Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't fault it!
Was considering if I should buy this cheap one or spend more on a more fancy version. Am really glad I chose this one. Very simple to set up, great to use and a bargain. Highly recommend.
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by pauloherbie

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good value, keyboard below par
This is a good value wireless set-up.

The mouse, though small and not shaped to sit in the palm of your hand like traditional MS mice, is fine to use for long periods and has an off switch to save battery used with leaving the laser on.

Unfortunately, the keyboard makes some basic ergonomic mistakes which make it hard to use fluently. For example,...
Published on 17 Feb 2012 by Pete S


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't fault it!, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Brown Box) (Accessory)
Was considering if I should buy this cheap one or spend more on a more fancy version. Am really glad I chose this one. Very simple to set up, great to use and a bargain. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good value, keyboard below par, 17 Feb 2012
By 
Pete S (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Brown Box) (Accessory)
This is a good value wireless set-up.

The mouse, though small and not shaped to sit in the palm of your hand like traditional MS mice, is fine to use for long periods and has an off switch to save battery used with leaving the laser on.

Unfortunately, the keyboard makes some basic ergonomic mistakes which make it hard to use fluently. For example, there is no gap between the 3 main sections of the keyboard so the "Insert" key is directly next to the "Backspace" key - this makes touch typing less effective as more errors are caused. Also, the "Escape" key is wider than usual so the "F1" key is shifted along to be where the "F2" key should be and so on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keyboard Brilliance, 27 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Brown Box) (Accessory)
The keyboard has the right shape, size and number of keys to allow anyone to use this product efficiently without having to wonder what all the other bits do, and never use anyway. Excellent value and good styling gives a great performance to both the keyboard and mouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Performce and Great Value, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Adam Finn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Brown Box) (Accessory)
I have just bought this product for the second time here on Amazon and felt compelled to leave a review [I stamped hard on the keyboard (unintentionally) and seriously damaged its response - then after I hoovered up the USB reciever (also unintnetionally), I decided it was about time I renewed the product].

When I first bought this wireless set-up I wanted to make sure I tired the product in the shop first. Some may find this strange, but there is a particular spring in some keyboard buttons that I prefer and find it much easier to type on. Of the ones I tried in the shop (I think at least five varieties) this felt the most natural to touch type on.

As a word of warning (and as mentioned in another review here) the button sections have been squeezed in together. So the spaces that usually separate the 4 main sections (Letters, Functions, Insert etc, Numberpad) are non-existent. For me this did not present a huge problem.

I use this set up for my laptop so that I can link it up to my widescreen TV and operate it from the couch. But of course it can be used with a desktop. The device comes with batteries for the keyboard and mouse (2 X AAA and 2 X AA). The USB receiver is fairly inconspicuous.The mouse has a scroll wheel and a battery indicator.

Apparently it works with a 30ft range - in practice (and this may be to do with other signals around my flat) it tends to get flaky at half that range. But should work fine at 15 to 20 feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Brown Box) (Accessory)
For the price I find this wireless keyboard and mouse excellent. Works well with my windows 8 laptop. I am so impressed with the one I purchased a year ago I got another one for our second laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars straightforward, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Brown Box) (Accessory)
Simple wireless keyboard that works well and has no problems integrating into Windows 7 and 8.1. As I'm left handed I need a mouse like this rather than those designed to be used only by the right handed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want a keyboard and mouse that's wireless, this is a keyboard and mouse that's wireless., 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Brown Box) (Accessory)
Cheap and cheerful, it does what it says on the tin. Keys can feel a little flimsy compared to others that I've used but it does what it needs to do and without any fuss and bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lettters wearing off keys in just over one month., 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Brown Box) (Accessory)
This item turned up on time and at first seemed fine. Indeed, as a keyboard it seemed good for the price. However, having only had it since the 5th March, the key markings are already wearing off; indeed the letters E and T are now almost completely gone. Also there now seems to be a delay between striking the letters and them appearing on screen. Perhaps Amazon could give me some feedback on this and provide me with a replacement!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Keyboard and Mouse, for a decent price., 2 April 2014
This review is from: Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Brown Box) (Accessory)
As the old saying goes, "You get what you pay for", which seems to fit this pack like a shoe. Not saying this is a bad product but it's not amazing, either. It's about as much you'd expect from Microsoft to be honest.

Firstly, the mouse. It provides very nice tactile feedback on each click, and the tracking sensor will be compatible with most surfaces. The comfort of this mouse is nothing to be marvelled at, but it's nothing to be displeased at, either, it provides enough comfort for browsing the web or casually going through your files. The mouse wheel is a mixed bag, however. It does the job for a while, although after extended use it begins to rattle and will sometimes click the middle mouse button unintentionally (The button the mouse wheel resides upon).

Onto the keyboard, and well like the mouse wheel, this also is a mixed bag. I believe it is a visually pleasing keyboard with it's arching convex style, along with it's black finish and white back. The keys themselves are very comfortable to rest your fingers upon with their concave fitting, and with buttons to mute, lower and raise the volume of the connected device along with a play/pause button, the layout of this keyboard is very well thought out. However, the tactile feedback on the keys are not the greatest, they feel somewhat mushy and clunky. As soon as one pulls the keyboard out of the box, sets it up and begins to use it, one will feel the instability of some of the lower row keys. They feel as if they are about to fall off, especially the space bar.

After everything I have stated, I stick by my four star rating, for two simple reasons, price and convenience. For around 20.00 one will be obtaining a bargain. In a lot of places you will have to pay around 20.00 for the keyboard alone, albeit with better key quality, but that's besides the point. And the sheer convenience of these being wireless is a bonus; lets say your watching a movie via laptop/desktop, and you need to lower the volume, with this product it is as easy as 1-2-3. Also, these won't eat through the batteries you have put into both these devices as they do not use a lot of power, and with the provided Duracell batteries, you will be browsing for months without interchanging those batteries. I can whole heartedly recommend this product, just don't expect to be blown away with it.

And if this review has not completely sold you, why not check out some of the other great reviews for this mouse and keyboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars USB receiver kills the deal, 6 Feb 2014
This review is from: Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800 (Brown Box) (Accessory)
I bought this kit outside of Amazon and after a while the receiver would start to behave strangely, disconnecting and reconnecting the set on its own. I thought it would be due to some driver stuff on my computer and it was not too disturbing so I did not pay much attention, but 5 months after purchase the receiver stopped working at all and apparently it is not covered by Microsoft warranty and it is not possible to buy a replacement so the whole set becomes a pile of useless plastic if you are unlucky enough to get a faulty receiver or damaging it anyhow.

As much as I liked the design of the set, this is a huge deal breaker and I cannot advice anyone to buy this set when there are similarly priced Logitechs around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Wireless Desktop 800  (Brown Box)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews