Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acer X110P
Pros:

Cheap (relatively)
Quiet (relatively)
Small (relatively)
Good build
Good quality HD video watching and game playing
Forced resolutions (got to 1280x720 when playing pc games)
2 types of 3D (allegedly-havent used: DLP and Nvidia)
Easy to set up
Can do 16:9 and 4:3

Cons:

800x600 may be a problem...
Published on 29 April 2011 by Lawrence

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No luck getting this to work with Nvidia 3D Vision
I've been using Nvidia's 3D Vision system on my monitor for a year now and loving it! That's why when I saw this projector at such a reasonable price I jumped at the opportunity to get one. This projector is supposedly compatible with Nvidia's 3D technology but I have not had any luck with it yet!

When setting up the software, the projector is not recognised as...
Published on 8 Oct 2011 by Christopher Giordimaina


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acer X110P, 29 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Pros:

Cheap (relatively)
Quiet (relatively)
Small (relatively)
Good build
Good quality HD video watching and game playing
Forced resolutions (got to 1280x720 when playing pc games)
2 types of 3D (allegedly-havent used: DLP and Nvidia)
Easy to set up
Can do 16:9 and 4:3

Cons:

800x600 may be a problem with those not on a budget (but totally manageable)
Manual CD doesn't work on mac (only the manual and 3D instructions is on CD)
No on projector buttons apart from zoom toggle and on button (but remote slots into projector to become 'the buttons')THIS IS WRONG-REALISED THE LED WORKS AS A BUTTON
no 5 prong composite input
More equipment is needed for the 3D.

I've been looking/comparing projectors for about a year and was about to buy the Optoma DS316L. I didn't want to spend over £250 but wanted a good brand and build. There's a HD projector on Amazon for under £250 that gets good reviews, but i didn't like the look of it. Coincidently, on the day I went to buy, this had recently been released and had alleged 3D. I was slightly worried about the resolution before I bought as a friend has the Optoma DS316L and said he wished he bought a HD projector. After it was delivered I was disappointed at the size of the image. I had the projector about 2.5m away from the screen and the image looked like a really big screen tv. I wanted bigger (You can calculate your projected image online before you buy: google search). Also the resolution looked poor. I had the projector hooked up to my MBP and the text looked jagged. Its common sense, but you also have to realise that the further your projector the less vivid the image will be. If you dont care about screen size and have it close to your wall/screen you'll get a very bright image (maybe even too bright, 2700 lumens works great). I didn't regret the purchase at this point though, still, everything changed after a few uses. Not sure if it is true but it is as if the bulb needs to be worn in to get the best effects. I know have my projector around 4m away from my screen and the image is massive and still bright. Also works well in lit rooms (depending on the positioning of the lights). The resolution of the screen text is still a little jagged but watching videos and playing games are great and clear, even though the projector isn't HD. If you need a cheap big screen I recommend getting some custom cut roller blind material from John Lewis. Cost me £12 and my screen size is approx 130x240cm. recommend the X110P if on a budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great budget 3D Projector, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA)

This is a great 3D projector if you are on a low end budget and want 3D experience. I managed to watch 3D on this projector using following setup.

1. Acer X110p 3D ready projector
2. At least dual core computer with AMD 6450 graphics card £30.00
3. Stereoscopic player software
4. DLP 3D Glasses, Only Vidimensio 3d glasses works with this projector

Connect your PC with this projector using VGA cable. Set the screen resolution to 1024x768 and go to advanced setting and set the refresh rate to 120HZ. Now with projector remote control start menu and turn on he DLP 3D. It will give you the message that 3D is now on.

Start stereoscopic player software on PC. From the file menu click Open. Open the Side-by-side MKV 3D film file and set the setting left side first. You movie will start playing. Put the stereoscopic player to full screen mode and turn on the 3D glasses and ware them.

You should have a brilliant 3D film in your living room. This is an excellent 2D projector too.

The only negative point is there is no HDMI port, but that is the reason it is cheap. Also, stereoscopic player doesn't play Blu-ray 3D directly. You need to have MKV side-by-side file.

I hope this helps to people like me on budget.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality for the price, light and portable, 6 May 2012
By 
wellness pharmacist "Hi I love Audible as I c... (swansea, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Really pleased with this little projector. Really easy to set up and works nicely with windows or mac. Virtually no set-up but can adjust size of picture again quite easily.
Very light to carry, yet quite robust, slip it in a neoprene 17" laptop case!!

USEFUL TIP- buy the Kensignton presenter that comes with it- again plug and play- flick slides forwards and back, also with laser pointer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Very good, it is true that you need to download the instructions which are 54 pages long but all the rest really good, the image it is fantastic even in a sunny day with the window open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good machine, good value, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Bought for school use this is not the first Acer projector I have bought. They keep changing the model and tinkering with the design and features but in all it is a good machine at a good price. Set up is very easy allowing back and/or ceiling-mounted projection through the built-in menu system. It also displays a test card which is useful when you are trying to centre the projection on a fixed screen. It can be linked directly to a computer through a vga lead or to other devices via a standard phono video lead. I have two criticisms: there are no built-in speakers, although these are usually pretty useless anyway, so it needs separate sound; the screws needed to attach it to a ceiling mount are not readily available from DIY stores (I had to order some through Amazon - where else).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No luck getting this to work with Nvidia 3D Vision, 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I've been using Nvidia's 3D Vision system on my monitor for a year now and loving it! That's why when I saw this projector at such a reasonable price I jumped at the opportunity to get one. This projector is supposedly compatible with Nvidia's 3D technology but I have not had any luck with it yet!

When setting up the software, the projector is not recognised as a 3D display. Moreover, the settings menu in the projector itself only allows switching between 3D Off and 3D DLP - No Nvidia 3D option even though the documentation that came with the CD clearly states, "You have bought a projector which is compatible with Nvidia 3D"

Apart from all that, the Acer X110P is not listed on Nvidia's website as a supported projector and there is no Nvidia 3D Vision Ready logo on the product.

I hope I'm doing something wrong and I will update this review if I am but for now, please be aware of this issue if you plan on using this product with an Nvidia 3D system.

Having said all that, it's an excellent 2D projector so far and no complaints on that end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Good product do not delay! I have transfered from a hd 22 luxor tv onto this. I have not connected in to tv yet not sure if you can. Have connected it to xbox via a scart-rwy and the quality of image is the same as a tv without a hdmi. Noise level is suprisingly low (less than a running xbox). Colours are vibrant and can be seen fine with light on, although with window on and bright sun it suffers a little. Great quality for price comes with vga and remote and has a good quality build / finish. Packaging and delivery with amazon prime next day(free!) Via dpd(?) Was excellent even specified delivery time. I'll try post some pics. Fini- this product is brill! Oh, btw i'm currently using this on a mocha wall (no screen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this projector a while ago now and its great apart from 'the rainbow effect' which i see, this is not the fault of Acer but it's my eyes, many people see 'the rainbow effect' it is common in DLP projectors but still a fab projector!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good product., 10 Jun 2012
This review is from: Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I would recommend this very highly. It is excellent quality, has a very good screen resolution and is very quiet. I have used it during the day with my curtains closed, the room was not dark, just dim light, and the projector was easily bright enough. The sound is awesome when connected to a surround sound system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impressed, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. D. M. Pobert "prob" (south wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acer X110P DLP Projector (nVidia 3D Vision Ready, 4000:1, 2700 ANSI Lumens, 800x600 SVGA) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Got this for my local pub when the one they had broke down didn't expect it to be great for that money but was very impressed so were the people in the pub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews