Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£11.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 15 May 2011
If you're already a long-time fan of The Zombies then you've probably already got this CD or it's on order.

If you are familiar with some or all of their previous work or have stumbled on The Zombies and are wondering whether or not to buy this CD, my answer would be definitely.

There's a lot of rubbish talked by reviewers about how bands either stick too closeley with a predictable formula or, alternatively, disappoint by not adhering to familiar production values!

This album is at one and the same time a very new, surprising and different Zombies album yet totally a Zombies album in the traditional sense.

The fact is that The Zombies are a contemporary band in 2011 who retain two of the original founding line-up from 50 years ago (Argent/Blunstone) and who also include three other equally-talented and experienced musicians to complete their line-up. Jim Rodford, the bass player, actually inspired Rod Argent to start a group in the first place in 1961. The Zombies celebrate their past but are very much in the now.

The reliability, uniqueness, familiarity and excellence of Rod Argent's keyboards and Colin Blunstone's vocals are a given on this album and the two Rodfords, drummer Steve and dad Jim and guitarist Tom Toomey, as I said, play much more than a supporting role to the 'two originals'.

What is surprising and exciting about this album is that there's a bigger variety of styles and tempos over the course of the ten tracks than I was expecting.
What binds all ten tracks together is the standard of musicanship and production. All are clearly identifiable as Zombies numbers, with some familiar references and sounds, but each as distinct, fresh and different as the last.
I have already recognised several tracks as future favourites on my iPod.

But don't just take my word for it. With the sound-bites on Amazon and some of the tracks available to see and hear on Youtube and The Zombies' website, there's no reason not to try before you buy.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 11 May 2011
If you're reading this you are probably already a Zombies/Argent/CB fan.
The harmonies and production are everything you'd expect and more. Colin has never sounded better and Rod's keyboard variations are a delight as always.
Ultimately it all comes down to the quality of the songwriting, and you won't be disappointed here. Eight new songs plus a couple of old Argent tracks 'Shine on Sunshine' which sounds very different from the 70's original & 'Christmas for the Free' both sounding very fresh and fit in with the new material perfectly.

Without a shadow of a doubt this is one of the Zombies best - well crafted, superb vocals, and just great songs that really feel alive!
A word too for Tom Toomey who co-writes one of the many stand-out tracks - 'A moment in time'- whether its acoustic or electric guitar, he's really added something to the band. It's no slight on Keith Airey but Tom Toomey's talented playing shines through on this set.

My only complaint - a bit short at 39 minutes and another couple of tracks might have made this a 5*. Leave them wanting more eh!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 11 May 2011
2011 album from the British Pop/Rock legends led by founding members Rod Argent and singer Colin Blunstone. A magisterial work, it is everything you could possibly hope for from the group who, back in the '60s, provided such signature works as the singles 'She's Not There', 'Tell Her No' and 'Time Of The Season' and the album Odessey And Oracle, their 1968 Brit Psych masterpiece. The 10 songs, which make up Breathe Out, Breathe In, are impeccably crafted pieces, the harmonies are rich, the melodies full, the arrangements exquisite, the organ and piano fresh, the production intuitive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2013
I recently dragged my 20 something daughter to a Zombies gig. We had the best evening and came away wanting their newest album .... so glad that the enthusiasm didn't wane by morning as this album is fantastic! Indeed my daughter has nicked the CD for her morning commute whilst I have the downloaded MP3 version on my iPad. Not one weak track in my opinion. The title track is a real ear worm of a song. The seemingly effortless vocals and masterly instrumentals merge into a fabulous album. The Production values are beyond reproach. Colin Blunstone's voice is still almost hypnotic ... his breathy tones are as clear and arresting as they were back in the day. He would be my luxury item if I were ever marooned on "that" Desert Island! I wept at the gig, and this album moves me to tears too. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 29 May 2011
Having been fortunate enough to see "The Zombies" on stage at The Shepherds Bush Empire" I can state with certainty that the songs work very well intersperced with past solo and Zombies tracks as you would expect from a live show.
On first hearing it felt comfortable, and a welcome addition to the collection.
In my opinion this feels like a natural progression album, and a fan will easily forget the gap of 30 or so years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 3 June 2013
For a band into their 52nd year their music is still fresh and new. The title track is excllent in a Steeely Dan style and Colin Blunstones voice is a clear and bright as ever. Other tracks are very good save two very MOR numbers towards the end. The band formed as school boys back in the early 1960s and won a TV talent contest called Opportunity Knocks. Their first single played on that show was "She's not there" and raced to no 1. They followed it up with "Time of the Season" and "Care of Cell 44 " and other gems of modern music. The "English Beach Boys", some said. Santana picked up "Shes not there" in the 1970's and it was a no 1 hit across the world. They have a new 2013 album out of live versions of the songs including Rod Argents own hit "Hold your head up" written by the Zombies bass player. Well worth a listen. Catch them LIVE as they are still touring and were at the London 02 Indigo venue last week-end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 18 June 2011
I love the Zombies. I REALLY love the Zombies. More especially, I love Colin Blunstone, whose voice seems to have a direct track straight to my soul. This isn't the best stuff they've ever done, but for a band returning after years away it's pretty good, and certainly well worth a listen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 January 2012
The Zombies still alive in 2011/12 - who would have thought that back in the sixties. But they are, and playing very well and making good music. Their latest release is truely enjoyable, it get'e better every time I hear it.
Rod Argent is still easy to pick out. he's style of writing and playing very personal. I like it. And thank God - The sound of the Hammond is still there. Brings back memories of "dance in the smoke" . The CD haven't been out of the CD player since I got it . Love it . Buy it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
Long awaited third album ( in their new reincarnation )from one of the most under rated groups of these fair Isles.
Colin Blunstone's voice is at its best and Rod Argent singing on Show Me the Way is a joy to behold.
I expected a good album but was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the production of this album, Shine On Sunshine stands out for myself as a gem of a track that suits Colin's voice to perfection.

The BBC review does not seem to take the progress of the artists musical voyages through the years, time does not stand still progression is made through life's journey we do not remain stuck in the sixties or expect albums to recreate the sixties soundtrack. The reviews from countless music magazines and journalist source's is astonishing and must count volumes in 2011.

Life evolves, The Zombies have evolved and long may they do so. To change with the times but still retain the essence of your birth is a hard road tread, The Zombies have created an album for the year 2011.

Buy it, listen with an open mind and be pleasantly surprised.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 4 January 2014
fantastic band who i have been privileged to see twice over the past year. Unlike many ' re-union bands' - the zombies still perform exceptionanly well - and colin blunstones voice is still warm and great.

i really enjoy this album of new material. its easy to listen to with catchy songs.Happy music which cheers me up and i often listen to it in the car.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Singles A's and B's
Singles A's and B's by The Zombies (Audio CD - 2011)

Odessey & Oracle-Pocket Version
Odessey & Oracle-Pocket Version by The Zombies (Audio CD - 2013)

Collected by Colin Blunstone (Audio CD - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.