Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The many faces of Marple
I have always been a great fan of Joan Hickson as Jane Marple and for me, she will always be number one. I grew to also love Geraldine McEwan and was therefore not sure about yet another stepping into their shoes. Having said that, I also have Margaret Rutherford as Miss Marple. Anyway I digress - yet another style of portayal of a well known and well loved character and...
Published on 21 Jan. 2012 by Maggie May

versus
47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best and worst of Marple
Christie purists may not be amused by what has gone on here.

'The Pale Horse' is a travesty of the original story, and not a patch on the adaptation with Colin Buchanan, Hermione Norris and Ruth Madoc. People who want a genuine thrill with suspense, pathos and atmosphere should try to track down that earlier version.

'The Secret of Chimneys' was even...
Published on 17 Mar. 2011 by Jamie B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Miss marple season 5 was excellant a real joy to watch and really good plots my girlfreind maddy really enjoyed them. I definitely recommend it to any one who is thinking of buying it well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Marple, 4 Dec. 2012
By 
M. R. Wilson (Washington, Engalnd) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Is it possiblr to have to many, not if the quality of this production is mantained. Great little extra twists are strange to the people that have read the book, but in keeping with plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Latest Marple, 10 April 2012
By 
Joseph O'Riordan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Four mysteries. The first two are the most atmospheric. Bought it as a gift for my wife. She and her friends enjoyed the shows particularly on a summer's night with a nice glass of wine . Miss marple is the same - improves with aging. If you like this sort of thing you will like this box set.Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marple is always great to watch., 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Julia McKenzie is a perfect Marple, prim, proper and concise with just enough hidden meaning to make you wonder what does she really mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best Jane, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
J. Cyster (Adelaide Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Julia is the best Jane Marples even better than Margaret Rutherford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steven Dillane, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Only bought this set as the above was inculded in the cast. After seeing Steven Dillane in the
Cazalets i fell in love ! this is a very good set though and i enjoyrd every one its so nice to see the old country houses in these films.
eileen d
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes it contains all 4 stories !, 27 Feb. 2011
By 
MB "MB" (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This boxset does include all 4 Stories from season 5.
The Pale Horse
The Mirror Crack'd From Side to Side
The Secret Of Chimneys
The Blue Geranium

The reason why The Pale Horse was not included on the US Boxset is because it is still awaiting a transmission date as of Feb 2011 in the USA.

4 Great stories. Enjoy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie's series five, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I think this is the best in the Julie McKenzie's acting of our favourite character Miss Marple. The stories are good and not forced. It is gentle watching with no great horrors. Nice for some easy watching for a relaxing time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 22 Jun. 2011
By 
S. A. Bollongino "Bookaholic" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Julia Mckenzie once again succeeds as a marvellous Miss Marple in 4 superb new stories. As with all good drama there are variations from the original written word of Agatha Christie but these enhance the stories rather than detract from them and are sometimes needed just because the medium of TV is so different: conveying the written word of a book to the TV screen and TV scripts is a skilled process and one has to make allowances.

Sets, costumes, brilliant supporting casts, TV drama at its brightest and best. Julia McKenzie has given us another view of and aspect to Miss Marple and I love her interpretation of the role. I think she has rounded off Miss Marple's character very well following upon the Joan Hickson and Geraldine McEwan interpretations.

Once you have seen Miss Marple on TV you just want to read the original book/story which inspired the drama and gain even more from the Agatha Christie experience and that in itself shows just how marvellous the screen adaptations have been and still are. My list of the best on screen would be: 4.50 from Paddington with Margaret Rutherford, A Caribbean Mystery with Joan Hickson (absolutely could not ever be beaten), At Bertram's Hotel with Geraldine McEwan and The Mirror Crack'd from Side to Side with Julia McKenzie.

A message to ITV: why take so long in getting the DVD's distributed? If there is to be a series 6 (I do hope so!) then please please please get the DVD's out in record time!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the Marple series, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Mrs. H. Stride (northampton, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big Agatha Christie fan and I love the re-makes. I have enjoyed the episodes in the box set but I do think Julie McKenzie as just copied Joan Hickson's version of Miss Marple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD]
Agatha Christie's Marple: Series 5 [DVD] by Julia McKenzie (DVD - 2011)
£14.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews