Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the subtitles
I don't intend to offer a full review here, just make a couple of remarks regarding this version of the film. I originally bought the collector's edition of Akira when it first came out on VHS. I love the film and it is as good as its reputation, so if you've never seen it and are hesitating about buying it, go right ahead.
But just a few words for those hardcore...
Published on 11 Sep 2003 by R. Stevens

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Are you positive that you are able to control such a power?"
It is truly a shame that this film has two opposite facets, kind of like Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. The animation, graphics and attention to detail is among the best I have ever seen. However, the overall quality of this production is damaged by the lousy storyline, which is hard to follow and loses focus quickly. Being and anime fan, I realize that this is still a movie...
Published on 28 Oct 2007 by Sebastian Fernandez


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 star movie, 2 star DVD, 25 Mar 2002
This review is from: Akira [DVD] (DVD)
We all know the movie's brilliant, so here's a few comments about the DVD.
1. (The obvious one)
Would it have hurt to include the original dub?
2. The production images
Unless they're hidden somewhere on the disc, they're not there. They were on the US disc though.
3. The Gallery
Instead of including hi-res images, you get 10 low-res images in a stupid border.
4. The Street Fighter/perfect blue/ghost in the shell trailers?
These aren't extras, they're "advertisements"
5. The production report
The R1 version had a jump-to-scene menu. Also, the report was in Japanese with English subs. The dubbed voices would put you to sleep.
6. The menus
They aren't too bad, but the R1 version had much cooler menus that aren't just a cheap computer graphic.
7. The Logo
The Japanese writing for Akira doesn't appear anywhere on the R2 box or Dvd.
8. Make your own Trailer
Basically it gives a list of 8 scenes, and lets you pick 5, and put them in any order you want. It's a stupid feature.
9. Multiple choice quiz
5 silly questions to give you access to the "VIP" area of the website.
10. Link
Is this a special feature? According to the DVD it is...
I've a few other complaints, mainly centering around the R1 version being better than the R2 version.
If you have a multi-region player, buy the US version. It's much the same as the R2 version, just slightly better, especially the production images including deleted backgrounds and character sketches etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 23 Jan 2004
Katsuhiro Otomo's masterpiece is a must for any Anime or Matrix fan. With striking visuals and a unique storyline this film is superb.
The year is 2019, 30 years after Tokyo was destroyed in a secret weapons project. Child-hood friends Tetsuo and Kaneda are on a bike rampage through Neo-Tokyo, and Tetsuo is taken by the military, and subjected to experiments that make him a powerful physic. Tetsuo releases his rage on a city that has persecuted him.
The film contains great characters, a good plot, some wonderful dialogue and great action. Some of the best motorbike chase sequences since the last great one. I would give it more than five stars, but Amazon(great site) has restricted 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Anime film, merely the most popular, 10 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Akira (VHS Tape)
When I saw this film I found it dissapointing. It succumbed to risk that a lot of Anime take; by throwing in plenty of action at the beginning, and then bogging the audience down in confusing plots and strange characters.
This film would be much better if I had seen it with subtitles- the speech is so well mouthed by the characters that dubbing really spoils it. 'Akira' is also a victim of comic-to-film crossover, and so features unnecessary characters and odd spouts of dialogue that have no relevance to the film. The ending and the events leading up to it are tedious. In fact, it is not surprising that a 120 episode comic series could be turned into a single film, as there is very little content in any manga comic.
On the plus side, the animation in this film is superb, and every little detail is considered. But there is better anime out there, and it is unfortunate that this film got all the credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, but awe-inspiring too, 13 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Akira (VHS Tape)
OK, I have to confess that I didn't get the plot to Akira the first time round - probably because the version I first watched was subtitled (unlike this video version, which is dubbed into English) and it's nigh-on impossible to read subtitles and simultaneously take in the 100-mph animation and plot-twists of this Japanese anime movie. The story features a biker hero accompanied by a group of psychic friends, taking on corrupt scientists and politicians in order to save Tokyo / Neo-Tokyo. And that's about all I can say I fully comprehended! The animation is awesome - the flickering tube lighting in a bar scene near the film's opening is uncannily realistic, and the animated high-speed motorbike scenes generate as much audience adrenaline as any real-action vehicle chase. Maybe someone else who's seen Akira and also understood it could post an Amazon review to help me out...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars :-(, 22 Mar 2013
Hasnt turned up yet but will wait a lil longer before I make a proper complaint as have had a few probs with online orders lately. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped, and mediocre., 7 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Akira (VHS Tape)
It's not a bad movie. Far from it. It's just increadably overhyped. It doesn't live up to the hype surrounding it, unfortunatly. But that's not saying that it's a poor movie. It's good, but just good. Nowhere near as revolutionary or earthshaking as you would hear it as though. There are many anime that surpass this. Just be aware of this when you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK now, but in its heyday this was the 'trend setter!', 22 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Akira (VHS Tape)
I beg to differ with all the reviews that have been shown to you! The scenes of violence really aren't that bad and should not put you off watching this epic anime. 'Devilman' I believe is worse as is the classic although dated 'Fist of the North star'if we are going to judge the graphic violence content against Akira. The plot is also refered to many as 'confusing' this is far from the truth! In fact it is due to the lack of infomation that makes the plot annoying at times as you want to know more. The animation is still impressive and the story line is fairly gripping. Although do purchase the original as I feel that the casting for english voices is too weak and that the character developments do not interest you as they dont seem right! (although there are little developments- except one explosive one) In summary this was a 'trendsetter' in that it was 2 hours long and had a half decent plot. It is the one to watch although dont expect miracles like some reviews say so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overrated!, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Akira [Blu-ray] [1988] (Blu-ray)
I watch a lot of Anime and this was something I heard about a while back. I watched it all the way through and I just found it boring and slow. It lacked any sense of entertainment and I don't think it was anywhere near 'masterpiece' status. It could have been better, but it just wasn't done right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Akira [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've only recently started to watch anime and since Akira was meant to be one of the classics, I decided to give it a go.

This film is not to my taste, although the blurb made it sound interesting. Part of it could be that I couldn't relate in any way to the main characters, Tetsuo and Kaneda, two members of a biker-gang in Neo-Tokyo after much of the original city had been destroyed in a nuclear blast. They just weren't likeable, at least not for me.

It was far too violent, gory and bloody for me and every time a female character appeared they were either insulted or worse, with one early scene in which a girl is having her blouse ripped off her before being attacked by the baddies. It seemed to serve no purpose except to show some nudity.

As for the DVD itself, the picture quality and sound were very good, but the film just didn't do anything for me and I couldn't finish it.

I didn't like it and won't be watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest and well made animes ever produced, 7 Jun 2003
This is the first dedicated 'parody' anime I have ever seen, the basis of it is to make fun of other animes, yet keeping womewhat of a stroyline to keep people interested.
The picture is very crisp and clear, everything that would be expected from any new release of anime DVD. The animation although not being some of the best I have ever witnessed, it is very fluent and amazing for something produced on a low budget in 1998 (it is better animated than many high budget anime series I have seen).
Being a purist, I would usually watch an anime in Japanese, with subtitles, but the quality of the dubbing with this series is (in my opinion) superior to the original, so I can enjoy it perfectly without having to read subtitles.
The extras are good, with the creditless intro and outro, and the original intro and outro, and the original Japanese video piracy warning (not really much use, as it is in Japanese). But the best extra, and it could be argued, one of the best extras on any anime DVD, Ad-Vid notes. These popup whenever something distincly Japanese is done, or said, explaining what it means, they also help explain the parody that is currently taking place (tell you which Anime it is from). Along with this are some production sketches (interesting for any fan of manga or anime) and some previews of other animes ADV are producing.
With 5 episodes per DVD this is excellent value for money and an opportunity that should not be missed. I was not disappointed, and i'm sure you won't be either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Akira [Blu-ray] [1988]
Akira [Blu-ray] [1988] by Katsuhiro Ôtomo (Blu-ray - 2011)
£7.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews