Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take Care, Take, Care...But Don't Worry It's Good
So you say you like Post-rock? you've listened to EITS before? Then you know what to expect. Typically beautiful soundscapes that feel at times so fragile they could break and at others so washing in reverb and tremolo that you fear you may drown. Another great album from the Austin boys. Probably not as strong as The Earth is Not a Cold Dead Place (But lets face it that...
Published on 11 Aug 2011 by Cade Turner-Mann

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a step in the right direction
Reviews of Explosions in the Sky's 6th LP (if you count `The Rescue') have been wildly fluctuating. The Skinny has this record pegged as a career-defining best, while The Organ claims that it's an album that they will `probably never ever have the urge to ever go back to it when there's so many other things we could pull down from the shelf and partake of'. Drowned In...
Published on 23 May 2011 by Micky67


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take Care, Take, Care...But Don't Worry It's Good, 11 Aug 2011
By 
Cade Turner-Mann (Central Coast, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Take Care Take Care Take Care (Audio CD)
So you say you like Post-rock? you've listened to EITS before? Then you know what to expect. Typically beautiful soundscapes that feel at times so fragile they could break and at others so washing in reverb and tremolo that you fear you may drown. Another great album from the Austin boys. Probably not as strong as The Earth is Not a Cold Dead Place (But lets face it that album is near genius in the genre) but definitely as good or better (if you can compare)to All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone. Basically If you like Explosions in the Sky You'll like the album. Also for fans of For A Minor Reflection, and possibly Mogwai and Sigur Ros
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a step in the right direction, 23 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Take Care Take Care Take Care (Audio CD)
Reviews of Explosions in the Sky's 6th LP (if you count `The Rescue') have been wildly fluctuating. The Skinny has this record pegged as a career-defining best, while The Organ claims that it's an album that they will `probably never ever have the urge to ever go back to it when there's so many other things we could pull down from the shelf and partake of'. Drowned In Sound have chimed in too, inexplicably comparing it to strawberry ice cream, or something equally as stupid.

To be fair, the accompanying press notes don't do any favours either mentioning body pecrussion and Japanese singing bowls, while claiming that the band have taken giant creative leaps with this record. Which is quite ironic, given the fact Explosions have backed themselves into a corner with their inherently pretty, but one-dimensional instrumental sound, over the course of their career. On `Take Care...' this Texan quartet has, at least, come out fighting and are taking chances, rather than rehashing older ideas -- which I found to be a problem on their last LP `All of a Sudden, I Miss Everyone'.

Trembling Hands'is their attempt at some sort of commercial single and it works for the most part, with its fast-paced staccato percussion, obscured but infectious vocals and driving guitars, it's certainly different from what's gone on before. 'Be Comfortable, Creature' is also alive with new ideas, with the band purposefully taking their time and letting the song breathe amidst some gorgeous guitar interplay between Munaf Rayani and Michael James. 'Human Qualities', though, errs on the side of caution, sticking a lot more closely to their tried and tested sound, but adds some haunting, muted chants and electronics amongst the beautiful guitar parts and pitter-patter drums, before wasting such progress with one of those tiresome crescendo's so typical of the instrumental music scene. Likewise, closing number `Let Me Back In' shows off some progressive moves and more excellent guitar work before hitting yet another cul-de-sac of tired quiet/loud dynamics.

If 'Take Care...' is your first time experiencing Explosions in the Sky, I would imagine this would be quite wonderful, but if you've grown up with them particularly during their classic `Those Who Tell The Truth Shall Die, Those Who Tell The Truth Shall Live Forever' and `The Earth Is Not A Cold Place' periods, then this won't sound all that much different. It's pleasing to see them taking chances, but that `giant creative leaps' statement proves to be a false dawn, this is more a step in the right direction.

As a side note, the vinyl edition of `Take Care, Take Care, Take Care' features some of the most fantastic packaging ideas I have yet come across
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Again., 22 Jun 2011
This review is from: Take Care Take Care Take Care (Audio CD)
I have been following Explosions in the Sky since the release of The Earth is Not a Cold, Dead Place and have not been disappointed by any of their subsequent releases and was wondering how long they could keep up this track record. Take care, take care, take care is a record that follows on beautifully from their last. Most of the time, although we are wanting to hear something fresh from this band we don't really want them to mess with a genre that they could almost be said to have defined. So many bands have been compared to EITS as have they been compared to others, but what they do they really excel at and their new album is no exception. This record delivers six beautifully constructed songs and although their sound is instantly recognisable they have defiantly brought their sound forward a step or two. Fans of previous albums will not be let down, while previous releases have gently entered into more accessible territory, this one has a fresh clean feel. For those unfamiliar with this band, this record is as good as any by way of an introduction into just what they do. They are a band that manages to create something far greater than the sum of
their instruments, they are able to take you on several 8 to 10 minute journeys on one record, all to different but equally beautiful and dramatic places. Take care, take care, take care is no exception, they have put a great deal of thought and time into producing yet another brilliant record that could happily sit in a collection and be re-visited for many a year to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Those Who Tell the Truth..., 31 May 2011
This review is from: Take Care Take Care Take Care (Audio CD)
Whereas Explosions In the Sky's first record; 'Those Who Tell the Truth Shall Die, Those Who Tell the Truth Shall Live Forever' often explodes into cathartic maelstrom and 'The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place' builds tension and apprehension into crests of pure release, 'Take Care' seems almost content. They're simply playing what they know with their hearts and as a consequence, the music therein sounds utterly effortless and each segment flows beautifully into the next with ease and classy precision.

That chiming guitar interplay and rising anxious string work is unique to them and is played out beautifully throughout the album, yet they don't rely as heavily on it as they have done in the past. 'Take Care' is more varied; 'Human Qualities' uses an electronic drum pattern at the beginning, 'Trembling Hands' is much faster and more frantic than anything they've written, 'Be Comfortable, Creature' uses an ebow to great effect. All these new and varied elements serve to make 'Take Care' Explosions' most varied album and therefore up there with their most memorable work.

Explosions have once again crafted a beautiful instrumental rock album. It's not as cathartic as their first and it's not going to top '...Cold Dead Place' as their "go-to" album but there are genuinely no other bands that are as good as Explosions at what they do and any new music by them is received as a breath of fresh air.
'Take Care' isn't a perfect album mind you, and critics would argue that they're somewhat a one trick pony, but when the trick is this mesmerising, I don't care in the slightest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I gave it five stars..., 7 Dec 2011
By 
Kevin N. Docherty "KDOC" (SEATTLE, WA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take Care Take Care Take Care (Audio CD)
because Amazon's criteria for 5 starts is simply "I love it", and I do. That is not to say that you will.

This album incorporates some new ground, but crucially lends itself to an older, more fragile sound. A perfect example of the journey EITS takes you on is my personal favourite song; "Postcards From 1952". The song begins quietly, eventually building and taking you on a journey I can only describe as mesmerising. Delicate, but powerful. This sums up why I love this band. 'Trembling Hands' has an altogether new feel to it, and is more bit sized chunk of EITS, and perhaps the most accessible song on the album to the non-fanatic.

Having been to see them perform this new album live, it is obvious they are trying to give the audience a more interactive and varied account of themselves, incorporating sounds and nuances that are open to interpretation. I would contrast this with songs like "The Birth and Death of the Day", where you know every note and you are expecting it before they play it. On this album you feel they are trying to give more scope.

I love everything about this band, and feel that I grow with them on every album they release. New realisations are made, new ideas come to mind and new landscapes are formed.

For the small price of an album, I can only thank the band deeply, they have given to me so much more than music, and for that I would be lying to award less than five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refined and poignant, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Take Care Take Care Take Care (Audio CD)
Take Care... is EITS's sound refined and as moving as all their other albums. A wonderful record with elements from all their previous albums that seem to have been combined to make a complete whole. I swear time passes so much quicker when listening to this album! One that will stay in the cd player for days. Buy, buy, buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music, 30 Jun 2014
By 
pleased with the item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Songs great.... Mini poster not so...., 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take Care Take Care Take Care (Audio CD)
The poster was tiny and just of a brick wall.... But apart from that the songs are good.... A great band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 30 May 2014
By 
B. Cope - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take Care Take Care Take Care (Audio CD)
Atmospheric, quality band.
This record really hits top form with some great tunes, take you to another world. Highly reccommend this if just getting into EITS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Piece of Beauty, 23 April 2011
This review is from: Take Care Take Care Take Care (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of EITS for a while and eagerly anticipated their latest release which did not let me down. The whole album is fantastic but parts of it are simply stunning. If you are a fan of instrumental guitar-led music then you should check this album out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Take Care Take Care Take Care
Take Care Take Care Take Care by Explosions in the Sky (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews