I have developed a little more respect for him after this film. Ashton and...
Published 15 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected
I love Natalie and Ashton, and the whole FWB idea resulting in love so this movie was a must watch for me! I was very disappointed though. I feel like it could have been much better. If you really like the idea of it, watch the Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake 'Friends with Benefits'. It's a similar idea and so much better. I loved that one.
Published 21 months ago by Ria


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SECOND FIDDLE TO FRIENDS WITH BENEFITS, 18 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Strings Attached [DVD] (DVD)
Let us make no mistake about this film. It is a five star chick flick. There won't be a woman with a dry eye in the house. But face it, "Friends with Benefits" was hands down a better movie. For sensitive guys, it is about 3 stars.

I am not an Ashton Kutcher fan by any means. However, I have developed a little more respect for him after this film. Ashton and Natalie have been friends since they were 14, off and on. They come from wealthy families. She becomes a doctor and he follows in his father's footsteps and works in the film industry. When Ashton discovers his dad's new girlfriend is his ex-girlfriend he gets drunk and calls every girl in his cell phone until he gets laid. He ends up with Natalie and they make an arrangement to just be "friends with benefits."

Natalie is a the one who insists on the "no relationship with strings", just a sexual arrangement as she works weird hours and needs to relax. Ashton apparently has the equipment to help her relax. As all chick flicks go, we know how it turns out, the fun is watching it get there.

I actually had a few LOL moments, especially the "period tape." The movie keeps a good pace and doesn't have boring scenes. Sex, some crude language, and Ashton's nude butt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better rom-coms, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Strings Attached [DVD] (DVD)
After watching the trailer for this I was quite excited to see this movie. At first it just seemed like a movie about two people who were 'Friends with Benefits' but then their feelings develop into something real. It is quite unpredictable and predictable at the same time because you know what the ending is but you're not sure how they're going to get there. This movie is different because it's not the guy with the commitment issues, it's the girl. It shows that women don't need men to feel good about themselves as Emma (Portman) is an independant woman who thinks that she doesn't need a relationship with a guy. At first both Emma (Portman) and Adam (Kutcher) use each other for sex but then they both realise that they have stronger feelings for each other and are falling for each other. However, head-strong Emma refuses to admit this, thereby breaking Adam's heart. After a period of separation Emma finally realises that she needs Adam because she is in love with him and she finally admits her true feelings. They get together (officially) and all is well.

This is one of the best rom-coms I've ever seen because it's different. The plot-line is unusual but it still gives you that warm fuzzy lovey-dovey feeling. I highly recommend it because both actors are great, it is incredibly funny and this film is unique. If you're bored of rom-coms because you think they're all predictable and are the same then watch 'No Strings Attached' because it changes the stereotype of the romantic comedy. It shows that sometimes women are the stronger ones in the relationship and struggle with their feelings. It is fresh and new, watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected, 13 Mar 2013
This review is from: No Strings Attached [DVD] (DVD)
I love Natalie and Ashton, and the whole FWB idea resulting in love so this movie was a must watch for me! I was very disappointed though. I feel like it could have been much better. If you really like the idea of it, watch the Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake 'Friends with Benefits'. It's a similar idea and so much better. I loved that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much better than I was expecting!!, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Miss K (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: No Strings Attached [DVD] (DVD)
Whether a man and woman can have sex and stay "just friends" is cliched territory but this film is so much better than I ever thought it could be. It's not your typical romcom and it lacks that sugary coating that you usually get with this kind of film. It's a funny film yes, but in an indirect kind of way; you're getting the story and getting to know the characters and it just happens to be funny. It's not laughs just for the sake of laughs.

You'll have seen Ashton Kutcher in this kind of role before but you can't complain really - he does it so well. You get both the male and female perspective which makes the film all the more enjoyable. There is a bit of role-reversal too with Natalie Portman's character being portrayed as more 'the man' in the relationship and it is her idea to start the 'no strings attached' relationship. I can't understand people criticizing her though: yes she's a little uptight and she has her guard up when it comes to love but that's the point - her character HAS issues and the film is as much about her journey as it is about anything else.

The peripheral characters are a mixed bag (some of them are oddballs really!) and bring a bit of additional entertainment to the proceedings without being distracting from the main story. The whole film is really well put together - it's an 'observation' type of film and it manages to achieve a nice balance between romance, comedy and drama.

Overall, the film gets a thumbs up from me - it's a light-hearted, feel-good film that made me smile and giggle. There are a few extra bits provided on the DVD - the director's commentary is very easy listening. It's a shame there is no additional commentary with Ashton & Natalie and the 'alternate ending' referred to by the director is actually nowhere to be found in the bonus material. There are a few deleted scenes though and a nice featurette which includes the cast and crew and a bit more on the story of the film - pretty standard really but it's always nice to get some bonus material, than nothing at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Chemistry, 18 Sep 2011
By 
Laura (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Strings Attached [DVD] (DVD)
I expected more from this film. Ashton and Natalie have no chemistry whatsoever and their height difference is also huge - there are parts in the film where you can tell she must be standing on a box!! You feel no sympathy with Natalie's character. I would not watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Strings Attached [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not sure why this film has been given so many poor reviews. I rarely rave about a film but I really enjoyed this and it was so much more than what I expected it to be. The script was well drafted and well acted, with good characterisation - not only of the two leads but their friends and family too, which is quite unusual in a romcom where you tend to get such 2 dimensional characters. Thumbs up from me and four stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Strings Attached [DVD] (DVD)
ok film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Strings Attached [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it!! Funny and romantic! Plus I love Aston kutcher which made it that little bit better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love!, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Strings Attached [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film, so cheap now as well!
absolute bargain and a must watch (it's Ashton Kutcher, I mean c'mon!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No strings attached, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have watched this really funny film rather enjoyed it fast delivery packaging all good would recommend this film to a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Strings Attached [DVD]
No Strings Attached [DVD] by Ivan Reitman (DVD - 2011)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews