Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An EXCELLENT read
Above all, I am very impressed by Kennedy`s writing and am hoping to find more material by him. He vividly depicts not just the
excitement of soldiering but also the boredoms and frustrations. The descriptions of desperate battles and the storming of
the Iranian Embassy are exhilarating. Problems relating specifically to the soldier, his struggles with...
Published on 4 Aug 2011 by Roger Bickle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soldier I
An enjoyable book to anyone interested in the characters behind the SAS and their exploits - but to my mind, the background and events marred by the ever-increasing element of self justification and explanations in mitigation that creep in.
More and more ex SAS members are leaping onto the lucrative bandwagon of telling "their story" and almost inevitably,...
Published 23 months ago by Mikey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An EXCELLENT read, 4 Aug 2011
Above all, I am very impressed by Kennedy`s writing and am hoping to find more material by him. He vividly depicts not just the
excitement of soldiering but also the boredoms and frustrations. The descriptions of desperate battles and the storming of
the Iranian Embassy are exhilarating. Problems relating specifically to the soldier, his struggles with civilian life on leaving the army
and with post-combat stress are extremely well handled by Mr. Kennedy. I would recommend this book Soldier `I` to anyone with
an interest in warfare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Originals, 22 Sep 2008
This review is from: Soldier "I" S.A.S. (Paperback)
I read this book as a very young soldier in the Paras with no aspirations at the time of joining the Regiment. This book was the first of the biographies that explained who and what the Regiment was about for those that could only stand in their shadows.

Someone on this review gave the novel three stars because the author only fought in two actions; Mirbat and "a small role" in the Iranian Embassy. Make no mistake, Mirbat is a regimental legend and the Iranian Embassy Siege (however small a part - could there be one?) changed the Regiment's image across the world stage forever. Small part? Two actions? Far from true.

One of the original stories from inside the SAS and still a benchmark for other true (and some untrue) stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and gutsy, 26 Jun 2011
A really good read. An honest and gutsy account of life in the Special Forces. These guys are real heroes - why is it our country celebrates their successes but treats them so shabbily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The author of this book is the 'real deal'..., 17 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Soldier "I" S.A.S. (Hardcover)
Well written, revealing and breathtakingly realistically described, especially a rare eyewitness account of the 'Battle of Mirbat'. Soldier "I" has been through it all, from Aden through Falklands, Embassy siege, Gibraltar. Very near the top in its genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read from a national hero, 12 Nov 2010
By 
R. Johansen (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This excellent book rattles on at a cracking pace as the author describes his astonishing career in the special forces.
I don't usually go for this type of book but Pete Winner was not just an heroic soldier but he is also a wonderful storyteller. I could not put it down.
We need a land that is fit for heroes and men like Pete Winner are the real life heroes who can make it so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read, 15 Aug 2010
By 
S. Ramsey "Suu" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just a brilliant read. Captivating, real, raw, tragic and funny. Pete's recollection of the Battle of Mirbat is breathtaking, as is his account of the Iranian Embassy assault. As someone who watched it live on TV it's great to read the story of the people I was watching. But there's more to it than just the high-profile operations the public hears about. This isn't macho self-glorification, it's a true story written by someone who was there. Highly recommended. I defy anyone not to be moved by the last paragraph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing story, 27 Jun 2010
I couldn't put this book down.
What a truly amazing story of an SAS Hero. I really am amazed how anyone could make it alive through any of the stories in this book, let alone all of them.
Soldier I is a true SAS Hero. ( 5 stars )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soldier I SAS, 14 Aug 2012
I personnally know this superb soldier having served with him for 6 years. Everything he has written is absolutely true and none of it is exagerrated. We had many adventures togather some of which are unmentionable.He is a man of great humour and wit. He is also someone who would never walk away when trouble comes knocking on your door. a great patriot and fighter for justice. The book is a warts and all read and is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling., 31 May 2008
By 
T. Glover (watts,LA but now london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soldier "I" S.A.S. (Paperback)
Right from climbing the jebel massif in Oman to his last millitary expreience in the falklands this book is a truly compelling adrenline fuelled roller coaster of a book. I'll leave you to buy this book and read it without me rabbiting on too much all ican say is, is that its one of the best SAS books out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soldier I, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable book to anyone interested in the characters behind the SAS and their exploits - but to my mind, the background and events marred by the ever-increasing element of self justification and explanations in mitigation that creep in.
More and more ex SAS members are leaping onto the lucrative bandwagon of telling "their story" and almost inevitably, the standards are going to decrease, because it is but a new slant n the same story as related by many others before.
Perhaps the most interesting elements rlate to the composition of the man behind the events, rather than the events themselves..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews