Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MISFITS - New Cast Member
This is the new series without wise cracking Nathan (Robert Sheehan). Instead we have Rudy, who is foul mouthed and slightly mad.

The new series starts off with the group each having new powers as a result of trading them for others. This is a good method for the writers to add fresh impetus into the series by exploring new angles. With Episode 1 focusing on...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by Mr. William Oxley

versus
24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Misfits
After an absolutely amazing second series, the third season of Misfits was always going to be difficult. Especially after the writers made the dubious choice of stripping the main characters of their powers in the Christmas special. Add to this the fact that the actor playing Nathan decided to leave then I was slightly worried what Misfits series 3 had in store...
Published on 5 Dec 2011 by CitizenWolfie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MISFITS - New Cast Member, 12 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the new series without wise cracking Nathan (Robert Sheehan). Instead we have Rudy, who is foul mouthed and slightly mad.

The new series starts off with the group each having new powers as a result of trading them for others. This is a good method for the writers to add fresh impetus into the series by exploring new angles. With Episode 1 focusing on Rudy, I really enjoyed Episode 2 with Curtis heading back to the running track and getting himself into quite a mix up.

Whilst I still love the original content of the episodes and the variety of insane characters, I have to agree that the series definitely misses the comedy value provided by Nathan in series 1 and 2. The show has changed subtly from a crazy funny original British show to a crazy and original British show with moments of comedy action. Good but no longer great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Misfits, 5 Dec 2011
This review is from: Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
After an absolutely amazing second series, the third season of Misfits was always going to be difficult. Especially after the writers made the dubious choice of stripping the main characters of their powers in the Christmas special. Add to this the fact that the actor playing Nathan decided to leave then I was slightly worried what Misfits series 3 had in store.

Sadly it seems Channel 4 are continuing their current trend of disappointing third series syndrome (Here's looking at you, Inbetweeners). If there was one bad point about series 2, it's that it was starting to dip into "Killer of the Week" territory and this seems to have continued in series 3. However whereas there was a strong overall story arc with Simon going back in time to save Alicia, it feels like this season has been compiled of standalone, one-off episodes and has been very disjointed. And despite everyone having new powers, the "Superhero" aspect seems to have taken a back seat to everyday drama such as relationships, STDs and getting drunk.

It does have some highlights though. The effects are great, as ever. Some of the new villains, such as "Coma Girl" and "Comic Book Nerd" have been very interesting and put a good spin on Misfits' general theme of "With great power comes irresponsibility." And despite perhaps being given a little too much gurning screen time, I actually prefer Rudy and his (literally) split personality make him a much more human character than Nathan ever was. Similarly Seth is a nice new inclusion and Kelly is given more time to shine with a great performance by Lauren Socha. Likewise the gang's probation worker is comedy gold every time he appears on screen.

But for all the great moments, there seems to be twice as many mediocre ones. I always felt that the powers being tied into each characters' individual personality flaws, lifestyles or desires was a really strong point so to change the powers of the original four feels like a huge cop-out for the sake of a few "What if we did this?" moments. There are some bizarre plot twists that don't really work in the overall Misfits timeline and the less said about the utter paradoxical, plothole-ridden tripe that was the Nazi episode the better (I refuse to acknowledge it ever happened in the context of the series any more). I don't know a huge amount about the rules of Science Fiction but I know that you can't just explain everything away with the characters going back in time to change the future as it leaves too many paradoxes. Similarly the Zombie episode might as well have not happened as absolutely nothing had changed by the end. Luckily the final episode is brilliant and ties up pretty much all of the loose threads.

So overall season three of Misfits has some quality moments, great acting by all the cast involved but unfortunately is let down by some dubious writing, plot holes and lack of direction. The whole series feels like it has been rushed and could have benefit greatly without the events of Series 2's Christmas special. Nazi/Zombie episode aside, the bad points are never really terrible (certainly not enough to warrant 1-2 stars) but they far outweigh the great parts. Maybe a fourth series will help it return to form but for now, I fear Misfits has strayed off course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid 3rd series but Misfits needs some serious changes and soon., 4 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The 3rd series of Misfits has split a lot of the fans. Some weren't fond of it, some liked it. I'm part of the latter group, but only just. The most obvious difference between this and the last series is the absence of Nathan (Robert Sheenan)who has left to make it big in las vegas. Being Irish, you would think I would be on Robert's side but i'm not. He knew he was the best part of the show and he should have stayed on to support the show for another few years or at least until the creators could write him out of the show in a more believable way (he gets the power of magic, really?)but alas, it wasn't to be.
Anyway on to the 3rd series itself. Well it's still good if that's what your wondering. Better, in fact, than almost anything being broadcast these days on television. The big addition to this series is the new character, Rudy. Some people haven't exactly warmed to rudy but I personally think he's one of the greatest characters in tv history. He's funny, likeable and more complex than he initially seems. At first it's very hard to like him however. He's rude, a womanizer and only out for number one. But rudy isn't as simple as that. You see, he actually has two personalities, the second of which frequently leaves his body, usually just to inform him of what a loser he is. This is where the character of rudy really comes into his own. Seeing him talking to himself, you start to find out how little self esteem he really has for himself and how he hasn't exactly had the easiest of lives and you can't help feeling a little sorry for him.
The episodes themselves are great for the most part, especially the episode featuring a guy who can create the future by drawing it, the zombie episode and the final episode, which features a shocking and very sad finale. However, as good as this series can be, at times the shows creators seem to be struggling to come up with creative ideas. The nazi episode, for instance, is absolutely terrible, It makes no sense, is not funny or engaging in any way and the ending puts everything back to normal so it's not even worth watching.
Overall a good series, but I think misfits is starting to run out of steam. I think that the creators should wrap the show up in the next series before it goes the way of so many other shows that outstay their welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Misfits shame about DVD skipping!, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Love Misfits and series 3 for me with the original gang is where it ends, recommend series 1,2 and 3 for those who have never watched it, you won't be disappointed!
Arrived in good time. DVD sad it was in vgc but in one place did skip so not as described but worked fine the rest of the time played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
great dvd thankyou so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as :), 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Just as good as series one and two even with nathan no longer in it so add it to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD, shame about box t, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
DVD fine, box broken on the inside so DVDs not secure and been bouncing around while being delivered. Don't expect a brand new DVD to have broken box on the inside!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab. 10/10., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
fab extras. enjoyed the series on tv and so pleased I have it on dvd. great buy and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Misfits, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought as a Christmas gift for someone who loved the first two seasons. I am sure they will be happy with it. Many thanks to the seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wicked, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
great we love it cant wait to get the last one,
just hope they make more you should all get this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Misfits: Series 3 [DVD]
Misfits: Series 3 [DVD] by Iwan Rheon (DVD - 2011)
£7.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews