Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!
Very funny and feel-good film. Great actors with good chemistry, especially Rachel McAdams, even though the love story is not the main story line. Highly recommendable for a lazy afternoon.
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by Felix

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a smash, but good for a Sunday afternoon
I have to say, as a Rachel McAdams fan, I found this one to be my least favourite so far (or maybe on par with the Time Traveler's Wife).

I found her character a bit annoying - the overworked, constantly twitchy producer - it sort of made me feel a bit stressed! But I guess that's what makes her a good actress seeing as that's exactly what she's meant to be in...
Published 2 months ago by Lulloo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Morning Glory [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny and feel-good film. Great actors with good chemistry, especially Rachel McAdams, even though the love story is not the main story line. Highly recommendable for a lazy afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Carter Sex Offender, 20 Feb 2011
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morning Glory [DVD] (DVD)
"Morning Glory" was an entertaining ,funny film with an excellent cast who all had a great chemistry with one another. Rachel McAdams played the leading role as the executive producer of "Daybreak", a struggling morning tv programme which she is hired to overhaul and to boost its ratings. She hires Harrison Ford who plays a dour, serious news reporter who is reluctant to take on a more chatty, trivial minded persona in his new co-anchor role on the show. Can he help increase the show's ratings along with a host of new gimmicky ideas that McAdams kooky, energetic , workaholic producer brings to the show ? The film is warm and amusing and for once a career obsessed young woman in a movie is actually likeable. I found the scenes with poor Ernie the weatherman to be particularly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morning Glory, 16 Oct 2011
This review is from: Morning Glory [DVD] (DVD)
This was an enjoyable and amusing film with an excellent cast and a decent storyline. Unlike many romatic comedy's that are made it wasn't a candy floss I will never want to see this again movie. Rachel McAdams was delightful, while Harrison Ford & Diane Keaton gave memorable performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Laura (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Glory [DVD] (DVD)
Ordered this film ages ago and only just got around to watching it. I like Rachel McAdams and she played a good role here as the ditzy producer of a failing Morning TV show.

I wouldn't call this a romantic comedy. There is a sort of 'romance' but it doesn't play a huge part and was a bit lacking. The rest of the film is good. Harrison Ford plays a good part and I found him amusing. I've never watched him in a comedy role before. Diane Keaton I find plays a similar part in most of her roles and so yes she was good but nothing extroadinary but she is always good at comedy.

It was an enjoyable watch. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four- and-a-half stars for me!, 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: Morning Glory [DVD] (DVD)
Rachel McAdams stars as the energetic Becky, who works too many hours, with workaholic tendencies in a TV studio. Desperate for a job, she leaps at the chance of directing a morning show which has been struggling in the ratings…

Diane Keaton is brilliant as a loyal but anchor of the show, while Harrison Ford is a wonderfully grumpy curmudgeon who gradually finds himself thawing despite himself. A totally different role from his usual ones, and he shows himself a fine actor in the process.

It’s all slightly predictable, I suppose; Becky naturally falls in love but makes a hash of it at first; she tries some experiments which have mixed results. There are some humorous situations although I would not call this a ‘comedy’ as such; the busy newsroom filled with equipment went right over my head, but appealed to my husband, who has worked in similar situations.

It's supposedly a rom-com, but the romance part is not a huge part of the plot. I wish the couple hadn’t been seen going to bed together, even though it was tastefully done with no nudity or anything explicit. There’s some bad language, too; I would have rated this as 15 rather than 12. I suggest parents check the advisories at the iMDB website before watching this with young teens, although many will no doubt have seen far worse.

That aside, we thought this film was extremely well done, and it made an enjoyable evening’s entertainment for three of us, including our twenty-something son. The characters are nicely eccentric, and it’s a feel-good kind of story overall. Definitely recommended to adults and older teens who like this kind of thing, particularly to anyone who has worked in the television industry.

The movie length is 103 minutes, and there are subtitles available in a few European languages. No extras, although there’s the option to turn on a commentary (in English).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious Fun, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Patricia Millar (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Glory [DVD] (DVD)
I'd heard good reviews for this film and it certainly lived up to expectations. Rachel McAdams is very good in a comedy role and Harrison Ford and Diane Keaton are magical (if that's the right word!) together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Glory [DVD] (DVD)
very good film, great cast whom all play there respected parts well, well worth watching all be it a bit slow to get started but worth it in the end, good one to watch again and again if you just fancy a light funny film,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morning Glory, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Quentin M. Sayer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Glory [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely great film that requires no brain power but with a glass of wine and the sofa excellent. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morning Glory, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morning Glory [DVD] (DVD)
Happy with purchase and arrived quickly. Bought the DVD as a Rachel McAdams fan and was not disappointed. The other cast members were also good. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good character movie, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morning Glory [DVD] (DVD)
I got this in a Blu-Ray deal. I knew nothing about it but as Harrison Ford usually delivers thought I'd go for it.
It pleasantly surprised me. Rachel McAdams character as a workaholic worked very well. It's nicely fleshed out enough to not be a 2D person, but you feel for what she's trying to achieve though you don't really pick up on why she has this driving force in her.
Ford is superb, you want to just grab him and give him a shake to wake up to what his personality is doing to all around him.
Nice to see Jeff Goldblum again as well as her boss, hoping she makes a success but up against a corporation that has other ideas.
The boyfriend bit is the most disjointed and ineffectual, but it does add a nice diversion from the TV show and helps you feel her frustration.
Diane Keaton also shines in this, again with a nicely fleshed out character that has more than 1 side.
It was also nice to have some genuinely laugh out loud comedy. Me and my son were in tears at the exploits of the weather man.
A very nice surprise of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morning Glory [DVD]
Morning Glory [DVD] by Rachel McAdams (DVD - 2011)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews