Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guys and Dolls plus bonus
This CD comes from the Delta ASWAS series of Film Musicals. The first 16 tracks come from the soundtrack album and the remaining 8 are bonus performances from a number of stars and include some Broadway performances not in the film too. The sound quality is crisp and the combination of film and bonus tracks make this an alternative compilation that for the price is great...
Published on 12 Nov 2008 by C. FULLER

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Transfer
A great version of a great musical deserves better than this CD. The sound quality is truly woeful and in mono (listen to the magical, stereo quality of the songs on the same DVD soundtrack). In fact, Stubby Kaye etc do a much better job on the film version rather than (I presume) these studio offerings which are in slightly different keys. Granted, it is nice to include...
Published on 8 May 2010 by Shmorganzola


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guys and Dolls plus bonus, 12 Nov 2008
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (Audio CD)
This CD comes from the Delta ASWAS series of Film Musicals. The first 16 tracks come from the soundtrack album and the remaining 8 are bonus performances from a number of stars and include some Broadway performances not in the film too. The sound quality is crisp and the combination of film and bonus tracks make this an alternative compilation that for the price is great value. OK, so there are no liner notes but you do get the track info and the cover looks great. This is part of a big series, at least 15, so look out for them if you want to access original recordings and more. Running time approx 64 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated musical!, 16 Mar 2010
By 
william beech (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (Audio CD)
This is a fine musical and this particular soundtrack cd does full justice to the score. No matter that Marlon Brando and Jean Simmons are not good singers these songs speak (or rather sing) for themselves. The supporting cast are excellent (Frank. Vivienne,Stubby etc) Ths cd is an ideal accompaniment to a very under rated musical film!
P.S. The bonus tracks are first rate too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Transfer, 8 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (Audio CD)
A great version of a great musical deserves better than this CD. The sound quality is truly woeful and in mono (listen to the magical, stereo quality of the songs on the same DVD soundtrack). In fact, Stubby Kaye etc do a much better job on the film version rather than (I presume) these studio offerings which are in slightly different keys. Granted, it is nice to include some of the remaining songs which were omitted from the film, but they cannot compensate for the shoddy transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (Audio CD)
Brilliant songs, brings it alive again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's old, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (Audio CD)
Not what I thought it would be. Should have seen the movie first - perhaps it would then be more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic music, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (Audio CD)
A boon to my daughter who has the female lead in this performance for her school summer show

She can listen to the songs and sing along to her heart's content (and I am in the background humming along with my memories)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (Audio CD)
I wanted this cd as a prize for a caption competition i'm runing on FB for the Hessle Theatre who are staging this production in March
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (Audio CD)
Great soundtrack. Loads of golden oldies and has certainly been a help with our theatre group's latest production of the stage show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guys and Dolls review, 24 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (Audio CD)
I was disappointed as the cd does not contain all the stage show sings. Also Marlon brando cant sing very well. I should have bought a stage show version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 20 Aug 2010
By 
Alan Cross (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guys and Dolls (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my Mum who is in her 80's and had it sent to her direct through the excellent Amazon redirect service.

She called me tonight in tears saying that she had been waiting since 1955 to find an original soundtrack to the first film that she and my Dad went to when they were courting. She said she had played it 3 times from start to finish and was as happy as I have ever heard her.

Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guys & Dolls
Guys & Dolls by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews