Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the luck of the Irish-Michael I worry about you son
What a gem of a tv series this was. Shame it never went beyond 3 seasons. I first saw it on Virgin media. The two main actors aren't American but you wouldn't know it. Inspired casting and brilliant scripts keep you hanging on to watch the Caffey boys venture for control of there worlds of organized crime and politics. Loosely based on Whitey bulger and his bro in the...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by Eamonn P. Rooney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Exactly what the stars say - it's ok!
Published 4 days ago by Danika


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the luck of the Irish-Michael I worry about you son, 15 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
What a gem of a tv series this was. Shame it never went beyond 3 seasons. I first saw it on Virgin media. The two main actors aren't American but you wouldn't know it. Inspired casting and brilliant scripts keep you hanging on to watch the Caffey boys venture for control of there worlds of organized crime and politics. Loosely based on Whitey bulger and his bro in the Boston underworld of Irish criminal gangs.They were like depicted in this show protected by an FBI 'friend' who ended up doing time for his dealings with the Irish gangs.
If interested there is a facinating short location doc on You tube 'Brotherhhood.' Where the writer and one of the leading cast visit locations for the series. Jason Issacs is brilliant in his role as Michael Caffey the returning gangster who tries to claw back power and control from Freddie Cork. It is hard hitting and a times brutal. If you liked The Sopranos you will love this.
It shows in my opinion the gap between US dramas and our weak 'soapy' Brit dramas. Admittedly one episode of this or The Sopranos cost more than 8 episodes of a UK one. Even the Aussies in such great series as Underbelly show up our pathetic offerrings such as 'Father & Son' or 'Family.' as uninpired.So grab yourself a bit of truly brilliant drama you can revisit again and again. Oh and top of the morning to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HARD, REALISTIC, DARK AS THE SHIELD AND MAYBE MORE!, 14 May 2011
By 
Anna Sulli (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I was attracted to buy this due to an ad email received from Amazon.UK, and after reading the reviews of the show, and now I am really satisfied to have bought it. It is very very hard and realistic, dark as THE SHIELD but with a vein of real sadness and desperation in it, which in THE SHIELD was probably hidden by the police actions which here are not in the plot, of course. And anyone has noticed that there is no music, no music at all during the episodes but only in the last moments of each episode proceeding then on the end titles? It occurred to me that the total absence of music concours deeply in the total mood of sadness, desperation and squallor of the whole plot. In conclusion, BRILLIANT, SUPERB TV SHOW, but not one of course for any little smile, not even now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Drama, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
If you like me and you loved The Sopranos, The Wire, Breaking Bad and Sons of Anarchy then you'll love this. Another great American series. Tragic that it only ran for 2.5 series (series 3 is reduced to 9 episodes) as it's right up there with the others I've named who all ran for longer.
Another tragedy is showtime won't list a soundtrack. Some of the closing titles songs are superb, different one each episode, but unless you know them you won't know the artist.

A great show, just didn't run long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars engrossing, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Henry Cox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The Brotherhood was purchased due to the opinions posted at Amazon, and never hearing of the series before bought on faith of these opinions. It proved again that the feedback posted was unbiased and truthful and once again gave trust in the quality of the buyers writing honest opinions which I am grateful.
My wife never enjoyed the Sopranos (I was a huge fan). But she did fully enjoy the Brotherhood which we watched over a 2 week period 2 episodes per night, last night being the final 2 episodes which we made a special occasion with a glass of Irish whiskey for me and a Baileys for my wife we settled down to complete the series. We were not disappointed, we fully enjoyed the climax of the Brotherhood but did not want it to end.
So for those of you wondering if these buyer opinions should be trusted, on this occasion I fully condone the feedback and add my whole hearted recommendation of a TV series which included great characters, actors and script which will keep you transfixed and wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tv drama, 30 July 2012
This review is from: Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I would highly recommend this drama series which tackles issues like the pitfalls of a gangster's life, political corruption, the role of the family and what loyalty means to different people. It is very well acted, gritty in most parts and well paced. My only gripes are that the humour is virtually non existent and the unrealistic lack of involvement by the Rhode Island Homicide department in investigating murder cases. It is league below `The Wire' and `The Sopranos' but if you are a fan of these shows then `Brotherhood' is still worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brotherhood, 11 Oct 2012
This review is from: Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Brotherhood must be one of the forgotten gems of the last decade of American TV. For the sake of being lazy, it feels a combination of the Sopranos and The Wire, melding the tight character focus of the former and the sprawling distinctive setting and themes of the latter.

At its heart, it is about the story of two brothers, one who is a rising star in local politics, the other who is a mid level gangland enforcer with an eye on greater prizes. Set in the somewhat unglamourous and (in the UK at least) relatively unknown city of Providence, Rhode Island, specifically in the rundown Irish neighbourhood of The Hill.

What makes this show great is its relative unshowiness, none of the characters feel particularly larger than life, the acting never feels award bait and there is not the sense of slight self-importance that there was in the Wire or Sopranos. But rather this show's greatness lies in the fact that character development and plot development are not seperate issues. In fact much of what propels the story along is the character's own quirks, hopes, inner darkness and stupidity.

On the face of it, the story could be a rather cheesy affair if it was not for the this. However the contrasting personality of the Caffee brothers makes for gripping viewing even if the 'brotherhood' part is rather overstated. Tommy Caffee, the politician is played with a mixture of idealism, ruthless ambition, love of his family and Macchiavellian cunning. Michael Caffee (played by a career best Jason Isaacs) is the gangster, damaged and haunted by possible mental issues. A genius screw up either about to take over the world or bring his empire to self-destruction.

The supporting cast are all uniformly excellent, from Declan, the Caffee brother's conflicted childhood friend turned investigating cop to Rose, the family matriarch increasingly battered by the shifts of the modern world.

And more than anything Providence proves a setting equal to New Jersey or Baltimore. It is portrayed as a city once dominated by the Irish but now changing a rate of knots through waves of immigration. It is a divided city torn between close-knit tradition and anonymous modernity. This filters to the criminal economy where the once mighty Irish Mob play second fiddle to the Italians and watch over their shoulder at Asian and Latin gangs gunning for their place.

The greatest shame is that Brotherhood ends when it could have about to have a hit a peak. The show does end and is not left dangling, but has enough intriguing loose ends to wonder what might've been. Sadly it was cancelled and will never likely continue.

However don't let that deter you from one of the great modern crime dramas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent drama that didn't seem to get the recognition it deserved. Not quite as good as The Wire but pretty close!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NOT SINCE THE SHIELD HAS SOMETHING THIS BRILLIANT CAME ALONG, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. M. Corfield "gudbuyer" (Cleveland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Not since the superb Shield has something this brilliant came along, all of the acting is superb throughout and the storylines never dissappoint, the downwood spiral of Michael Caffe (Jason Isaacs) is amazing to watch, his brother the bent Politician brings to light what really happens in politics and the brilliant Gangster Freddie played by Fuscoe from Person of Interest.
This Boxset appealed to me on many different levels , i took 4 days off work and watched this in one stretch as i couldnt wait to see what was going to happen next - absolutely superb if you like gangsters and bent politicians and bent police dramas - this is up there with the best.
If you dont buy this you will regret it.
GRIPPING AND ABSORBING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good show, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent show, not as good as Breaking Bad but still very good. If you liked The Sopranos you should like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Power, Corruption, Criminality and Politics., 30 Oct 2013
By 
Stephen Gill "SG" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
A highly charged story of family relationships, politics, corruption and crime all taken fro granted as part of the normality of the American way of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD]
Brotherhood - Complete 1-3 Box Set [DVD] by Jason Isaacs (DVD - 2011)
21.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews