Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maintaining Good Form
After the iconic first season of South Park, Trey Parker and Matt Stone had their work cut out to make a second season that was just as good. But they managed to maintain good form and the South Park Season Two DVD box set is a worthy purchase.

All eighteen episodes from the second season of the Comedy Central hit are here, starting with "Not Without My Anus,"...
Published on 20 Nov 2010 by The 90's Guy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars When the novelty wears off
Here in one box set are all eighteen episodes of the second season of cult tv animation South Park. Spread across three discs.

If you're reading this then you'll know what the show is about, so there's no need to go into detail.

The dvds have the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, German, Spanish...
Published on 14 Aug 2012 by Paul Tapner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maintaining Good Form, 20 Nov 2010
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After the iconic first season of South Park, Trey Parker and Matt Stone had their work cut out to make a second season that was just as good. But they managed to maintain good form and the South Park Season Two DVD box set is a worthy purchase.

All eighteen episodes from the second season of the Comedy Central hit are here, starting with "Not Without My Anus," a special episode starring Canadians Terrence and Phillip. A lot of fans were angered when this episode first aired in he US, with everyone expecting the concluding part of the Cartman's Dad saga (Cartman's Mom Is Still A Dirty Slut). I don't know why they got upset. "Not Without My Anus" is a good episode with plenty of laughs.

"Chicken Lover" is an iconic episode with Cartman donning a Police Officer's uniform, a night stick and a new catchphrase "Respect my authoritah!" "City On The Edge Of Forever" (aka: Flashbacks) makes fun of flashback episodes common in TV shows. This episode has its own flashbacks, but not as you remembered them if you watched the first season.

If you're looking for familiar faces in the music industry then "Chef Aid" is just the episode for you. Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Kenny put on a concert in the hope of raising a lot of money to get their friend Chef out of a jam. The likes of Sir Elton John and Meatloaf lend a helping hand to this epic concert.

The season ends with "Prehistoric Ice Man," where Stan and Kyle beat the living daylights out of each other over a man who has been frozen in ice since 1996! It also features an animal-loving Australian guy (clearly based on the late Steve Irwin) who likes to stick his thumb in places where the sun doesn't shine, and is an inspiration to Cartman. It's a very good episode and an ideal way to finish the season.

Season two does have a couple of downsides. It contains a couple of poor episodes, like "Chickenpox" which is lacking in laughs, and "Clubhouses" where Stan's parents have a pointless temporary breakup. The Extra's section only has one item, although it is a good one. The music video for Chef's song "Salty Chocolate Balls."

The South Park Season Two DVD is 5-star quality, and will nestle nicely next to your season one box set if you already have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic season, 23 Aug 2009
By 
J. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 2 is a great season filled with classic episodes which were the foundations for what an excellent show South Park is today. If you have become a fan during the more recent seasons, however, this and other earlier seasons may come across as simpler and less risque than what you might come to expect from South Park.

I think it is fair to say that in the earlier days of of the show, there was less of a focus on current affairs and celebrity mockings which we have all loved in the newer shows. More emphasis was on novel ideas early in the shows history i.e. a man making love to chickens in order to help an illiterate police officer learn how to read. Older episodes, such as those in Season 2, may not have the biting, unpolitically correct themes that people who have only seen recent seasons have no doubt grown to love.

Despite this, this is still a classic season which deserves to be watched by all fans of South Park. You can tell from this season how Trey Parker and Matt Stone (and everyone else working on the show) have honed and polished the show into the beast it is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing season, 21 Jan 2013
This review is from: South Park - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, where do I start? The complete second season of South Park is simply hilarious, and has so many funny episodes that it's unbelievable. Personally, I care more about the content of a DVD than the animation. Some of my favourite and highly recommended episodes from this boxset are:'Cartman's mum is still a dirty slut(2)' Ike's wee wee', 'Roger Ebbert should lay off the fatty foods', 'Cow days', and 'Spooky fish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Amanda Bond "bondama" (Lincolshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park - Season 2 (re-pack) [DVD] (DVD)
Love these re-packs, the quality is good and the cost is even better. Why waste more money when creating your collection? Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars South Park - Season 2, 29 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: South Park - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
South Park Season 2 returns to british shores bring it the insanity of the towns residents and their equally insane adventures with additions such as chef's now legendary chocolate salty balls, cartmans police pose as well as underpants gnomes, charles manson, a prehistoric man from 1996 and falshbacks within a dream in the cunningly named 'Flashbacks' (AKA 'City on the Edge of Forever').
Classic comedy. More of the same please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars South Park Series 2 Review - by Tonyo Times, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park - Season 2 (re-pack) [DVD] (DVD)
The first series was a great success, so what about the second? It started with them revealing who Cartman's dad was.. or it was supposed to but because the first episode of the new series was aired on April Fool's Day, they annoyed a lot of their viewers by putting a special episode of Terrance and Phillip on instead, leaving those annoyed viewers annoyed for another week. Nice.

SPOILER... we did find out who Eric Cartman's dad was, and is the second episode on this boxset. Cartman's dad is... his mother! Classic, and another thing to annoy the fans because now everyone wanted to know who his mother was. Haha.

Series Two Episodes...
1: Terrance and Phillip in Not Without My... Bottom
2: Cartman's Mum is Still a Dirty... Woman
3: Chickenlover
4: Ike's Wee Wee
5: Conjoined Fetus Lady
6: The Mexican Staring Frog of Southern Sri Lanka
7: City on the Edge of Forever (Flashbacks)
8: Summer Sucks
9: Chef's Chocolate Salty Balls
10: Chickenpox
11: Roger Ebert Should Lay Off The Fatty Foods
12: Clubhouses
13: Cow Days
14: Chef Aid
15: Spookyfish
16: Merry Christmas Charlie Manson!
17: Gnomes
18: Prehistoric Ice Man

Eighteen episodes in a brilliant season, that's a bargain. City on the Edge of Forever is funny because it aims at flashbacks from previous episodes, but don't skip this because flashback episodes of anything are usually rubbish. It has a silly ending though but rips the hell out of shows doing this.

Spookyfish is another that will stick in the memory, Barbara Streisand on the sides of the screen celebrating Halloween. The episode itself is also classic with Cartman being extremely annoying. "It's hella cool!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The series is great and timeless. But the little skits by rebates at beginning o each episode a little wearisome after a while. Great service though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it., 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park - Season 2 (re-pack) [DVD] (DVD)
if you like family guy and american dad then you'll love this. south park is one of my favourite tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken lover!!, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park - Season 2 (re-pack) [DVD] (DVD)
I personally believe this to be an improvement on the original series. Chicken Lover is a classic and the shoddy animation is vastly improved...all though it is still South Park style. A great series from a great comedy! Respect my authori'tah!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Details, 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park - Season 2 (re-pack) [DVD] (DVD)
I won't be reviewing the series itself, because we all know South Park is hilarious, but I will provide some details of this repack.

Language: English, German, Spanish.
Dolby Digital Stereo.
Feature Subtitles: English, English SDH, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, German, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedish.
Aspect Ratio: Full Frame | Colour.
Running Time: 411 mins approx.

Special Feature:
Chef "Chocolate Salty Balls" Music Video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Park - Season 2 (re-pack) [DVD]
South Park - Season 2 (re-pack) [DVD] by Trey Parker (DVD - 2011)
£7.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews