Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
This is one of the most memorable historical mini-series. It is just a shame that this version is so heavily edited, with characters being introduced to just disapear immediately. The DVD version is about 15 minutes longer than the currently available VHS version, but at 4 and a half hours it has still lost 3 and a half hours of the original material. I would have paid...
Published on 27 Sep 2000

versus
334 of 346 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Desperately disappointing ...
First of all, it should be pointed out that this film is a superb piece of television, beautifully crafted from a first-rate director, and marvellously performed by one of the best ensembles ever to grace our screens. In Franco Zeffirelli, this film benefited from a director of great vision who was sympathetic to the storyline, and Robert Powell's performance as Jesus is...
Published on 6 Nov 2006 by Stephen Forde


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JESUS OF NAZARETH [1977], 18 Jan 2003
This made for television version of the life of Jesus has never been bettered. Indeed, it is said that 'Jesus of Nazareth' is Pope John Paul II's favourite version of the Gospel story, sticking closely as it does to the Roman Catholic viewpoint concerning the key events from the life of Christ. With an international cast headed by Britain's Robert Powell as Jesus of Nazareth, and directed by Franco Zefirelli, this epic film will lift your spirits and encourage you to want to find out more about the life of Jesus Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edited,shortened version, 23 April 2006
By 
Mr. D. Evans (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is one of my prize possesions and favourite films . No one has ever produced a better film about the life of Jesus than this. I have owned the original vhs edition for many years and watch it rarely only to preserve it from wear and tear. I have waited a long time for this to come to dvd and am horrified to find it has been shortened! The original was over six hours .This is only 270 minutes. It would have been less effort to have put the original film straight to disc than to have waisted so much time and money deciding which scenes to scrap. I have given five stars for the original. This edition is only worth having for a desperate backup until someone produces the real thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus of Nazareth, 3 Mar 2009
This review is from: Jesus of Nazareth [DVD] (DVD)
Is it possible to obtain a dvd with the missing scenes on it? It is a pity that the people who did this could not produce another one and include the vital missing scenes. 10 stars for the film and 0 for the stupidity of leaving out those scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fit this on two discs, mate, 13 Mar 2011
By 
M. P. Clare - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jesus of Nazareth [DVD] (DVD)
This was the instruction given to the editor when this version was made. As stated in all the other reviews, this means that several important scenes are missing. Where's Palm Sunday? If you buy this version, you may be able to view the missing scenes on You Tube. Better still, buy a version that hasn't been cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this film, 12 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus of Nazareth [DVD] (DVD)
This film is very well acted and Robert Powell plays the best 'Jesus' I have ever seen. It is quite long, but can easily be paused and restarted at different parts due to the way it is put together. Having loved watching this film on TV when I was younger, I am pleased that a DVD is available. If some scenes have been cut as other reviewers have stated, then I havent really noticed it, as it hasnt distracted me from the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No need for many words, 15 April 2008
This film does not need many words to describe it.

It chronicles the life of the Messiah and spreads the truth of His words. It is a wonderful film and Robert Powell portrays Christ in the most beautiful, uplifting way imaginable. It brought tears to my eyes on many occasions during the film.

This film should be seen by everyone, it is quite simply breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a let down!, 7 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this expecting the original and theres the rub, i should have looked at the customer reviews and saved my money. The sound track is simply dreadful and the cut down version is an insult. When will someone do something about this and bring out a version with its original colour a lively lush soundtrack and its original length. I will pay a great deal to obtain this. Now i just feel ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film - not the full version though, 6 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This is definately the most awesome film of the lives and times of the Gospel. This makes it all the more disapointing that this version is so heavily cut. Hours of this great film are simply missing.
If you are slightly impatient and have not seen it before then even with large parts missing it remains a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best - great filming, dialog, stars, direction!, 20 Dec 2001
By 
Sister M. Rebicsek "Deafdoggy" (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD has been edited to cut down on size from the original TV production, which is a bit overlong. Not only that, but if you are hearing impaired, there are subtitles for Deaf/Hearing-impaired, so you will have full access; the video version does not have closed captions. The picture quality is very good too, and this series is one of the best made on the life of Jesus, and keeps pretty well faithful to the gospels. It was based on the book 'Jesus of Nazareth' by William Barclay, who was one of the best scripture commentary writer. He wrote for the person in the street, not high up theologians, and his books reached a wide audience. This film is for everyone. If you don't know much about the Man from Nazareth, this is the best introduction. If you do know about Him, then you will definitely delight in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last in Blu ray, 22 April 2012
By 
Paris G. Jamal "PGJ" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw the 8 hour original in New York when it was broadcast by NBC and taped it on 3/4 video tape but thanks to the Germas and who ever is responsible for the transfer to Blu ray. The picture is SUPER and the sound is very good.It comes in 4 discs 135 minutes each and is in German and Original English languges
I had hoped to see at least some where how the mini series was made and comment from the stars but nothing considering all that wested space on 4 discs but I am grateful tha This Great Masterpiece is on Blu ray.For those who love this Great mini series this is A MUST Have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jesus of Nazareth [DVD] [1977]
Jesus of Nazareth [DVD] [1977] by Franco Zeffirelli (DVD - 2011)
£5.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews