Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great toy - requires a bit of care and creativity
Received this as a gift this Xmas. As a cycling nut I was pleased but also a bit sceptical that it could be made to work - wouldn't the inside rider get an unfair advantage? How could we do any more than simply do a "scratch race"? OK so there are things you can't do with the set like a full-on Keirin but with a bit of creativity it's a lot of fun:

- start...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by lonely heart

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed child at Christmas
Very basic set but liked the idea. Unfortunately my eight year old crashed his bike on the first corner and broke the one millimetere bit of plastic that holds the bike on the motor. That was it as its no good without the bike. The other bike sticks a lot as i noticed in other reviews. My son totally disappointed Christmas day with this product, so Hornby, shame on you...
Published 24 months ago by sarah c


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great toy - requires a bit of care and creativity, 27 Dec 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Received this as a gift this Xmas. As a cycling nut I was pleased but also a bit sceptical that it could be made to work - wouldn't the inside rider get an unfair advantage? How could we do any more than simply do a "scratch race"? OK so there are things you can't do with the set like a full-on Keirin but with a bit of creativity it's a lot of fun:

- start riders half a lap apart and run a pursuit until one catches the other;
- simulate a sprint with the use of the countdown timer on your phone: set it to say five seconds, set both riders off together and disqualify one if they complete the first lap before the timer beeps, and then let them sprint the second lap to decide the winner;
- simply run a scratch race over a set number of laps.

Yes the riders have to be handled carefully and therefore if this is for children they need to be reasonably careful but we didn't have any of the issues reported by others. Maybe we were just lucky. But spare riders at a reasonable price would be a good idea. Also how about making one of the riders an Australian say, just to make it a bit more like the real thing!

Oh and the inside track is slightly trickier to navigate owing to the sharpness of the turn so evening up play reasonably well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Velodrome review, 13 Nov 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
This s a simple oval based on the smaller scalextric format. It is easy to assemble, works well and is great fun. A lap counter would be a welcome addition bu other than that it is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the adults too, 9 Dec 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Kids might get bored with this quickly nowadays, but it is a great souvenir of the 2012 Olympics. The Scalextric brand should last well and the adults enjoyed playing with it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
recommend this product to all to keep the olympic spirit alive. the product is fantastic and well made and runs really fast. the kids love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scalextrix velodrome set,its very good., 29 Jun 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Ok,calm down calm down.Read the poor reveiws then read this.The set is really an adult toy,or one that needs sensible,firm adult supervision.It is a very clever and nicely made set.Yes of course its delicate but what do you expect,Hornby fine detail locomotives are just as easily busted.I have used this set with the cycles coming of the track enough times with no damage.The set is not bombproof,but what do you expect for 34quid(through Amazon)At full price the 2 star reviewers may have a point.As for the critisim of the carboard centre oval and the trackside " billboard " again what do you expect for the money.They are substantial enough and very nicely printed.If you are going to give this to a child,particularly a boy,and expect it to last,then dont.This should be regarded as an adult toy to be used by children under strict supervision.I am going to buy another set to extend the track and have spare cycles and controllers.I like this set,its novel,nicely made and original.Buy one and use it carefully, I`m certainly not dissapointed, and I dont think you will be either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed child at Christmas, 25 Dec 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Very basic set but liked the idea. Unfortunately my eight year old crashed his bike on the first corner and broke the one millimetere bit of plastic that holds the bike on the motor. That was it as its no good without the bike. The other bike sticks a lot as i noticed in other reviews. My son totally disappointed Christmas day with this product, so Hornby, shame on you. How is the designer of this product still in work? and how did it pass testing and quality control? Not fit for purpose and will definately be going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and tacky, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Paid £20 for this as my son wanted it for Christmas. Read previous reviews about its lack of durability and thought it might be worth £20, if not the original rrp. It did survive Christmas, but only just - the corrugated cardboard base is rubbish and quickly gets dog eared and torn. Don't bother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Riders broke off sidecars before we even got them going! Pathetic and very disappointing for for my granson on xmas morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money, 6 Jan 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Bought this as a birthday present for my 6 year old boy. First impression, was how much money did I spend on this flimsey, cheap-looking rubbish. The idea is good and the make is reliable, but the product is awful. It is far too difficult for my son and the bikes keep coming off the track. The cardboard "board" looks cheap and so does the track and middle bit.

Do not recommend for children under the age of about 8 as the track and bikes are too delicate. Certainly this toy needs a revamp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a real disappointment, 18 Nov 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Scalextric G1072 Team GB Velodrome 2012: Track Cycling 1:64 Scale Race Set (Toy)
Thought this was perfect present for cycling mad hubbie but first cyclist broke after 20 minutes play, we moved velodrome onto carpet only for second cyclist to break. Scaletrix customer services have yet to replace product after 6 weeks or even to acknowledge my complaint. think they should stick to what they know best, this is a great idea but poor design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews