Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex did it again, 17 Mar 2011
This review is from: Submarine [Original Songs] (Audio CD)
I have to warn you, I'm a fan of Arctic Monkeys so everything that Alex touches turns to gold in my eyes. Ergo, if you like Arctic Monkeys and Alex's work in general, I think you will be pleased with this EP.

Even though it's rather short (it is EP after all and not an album) it has really nice sound and feels complete. It sure does remind me of The Last Shadow Puppets and Arctic Monkeys' earlier songs with it's retro sound and phenomenal lyrics. EP has been looping on my playlist for quite some time now and I'm really looking forward to watching the film and seeing how the songs fit in. From what I can tell from the trailer and other short clips from the film, it seems to be a perfect match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Filler, 7 April 2011
By 
Jack (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Submarine [Original Songs] (Audio CD)
Every song on this short soundtrack never outstays its welcome, and always feels necessary.
The other songs shouldn't be ignored, but Piledriver waltz has been the song that has been on repeat since I bought this, and made the ending of the film that much sweeter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Submarine: Alex Turner - Submerge yourself in this excellent soundtrack., 28 Oct 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Submarine [Original Songs] (Audio CD)
After going to see `Submarine' in the cinema, I was left with one lasting impression - the marvellous soundtrack. The original music from Alex Turner was perfectly suited to the film, neatly summing up the main character's peculiarities and moods. As a standalone album (or EP, as it is so short) it still works supremely well, and delivers a set of mostly gentle, thoughtful tracks with a lot of passion behind them that you can really lose yourself in. It's an excellent album, and one that is not only a must have for fans of the film, but will be easily appreciated by anyone who hasn't seen the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Submarine [Original Songs] (Audio CD)
fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 17 Jun 2014
This review is from: Submarine [Original Songs] (Audio CD)
Charming lyrics, beautifully simple songs. It compliments the film perfectly& Importantly there's none of Alex Turner's now trademark arrogance. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Submarine - Alex Turner, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Submarine [Original Songs] (Audio CD)
Written for the film about the book... this CD is the best out of all three and could be played on repeat all day if you like the quieter side Alex Turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the film, loved the songs, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Submarine [Original Songs] (Audio CD)
I loved the film and part of that was the soundtrack, shame that there are only six songs but the quality of those are outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Soundtrack, 10 Mar 2014
By 
I. F. W. Hunt "Felix Wickers" (Perthshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Submarine [Original Songs] (Audio CD)
A number of hypnotic songs from Alex Turner. An enjoyable soundtrack.

Compliments the film well and helps the flow of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't stop listening to this album, it's a perfect compliment to the film and the book is a good read as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely amazing soundtrack, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: Submarine [Original Songs] (Audio CD)
Alex turners score is better than half of his work with the Arctic Monkeys, with all the songs standing alone away from the film and also fit the film perfectly.I've never heard a soundtrack i enjoy listening to as much as this. I hope for more solo work from Turner after this memorable and melancholic taster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Submarine [Original Songs]
Submarine [Original Songs] by Alex Turner (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews