Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great toy - requires a bit of care and creativity
Received this as a gift this Xmas. As a cycling nut I was pleased but also a bit sceptical that it could be made to work - wouldn't the inside rider get an unfair advantage? How could we do any more than simply do a "scratch race"? OK so there are things you can't do with the set like a full-on Keirin but with a bit of creativity it's a lot of fun:

- start...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by lonely heart

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and tacky
Paid 20 for this as my son wanted it for Christmas. Read previous reviews about its lack of durability and thought it might be worth 20, if not the original rrp. It did survive Christmas, but only just - the corrugated cardboard base is rubbish and quickly gets dog eared and torn. Don't bother
Published 15 months ago by Stripeydog


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great toy - requires a bit of care and creativity, 27 Dec 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Received this as a gift this Xmas. As a cycling nut I was pleased but also a bit sceptical that it could be made to work - wouldn't the inside rider get an unfair advantage? How could we do any more than simply do a "scratch race"? OK so there are things you can't do with the set like a full-on Keirin but with a bit of creativity it's a lot of fun:

- start riders half a lap apart and run a pursuit until one catches the other;
- simulate a sprint with the use of the countdown timer on your phone: set it to say five seconds, set both riders off together and disqualify one if they complete the first lap before the timer beeps, and then let them sprint the second lap to decide the winner;
- simply run a scratch race over a set number of laps.

Yes the riders have to be handled carefully and therefore if this is for children they need to be reasonably careful but we didn't have any of the issues reported by others. Maybe we were just lucky. But spare riders at a reasonable price would be a good idea. Also how about making one of the riders an Australian say, just to make it a bit more like the real thing!

Oh and the inside track is slightly trickier to navigate owing to the sharpness of the turn so evening up play reasonably well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Velodrome review, 13 Nov 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
This s a simple oval based on the smaller scalextric format. It is easy to assemble, works well and is great fun. A lap counter would be a welcome addition bu other than that it is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the adults too, 9 Dec 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Kids might get bored with this quickly nowadays, but it is a great souvenir of the 2012 Olympics. The Scalextric brand should last well and the adults enjoyed playing with it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
recommend this product to all to keep the olympic spirit alive. the product is fantastic and well made and runs really fast. the kids love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant after care service, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
We had a minor fault with one of the riders but this was swiftly resolved by the company who provided us with a replacement by return post.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scalextrix velodrome set,its very good., 29 Jun 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Ok,calm down calm down.Read the poor reveiws then read this.The set is really an adult toy,or one that needs sensible,firm adult supervision.It is a very clever and nicely made set.Yes of course its delicate but what do you expect,Hornby fine detail locomotives are just as easily busted.I have used this set with the cycles coming of the track enough times with no damage.The set is not bombproof,but what do you expect for 34quid(through Amazon)At full price the 2 star reviewers may have a point.As for the critisim of the carboard centre oval and the trackside " billboard " again what do you expect for the money.They are substantial enough and very nicely printed.If you are going to give this to a child,particularly a boy,and expect it to last,then dont.This should be regarded as an adult toy to be used by children under strict supervision.I am going to buy another set to extend the track and have spare cycles and controllers.I like this set,its novel,nicely made and original.Buy one and use it carefully, I`m certainly not dissapointed, and I dont think you will be either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome track, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
I was very disappointed in the item as the bikes only last a couple of days before losing their magnetic connection to the track!
I would be interested to learn if you can buy replacements as the board is now rendered useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and tacky, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Paid 20 for this as my son wanted it for Christmas. Read previous reviews about its lack of durability and thought it might be worth 20, if not the original rrp. It did survive Christmas, but only just - the corrugated cardboard base is rubbish and quickly gets dog eared and torn. Don't bother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Riders broke off sidecars before we even got them going! Pathetic and very disappointing for for my granson on xmas morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a waste of money, 27 Dec 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Maybe I should have read the reviews before buying then I would have saved myself some money. Like most my children were very taken with the track cycling at the olympics and had this item on their Christmas List. When opened on xmas day it was immediately set up.....with a 2 pin plug for its connection although we live in the UK managed to find a shaver adaptor, then the track has to be tightly put together, then one of the cyclists refused to work after some fiddling we got it going. We put it on the kitchen table and the speed threw one of the cyclists off onto the floor and promptly disintegrating the figurine...GAME OVER.
Then the 2nd one of which we had problems refused to work again!!!!
Cheaply made over expensive rubbish which has infuriated me with the sheer waste of money...DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews