Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Back Room
First of all, who are Editors? Well, if you're reading this, you probably know but if not then Editors are a Birmingham New Wave\Post-Punk outfit that specialise in the sounds of the early 80s and its raincoat clad pioneers.
Yes, 80s New Wave. Now, the argument could go on all day about the fashion in music today and whether we need another angular guitar, rhythmic...
Published on 5 July 2005 by kdonn2410

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joy Division for the 21st Century?
For me too it was the single that persuaded me to buy this. This band is the closest you can get to an updated version of Joy Division - the dark, obscure lyrics, the stripped down sound and non-sequiteur melodies. However the world has moved on since 1980 and where there is space in the music can nowadays sound like simply a lack of ideas. We have all become used to...
Published on 4 April 2007 by Sir Harold Woodbury


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome kind of retro, 18 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Back Room (Audio CD)
My formative years were in the 80s and most of the stuff I listened to were the types of cult indie bands John Peel used to champion. Tom Smith certainly does sound a bit like Ian Curtis at times but to my ears Editors sound more like a cross between The Chameleons' 'Script of the bridge', the House of Love's debut and the Bunnymen's 'Crocodiles'. The guitar sound is too shimmering and the production to clean to warrant comparison with Joy Division. The standout track here is 'Munich' although most of the other tracks are pretty good. As bands like the Bunnymen, Cure etc never really achieved to the mainstream success it'd be interesting to see if Editors manage to make the crossover. So, while there's not a huge amount of originality on 'The back room' it's still good to hear this sound again on the radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album!!!, 28 Jan. 2006
This review is from: The Back Room (Audio CD)
A friend recommended me this album yesterday knowing that I used to be into Joy Division and The Cure. It transported me back to the days of wearing thick black eyeliner and dying my hair as black as I could! Enough about me.....! It is hard to believe that this is a debut album as it is so mature. Haunting melodies and beautiful lyrics make this an absolute must buy for any one who remotely like(d) indie music back in the early 90's. Even if you didn't, buy it anyway as the music moves on from then and brings indie music bang up to date. The best track by far is 'Blood' but there really isn't a weak track on this album. Editors are playing around the country and the tour is sell out - they are going to be huge.
If you don't buy anything else this year - buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From The Back Room to the Big Stage!, 28 July 2005
By 
Gabriel Hill Harriss "Dionysus" (Bedford,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Back Room [2CD] (Audio CD)
I just bought this album today and after listening to it twice had to spread the word! Yet again there is undeniable proof that British music is more powerful, emotional and intelligent than its ever been. The songs run so fluidly and their sound, though some critics compare them to Interpol or Joy Division, are in a league of their own..full of intensity and cinematic in atmosphere..Though the album may be called The Back Room..these guys are destined for bigger and bolder rooms indeed!
This time can only be remebered as the years that gave us beautiful music..An honourable nod to the lost greats from bands such as The Sound, The Comsat Angels and Echo and The Bunnymen among others..May it continue...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hold the front page.....here are Editors, 24 Sept. 2005
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Back Room (Audio CD)
The question is are The Editors charlatans clinging onto the stylistic coat tails of other much better bands , or do they have something fresh and exciting to offer? The answer on hearing The Back Room is no on both counts. They are not charlatans. Anyone who can write songs with the thrilling urgency of "Blood" or the breathless dynamics of "Fingers in the Factories" has plenty to offer. Yet it's tough to deny that there is absolutely nothing original in what they do. They do sound like Interpol, but everyone goes on about it as if it's a bad thing. I'm sure it's not deliberate , but even if it was , being half as good as where Interpol are now wouldn't be an unmitigated disaster. But here's the good news, on the evidence of this album they are way better than that anyway. The Back Room is a hugely enjoyable listen.
As for obvious reference points. Well Magazine, New Order, early Echo and the Bunnymen, Comsat Angels spring easily to mind. That's not a bad list. But of course the songs need to bear the weight of those influences. Aided by vocalist Tom Smiths tremulous epileptic vocals a song like the mournful "Fall" belies it slightly cumbersome arrangement to achieve a measure of grandiose beauty. "All Sparks" has a terrific serrated riff, and even an air of pomposity fails to lessons its impact. On "Bullets", the chords ring like sleigh bells at a Santa Claus convention, bringing to mind The Edge which in my book isn't a good thing but thankfully that soon passes as a more acerbic tone kicks in. "Someone Says" briefly brings to mind indie greats Kitchens of Distinction with it's mercurial vapour trails of sound but in truth is rather an under whelming song. "Open Your Arms" starts inconspicuously but with the stretching of the vocals, filtering in of the baritone backing and the extended middle eight of gyrating chords and staccato percussion it attains a true melancholic majesty. Opening track "Lights" and the following "Munich" are superb tension packed pop/rock songs notable for the vital echo laden guitar chords.
Only final track, the ponderous "Distance" fails to engage in any way. The Editors sound like they grew up loving so many of the bands the crop of recent revivalists allude to. Barring Interpol who have released two outstanding albums, this is the best of the bunch. Better than The Bloc party, better then The Bravery and yes better than Franz Ferdinand ( I haven't heard their new one yet mind).Like I said before they do nothing original but there is a empirical chemistry at the heart of this bands songs. If I may paraphrase one of those songs for my own purposes. The blood of music runs through their veins. And the pulse is strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 Sept. 2005
This review is from: The Back Room (Audio CD)
Admittedly i hadnt heard a lot about Editors until i was on Amazon about 2 weeks ago and i was looking at Bloc Party and it said people also bought this so i looked at it and eventually decided to buy it.
I have to say i am so glad i did as this is the best album i have heard in a long time from the first time i listened to it, there is not a weak song on it.
It deserves to be purchased based on the songs Lights, Blood and Someone Says alone, plus with all the other great songs you will get your money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good first album - Better than most current music, 16 April 2008
This review is from: The Back Room (Audio CD)
Having heard of editors but not knowing much about them i embarked upon eurockeennes de belfort festival 2007, midday on the second day and on came Editors, the set started well and i was instantly impressed with the quality of the live performances, as the set continued i felt being drawn into their sound and by the end i was impressed enough to order this album as soon as i got home. Also, another thing that impressed me was the fact that the lead singer came into the crowd with the public after their set to watch queens of the stoneage. The album is very good with some instant hooks and some songs that gradually grow on you, the sound is very unique for the time and although i can see similarities to JD i think it is unfair to labour them with the JD tag, the band are so much more than that. Favourite tracks from the album include 'Munich', 'Blood' and 'All Sparks', overall a very good album, if you enjoyed this try 'An End Has A Start' aswell which is also a very good album, here's a band that are bound to be around for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Fantastic, 12 Feb. 2006
By 
Mrs. SJ Lashbrook "slasher51" (Oswestry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Back Room (Audio CD)
With all the hype surrounding the Arctic Monkeys, and not knowing how much of it to believe, i decided to give them a miss when going to buy an album last week. Decided on "The Back Room", which i remember reading about and making a mental note to purchase last year, but never got round to it. What a pleasant surprise, a very assured debut, and hopefully they will continue for many years to come. Forget "The Arctic Monkeys" and buy this instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant surprise, well worth the money, 24 May 2007
By 
D. T. GREEN "dtgreen" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Back Room (Audio CD)
I first heard of the Editors after hearing their acoustic version of "All Sparks" on the Radio 1 Live Lounge compilation album. I loved that track so much, I decided to give The Back Room a try; and boy was that a good call.

The Back Room has the epic highs and melancholy lows that really give any good indie album character, being a fan of The Killers, Franz Ferdinand and Hard-Fi I've been spoilt with three good début albums but Editors deliver the goods here and put themselves in the same category as the aforementioned bands.

As album's go, The Back Room is blessed with both excellent, crisp vocals and superb instrumental. The experience from start to finish is a pleasant one, and you really don't have to pay too much attention to enjoy it.

Easy listening, great lyrics and superb tracks. Full marks. Looking forward to their follow up; An End Has A Start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ghost Of Joy Division, 29 Jan. 2006
By 
J. Wire "jamiewire" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Back Room (Audio CD)
As I get older I find that I've become weatherbeaten by music to such an extent that it's hard nowadays to find a band that shakes me out of stagnation. Editors did that with one song; a live performance of 'Munich' on music telly. I bought 'The Back Room' on the strength of that, a live performance that blew me away. Despite what they might say about having their own sound and merely being admirers of Curtis, Hook, Sumner etc, there's an incredibly Joy Division sound to this record and of the 11 songs, I'd say 75% are in the 'excellent' category. The sequence of 'Munich', the anthemic 'Blood' and 'Fall' works fantastically. There are vague elements of newer bands like The Killers but considering their own New Order/Joy Division infatuation that's hardly surprising.
This is dark and British melodic guitar rock music at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenge, 12 May 2006
This review is from: The Back Room (Audio CD)
"Blood runs through your veins

That's where our similarity ends"

"It breaks when you don't force it

It breaks when you don't try"

These quotes from two Editors' songs on this album light up amongst the various indie band lyrics of 2005.

Tom Smith, the lead singer of the group,retains an enigmatic and commanding presence on the stage and his voice has grown on me since I first heard this album, which marked a place for Editors in 2005's new indie music boom.

My favourite track and single release "All Sparks",has an insistent beat,great guitarwork and a hooky chorus,but it is not a cosy song. Tom Smith's mildly chilling voice binds the whole album together.It's a hard-working vocal style and it makes a big impact on the listener.

These are songs and lyrics to make you think,not "coffee-table" music!and for some reason I can see vague similarities between Tom Smith and namesake Paul Smith(of Maximo Park).Both have an enigmatic aura.Perhaps Paul Smith has a more romantic approach,but there are parallels between the two,to my way of thinking... I'd be interested to see them singing together onstage,as in last year's JD Set in Nashville.

However,that aside,"Bullets",the most intense track on the album,catches the listener's attention with the chorus "you don't need -you don't need this disease,not right now."

It's certainly got a message.

All tracks are intensely atmospheric and each have their own individual stamp and sometimes I can hear acutely hard times in Tom Smith's voice,but that's no barrier to his interpretation.

All eleven tracks are well-constructed and carefully and very cleverly written,with many layers to them.The album is a revelation and the more I listen to these songs,the more I like them.It reminds me of those kaleidoscopes which you look through to see all the tiny coloured shapes,which,when shaken,form different patterns.

Buy this album,if you didn't already last year,and stick with it.The last track "Distance" is almost a tender song.

I'll be very interested to see what the sequel to "The Back Room"will be like,because it will be a very hard act to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Back Room
The Back Room by Editors
Buy MP3 Album£7.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews