Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathe Out Breathe In reviews
If you're already a long-time fan of The Zombies then you've probably already got this CD or it's on order.

If you are familiar with some or all of their previous work or have stumbled on The Zombies and are wondering whether or not to buy this CD, my answer would be definitely.

There's a lot of rubbish talked by reviewers about how bands either...
Published on 15 May 2011 by D. Barnes

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reelin' in the Years???
I have read many good reviews about this album in the music press so naturally I decided to investigate what my favourite 60s tunesmiths have been up to recently in the way of music releases. I'm aware that The Zombies have been back for a while now writing new albums, but this release stood out for me in comparison to the others, not at least because of the press it...
Published on 30 Aug 2011 by A fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathe Out Breathe In reviews, 15 May 2011
This review is from: Breathe Out Breathe In (Audio CD)
If you're already a long-time fan of The Zombies then you've probably already got this CD or it's on order.

If you are familiar with some or all of their previous work or have stumbled on The Zombies and are wondering whether or not to buy this CD, my answer would be definitely.

There's a lot of rubbish talked by reviewers about how bands either stick too closeley with a predictable formula or, alternatively, disappoint by not adhering to familiar production values!

This album is at one and the same time a very new, surprising and different Zombies album yet totally a Zombies album in the traditional sense.

The fact is that The Zombies are a contemporary band in 2011 who retain two of the original founding line-up from 50 years ago (Argent/Blunstone) and who also include three other equally-talented and experienced musicians to complete their line-up. Jim Rodford, the bass player, actually inspired Rod Argent to start a group in the first place in 1961. The Zombies celebrate their past but are very much in the now.

The reliability, uniqueness, familiarity and excellence of Rod Argent's keyboards and Colin Blunstone's vocals are a given on this album and the two Rodfords, drummer Steve and dad Jim and guitarist Tom Toomey, as I said, play much more than a supporting role to the 'two originals'.

What is surprising and exciting about this album is that there's a bigger variety of styles and tempos over the course of the ten tracks than I was expecting.
What binds all ten tracks together is the standard of musicanship and production. All are clearly identifiable as Zombies numbers, with some familiar references and sounds, but each as distinct, fresh and different as the last.
I have already recognised several tracks as future favourites on my iPod.

But don't just take my word for it. With the sound-bites on Amazon and some of the tracks available to see and hear on Youtube and The Zombies' website, there's no reason not to try before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not far off a classic, 11 May 2011
By 
J. Clark (Croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breathe Out Breathe In (Audio CD)
If you're reading this you are probably already a Zombies/Argent/CB fan.
The harmonies and production are everything you'd expect and more. Colin has never sounded better and Rod's keyboard variations are a delight as always.
Ultimately it all comes down to the quality of the songwriting, and you won't be disappointed here. Eight new songs plus a couple of old Argent tracks 'Shine on Sunshine' which sounds very different from the 70's original & 'Christmas for the Free' both sounding very fresh and fit in with the new material perfectly.

Without a shadow of a doubt this is one of the Zombies best - well crafted, superb vocals, and just great songs that really feel alive!
A word too for Tom Toomey who co-writes one of the many stand-out tracks - 'A moment in time'- whether its acoustic or electric guitar, he's really added something to the band. It's no slight on Keith Airey but Tom Toomey's talented playing shines through on this set.

My only complaint - a bit short at 39 minutes and another couple of tracks might have made this a 5*. Leave them wanting more eh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Zombies new 2011 Album review..., 11 May 2011
By 
Mr. J. Waller "nc29" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breathe Out Breathe In (Audio CD)
2011 album from the British Pop/Rock legends led by founding members Rod Argent and singer Colin Blunstone. A magisterial work, it is everything you could possibly hope for from the group who, back in the '60s, provided such signature works as the singles 'She's Not There', 'Tell Her No' and 'Time Of The Season' and the album Odessey And Oracle, their 1968 Brit Psych masterpiece. The 10 songs, which make up Breathe Out, Breathe In, are impeccably crafted pieces, the harmonies are rich, the melodies full, the arrangements exquisite, the organ and piano fresh, the production intuitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Polly Potter (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breathe Out Breathe In (Audio CD)
I recently dragged my 20 something daughter to a Zombies gig. We had the best evening and came away wanting their newest album .... so glad that the enthusiasm didn't wane by morning as this album is fantastic! Indeed my daughter has nicked the CD for her morning commute whilst I have the downloaded MP3 version on my iPad. Not one weak track in my opinion. The title track is a real ear worm of a song. The seemingly effortless vocals and masterly instrumentals merge into a fabulous album. The Production values are beyond reproach. Colin Blunstone's voice is still almost hypnotic ... his breathy tones are as clear and arresting as they were back in the day. He would be my luxury item if I were ever marooned on "that" Desert Island! I wept at the gig, and this album moves me to tears too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good comeback, 18 Jun 2011
This review is from: Breathe Out Breathe In (Audio CD)
I love the Zombies. I REALLY love the Zombies. More especially, I love Colin Blunstone, whose voice seems to have a direct track straight to my soul. This isn't the best stuff they've ever done, but for a band returning after years away it's pretty good, and certainly well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It sits very well with other work from these artists, 29 May 2011
By 
A. Holder (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breathe Out Breathe In (Audio CD)
Having been fortunate enough to see "The Zombies" on stage at The Shepherds Bush Empire" I can state with certainty that the songs work very well intersperced with past solo and Zombies tracks as you would expect from a live show.
On first hearing it felt comfortable, and a welcome addition to the collection.
In my opinion this feels like a natural progression album, and a fan will easily forget the gap of 30 or so years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zombies keep on going, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breathe Out Breathe In (Audio CD)
fantastic band who i have been privileged to see twice over the past year. Unlike many ' re-union bands' - the zombies still perform exceptionanly well - and colin blunstones voice is still warm and great.

i really enjoy this album of new material. its easy to listen to with catchy songs.Happy music which cheers me up and i often listen to it in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
New converts to Colin Blunstone, Rod Argent and the Zombies but absolutely in awe of their outstanding talent. A real touch of heaven and can not recommend this album enough worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Zombies new album, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breathe Out Breathe In (Audio CD)
For a band into their 52nd year their music is still fresh and new. The title track is excllent in a Steeely Dan style and Colin Blunstones voice is a clear and bright as ever. Other tracks are very good save two very MOR numbers towards the end. The band formed as school boys back in the early 1960s and won a TV talent contest called Opportunity Knocks. Their first single played on that show was "She's not there" and raced to no 1. They followed it up with "Time of the Season" and "Care of Cell 44 " and other gems of modern music. The "English Beach Boys", some said. Santana picked up "Shes not there" in the 1970's and it was a no 1 hit across the world. They have a new 2013 album out of live versions of the songs including Rod Argents own hit "Hold your head up" written by the Zombies bass player. Well worth a listen. Catch them LIVE as they are still touring and were at the London 02 Indigo venue last week-end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong, 27 Jan 2012
By 
Claus Sarup (skive, denmark, europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breathe Out Breathe In (Audio CD)
The Zombies still alive in 2011/12 - who would have thought that back in the sixties. But they are, and playing very well and making good music. Their latest release is truely enjoyable, it get'e better every time I hear it.
Rod Argent is still easy to pick out. he's style of writing and playing very personal. I like it. And thank God - The sound of the Hammond is still there. Brings back memories of "dance in the smoke" . The CD haven't been out of the CD player since I got it . Love it . Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breathe Out Breathe In
Breathe Out Breathe In by The Zombies featuring Colin Blunstone & Rod Argent (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews