Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Brass Bands
This is the first brass band recording I've purchased.I am not a great enthusiast although I do enjoy brass bands when the mood takes me. This was a good choice to begin with and being on 2 cd's, very good value. It extends my music collection in another direction very nicely.
Published on 19 Nov 2010 by James from England

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely NOT the best of Brass Bands!
The producers of this CD are in serious breach of the Trade Descriptions Act.

Any serious brass banders will probably be warned off this product by the picture of a trumpet on the cover, before they even get to the track list full of recycled, years-old 'easy listening' arrangements or the fact that the only 2 bands featured, are not at the top of the list of...
Published 22 months ago by bookworm71


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Brass Bands, 19 Nov 2010
This review is from: Best Of Brass Bands (Audio CD)
This is the first brass band recording I've purchased.I am not a great enthusiast although I do enjoy brass bands when the mood takes me. This was a good choice to begin with and being on 2 cd's, very good value. It extends my music collection in another direction very nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely NOT the best of Brass Bands!, 24 Jun 2012
The producers of this CD are in serious breach of the Trade Descriptions Act.

Any serious brass banders will probably be warned off this product by the picture of a trumpet on the cover, before they even get to the track list full of recycled, years-old 'easy listening' arrangements or the fact that the only 2 bands featured, are not at the top of the list of the world's best bands.

The real concern is that non-brass banders could be buying this believing the title and then being misled into thinking that this really is the best the brass band world has to offer and this is the only sort of music we're capable of playing. Or that we play trumpets.

If you really want to hear the best of bands, then please buy a recent release from one of the truly best bands (currently the top 5 in the world rankings are Cory, Black Dyke, Fodens, Brighouse & Rastrick and Tredegar, or a CD from a recent 'Brass in Concert' or European Brass Band Championship. Whatever you do, please don't think this is the best we have to offer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Brass..., 16 July 2010
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This Music Digital 3CD set of The Williams-Fairey Engineering Band & The Grimethorpe Colliery Band comprises 51 excellent performances across a wide range of musical styles. This is great value. Listen out for "Tritsch Tratsch Polka"; "Carnival for Brass" & "Ballycastle Bay".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Brass Bands, 13 Jun 2011
By 
Neil Hicks (Geelong West, Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
What a wonderful, interesting and exciting set of CD's.
Great mixture of tunes and styles.
Always feel refreshed after listening to these CD's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hidden REISSUED item, without explanation..., 2 Mar 2011
This review is only aboutThe Best of Brass Bands(ASIN: B003LJ42Y2), and not about The Best of Brass Bands(ASIN: B00076SJ9G). A review described to the former is automatically duplicated to the latter. This accident is occured probably by the close similarity of the titles of both items.
...
Of all 51 tracks of this item, 31 are played by Williams Fairey Band and 20 by Grimethorpe Colliery Band. Not only the former 31 tracks are the same those of Best in Brass(composed of 37 tracks but six tracks of which, Joseph Horovitz's Concertino Classico and Eric Ball's Symphonic Suite for Brass Band:Festival Music, are omitted here), but also the latter 20 tracks are of Brass Band Classics.
So, this item will disappoint you if you already own either of them. Be careful not to waste money.
The performances are very nice, but this item itself is not good because it lacks the important information I mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great music to listen to for brass band music fans. grandad loves it and listens to it loads, although drives mum insane!!lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good brass band cd, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The very best of brass band music which is very varied with different types of music and instruments. My husband is very pleased with his present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 27 July 2013
By 
J. E. Lee "In Focus" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Brass Bands (Audio CD)
Probably the 'best' of brass when first recorded. Fortunately I don't have to listen to it as it was a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exellent popular music, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good selections played by top musicicians,to gets ones feet tapping and singing along,recommended to brass band enthusiasts,very very reasonably priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brass, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: Best Of Brass Bands (Audio CD)
Excellent CD chosen for our 21st wedding anniversary...brass ! Great price, speedy delivery and some lovely tunes to listen to while we had our romantic dinner for two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafbe34f8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews