Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS !!!!
This is the first season of South Park and shows how much the series has moved on. It has some cringingly funny moments, all served in a sense of humour only some will understand....

These are my thoughts on each episode:

Cartman Gets An Anal Probe: 5/5- This was the first ever South Parks, and it shows, as Cartmans voice is harder to...
Published on 30 Aug. 2010 by Joanna Baker

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Boxart (Not anything against South Park)
Although I adore South Park Season 1 and the content of it itself are great, the sellers for this product are misleading to say the least. As a collector, I needed to replace my tattered and torn BOXSET of SP Season 1. However, when I received it, it came as the single DVD case, repackaged version. Be warned if you're a collector like me, that this is not the boxed...
Published 15 months ago by Mike Sandy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS !!!!, 30 Aug. 2010
By 
Joanna Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the first season of South Park and shows how much the series has moved on. It has some cringingly funny moments, all served in a sense of humour only some will understand....

These are my thoughts on each episode:

Cartman Gets An Anal Probe: 5/5- This was the first ever South Parks, and it shows, as Cartmans voice is harder to
understand, and the animation is made out of paper, but it is a south park classic

Weightgain 4000: 5/5- Cartman wins an enviormental contest by cheating and covering up a book and saying its his
own. Kathy Lee Gifford comes to the town to present the award. For the show, cartman tries
to be a beedcake by taking the weightgain 4000, and thinks he is getting muscle, but really
he gets even fatter! Hilarious episode

Voclano: 4/5- The boys and stans uncle go on a hunting trip up in the mountain. What the don't know is the mountain
is actualy a volcano thats about to erupt! Funny, but not one of the best.

Big Gay Als Big Gay Boat Ride: 5/5- Kyle gets a dog that he thinks is really tough, untill it starts... domineering
all the other dogs. Kyle then loses respect for the dog, and it runs away and
finds Big Gay Als Big Gay Pet Home! Again, very funny, with the intro of Gay Al

An Elephant Makes Love To A Pig: 5/5- Well, an elephant makes love to a pig... Good writers commentary on this one
though!

Death: 4/5- Its Stans grandpa's 102nd birthday, and he wants Stan to kill him. Whilst he is trying to get Stan to
kill him, Kyles mom puts up a protest to ban Terrance And Phillip!

Pinkeye: 6/5- No, thats not an error, this is THE best episode on season 1! A mishap turns the town into brain
eating zombies! Lots of chainsawing!

Starvin' Marvin': 5/5- The boys see a commercial to sponser ethiopian children, and get a free sports watch. Instead
they get a real ethiopian child! Very funny, with Cartmans racism getting revenge on him!!

Mr Hanky The Christmas Poo: 4/5- Kyle believes in Mr. Hankey the christmas poo, and keeps seeing him in places, were
people only see a piece of turd! Funny, and a good introduction to Mr.Hankey,but
not one of the best episodes. Also introduces Mr. Mkay i believe.

Damien: 5/5- A new boy comes to town, and the boys bully him. Little do they know he's the devils son! He arranges a
fight between the devil and jesus. Very funny. My second favourite

Tom's Rhinoplasty: 5/5- Mr. Garrison gets a nosejob. Whilst he's away, they get s supply teacher which all the boys
fancy, making wendy jelous as Stan is not giving her any attection! But, remember, Dont
F**k with wendy..

Mecha- Streisand: 3/5- The women who sand Jesus Christ Superstar has come to destroy South Park! A pretty average
episode that seems to lag on, just not really up to the other standerd of episodes

Cartmans Mom Is A Dirty Slut: 5/5- Hilarious! Cartman tries to find out who his father is, but whoever his mom says
it is, it turns out not to be them! Very funny, and a good cliff-hanger at the
end...

There a writers commentary at the beggining of every episode, and i know alot of people find them annoying, but i think there hilarious! There are also some xtras, including Cartman singing holy night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First...And Still The Best Season, 21 Sept. 2010
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: South Park - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is it! The very first season of South Park. All 13 episodes available on one DVD boxset, plus a couple of small extras as well. For my money, even after all these years, this is still the best season of South Park EVER. But what exactly makes this show so great? Allow me to explain.

For many years cartoons were harmless. Yes there were some really funny ones (especially from the 90's) but they were all family friendly. They were aimed to satisfy as many people as possible. Even the Simpsons was like that for many years. But in 1997 South Park came along and changed EVERYTHING. Here was a cartoon that contained foul language...and lots of it. It also contained violence, and we're talking blood, gunshots, impalement, body limbs being cut off, and more.

South Park also marked a new era in terms of celebrity involvement. Before then celebrities rarely ever appeared in cartoon shows, and on the rare occasions that they did they were treated like royalty...naturally. South Park changed all that. From then on it was No-More-Mr.Treat-Celebrities-Nicely. Pratically every famous face that has appeared in Trey Parker and Matt Stone's universe has been treated as badly as last week's newspaper...?...Sorry, that was the best metaphor I could think up.

Anyway South Park rung in a new era of attitude in cartoons and animated comedy that clearly inspired other shows. Futurama took a whole bunch of celebrities and stuck their heads in jars. Family Guy came along and showed no respect to Hollywood or any kind of celebrity club. Drawn Together featured cartoon violence and a long list of cartoon character parodies. Even the Simpsons started to get more lippy towards celebrities from around 2000 onwards.

Back to the South Park Season 1 DVD, this set contains 13 classic episodes. "Cartman Gets An Anal Probe" sees Kyle having problems with aliens and Cartman dealing with a strange device implanted in his nether regions. "Weight Gain 4000" sees Cartman Gain A LOT of weight whilst the town gets excited about the appearance of Kathy Lee Gifford, the first of many celebrities I learned the existance of thanks to this show. "Pinkeye" is a great Halloween episode that contains a lot of zombies; and in "Mecha-Streisand" the towns people rip right into Barbra Streisand (Who? Apparantly she's an American singer who's been selling albums for over 40 years).

In this season you also get to see the origins of the ideas that made South Park a great show; including Chef's singing about inappropriate stuff, Cartman's catchphrase "Screw you guys, I'm going home." and Kenny being brutally killed off episode after episode after episode.

The only downside to this DVD boxset is that there are not much in the way of extras. It's just a couple of short Christmas songs and a short scene involving American chatshow host, Jay Leno. But this is only a minor flaw which does not affect the final score on this review.

South Park is a fantastic show. South Park Season 1 is a fantastic DVD box set. Buy it and witness the origins of this fantastic show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its about time!, 24 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. A. Easton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
At last, after waiting and waiting and having to put up with 4 Season 1-4 boxsets that lack extras, South Park finally gets the DVD treat it deserves in the UK, and in style! 3 Boxsets at a time? I m a happy bunny! =D

This boxset contains the very first 13 episodes and if the America version is anything to go by, introductions on every episodes with the creaters, animated music videos, The boys presenting a winner in the 1997 Cable ACE Award in a short piece of animation and a Tonight Show Thanksgiving special, in which Jay Leno makes a special appearance in the boy's class -- and is asked incessant questions about his chin. While the episodes might seem old, they are classic in their right mind and as the show continues to go on, it gets better and better. Its certainly evolved more in years then other US cartoons (The Simpsons and Family Guy).

If you want to rewaind to 10 years ago to the classic episodes like Mr Hankey the Xmas Poo, Cartmans Mom is a Dirty S**t and the still funny Cartman Get An Anal Probe, then this is the boxset for you. If you perfer the newer episodes and these episodes arnt funny to you anymore, then go for the later seasons. Either way, you won't be dissappointed. ;D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best animated shows on TV, 10 Nov. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: South Park - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was watching TV downstairs one night, and changed the channel to find South Park on VIVA. The episode they were showing was called Spontaneous Combustion, which I'll review later as it's part of Season Three. Season One has some very good episodes, such as Cartman Gets An Anal Probe, Big Gay Al's Big Gay Boat Ride, An Elephant Makes Love to a Pig, Death, Starvin' Marvin, Damien, Mr. Hankey, the Christmas Poo and Tom's Rhinoplasty. I like all of the episodes of the first season, though my favourites would probably be Death, since Terrance and Phillip, a foul-mouthed, Canadian comedy duo, appear and would later appear in South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut, Tom's Rhinoplasty
(since Natasha Henstrige excels in the role of Ms. Ellen), Big Gay Al's Boat Ride, since it explored homosexuality in a positive way (along with some good barking from George Clooney), and Mr. Hankey, the Christmas Poo, since it was a South Park that had a lot of heart about Jews.

My favourite character would probably be Kenny, since he's so cute, his voice is so funny and that he dies a lot, but I also love Cartman, a foul-mouthed, obese boy, who gets some of the best lines in the show and gets to sing the song Kyle's Mom A Bitch, since he hates how Kyle's Mom always complains about things, such as Terrance and Philip, Kyle being in the Christmas Play, and how the boys go to see a very rude movie in the South Park movie. Overall, I'd highly recommended South Park to any fan of animated shows like the Simpsons and Family Guy.

Warning!!!! South Park is in no way for younger children, since it has a lot of rude humour, strong language, crude and sexual dialogue, though uses of the f-word and s-word are bleeped out, but that doesn't tone down South Park in any way, though teens and child-like adults will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How it all began..., 7 Dec. 2009
By 
G Parnell "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
After a long absence from South Park - namely after Kenny bowed out in Season 6, I recently decided to come back into the fold. Where better to start then at the beginning.

For anyone who doesn't know, South Park follows the adventures of Cartman, Kyle, Stan and Kenny in the (not-so-quiet) little mountain town of South Park. Featuring the sublime tones of the late Issac Hayes as the sex obsessed Chef, the obviously effeminate Mr Garrison and a whole host of other halarious characters, comedy has never been edgier or funnier in a long time.

Matt and Trey - the creators are always courting controversy with South Park, so if you're easily offended - you might want to give this a miss. However, if you're not at all P.C. then you may well enjoy this adult comedy.

Containing gems like Cartman Gets an Anal Probe, Weight Gain 4,000, and the classic Mr Hanky - the series was off to a rousing start.

The DVD contains little in the way of extras apart from a couple of music videos - Cartman singing O holy Night and getting the words wrong and being prodded with a cattle prod is an example of one of them. There are also introductions by Matt and Trey for every episode, with every one being their favorite episode.

So, if you're a South Park fan, its worth investing in this sturdy little boxset, climbing on the School Bus and taking a ride down to South Park,...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent first season., 17 May 2008
By 
Sarah Jones "SKJ" (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved South Park when it first appeared in 1997 and can remember watching it religiously and enjoying every moment. Seeing it again now after several years you realise that the humour of the first series was actually rather limited. If you look at the wonderfully twisted way the show has developed since then there really is no comparison. That said there is still plenty to enjoy in this series and it does serve as a fantastic introduction to Stan, Kyle, Kenny and of course, the lovably evil Cartman.

In summary this is an interesting and somewhat entertaining beginning for what has become arguably the best thing on television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Come on down to South Park, 28 Jun. 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: South Park - Season 1 (re-pack) [DVD] (DVD)
A new dvd edition for the first season of the cult cartoon.

Although it is just the same as the previous editions, just put into different and smaller packaging.

All thirteen twenty five minute long episodes are present here, spread over three discs.

It has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English German Spanish.

Subtitles: English Danish Dutch Finnish German Norwegian Spanish Swedish.

When these episodes first hit our screens back in the 1990's they captivated via their sheer originality and style. And they still stand up well enough today. Although some are better than others and you can see the animators and the voice actors learning their craft and style as the season goes along. The same is also true for the writing.

The third disc contains three short extras, all no longer than a couple of minutes.

'A South Park thanksgiving' with American chat show host Jay Leno visiting the school class.

Cartman 'O Holy night' music video.

Ned 'O little town of Bethlemen' music video.

The latter two were both tv adverts for the show, and all three of these are quite funny.

What may or may not seem funny is that every episode has a short spoof introduction from the two creators of the show. These run no more than a couple of minutes each but can't be skipped over so the only way past them is via fast forward. Some do contain some genuinely funny jokes. Some contain uncensored strong language. But the style may quickly grate.

Even so, you have the beginning of a classic tv phenomenon in a new and cheaper edition, so the product as a whole is pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where it all started, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
Kieran Smith (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Surely one of if not the best adult animation TV show of all time. And this is where it all began. The humble season 1, construction paper poor backdrops sounds terrible and to be honest compared to season 3 onwards you would be right to think that it was a cheap low produced programe. That being said it is still a very enjoyable series, focusing more on the life and people of south park rather than popular culture. There are still some classic episodes such as the Damien episode and of course the Mr Hankey episode. Also we have the Trey Parker and Matt Stone intros which they seemed to give up on half way through season 2, but they are quite enjoyable as well. A great season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Boxart (Not anything against South Park), 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Although I adore South Park Season 1 and the content of it itself are great, the sellers for this product are misleading to say the least. As a collector, I needed to replace my tattered and torn BOXSET of SP Season 1. However, when I received it, it came as the single DVD case, repackaged version. Be warned if you're a collector like me, that this is not the boxed version, instead the recently repackaged and simplified version.

Thought I'd point that out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars South Park 1, 23 Mar. 2012
This review is from: South Park - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The first season of South Park includes the following episodes

Disc 1
Cartman gets a Anal Probe
Weight Gain 4000
Volcano
Big Gay Als Big Gay Boat Ride

Disc 2

An Elephant makes love to a pig
Death
Pinkeye
Starvin Marvin

Disc 3

Mr Hankey The Christmas Poo
Damien
Toms RhinoPlasty
Mega=Streisand
Cartmans Mum is A Dirty SL*T

In every episode they is a description from the co creators with things about that episode, What they were going to call it and facts most people have never heard before

Season 1 is great and I recommend you buy this and it is a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Park - Season 1 (re-pack) [DVD]
South Park - Season 1 (re-pack) [DVD] by Trey Parker (DVD - 2011)
£9.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews